Trashy TV Recap? Not so much. We’re Taking Risks Today.

I know what you’re thinking, What? No trashy TV recap today? Well my pretties, I could give you the run down on America’s Got Talent (my favorites, Poplyfe didn’t win, Landau Eugene Murphy Jr. did, whatever!), America’s Next Top Model (I was over the moon excited for this cycle – all stars! But was so disappointed that they only brought back the girls I least liked the first time around. Meh.), and Project Runway (the bully Joshua won and Bert got to stay – again. WTF?), but really I’m finding that my recaps have made watching the shows not as fun. I have to take notes and pause the remote for quotes. No more hunkering down with a cup of tea and giggling like a school girl. Maybe I’ll bring it back, but for today, I want to share with you what’s got me all excited.

To celebrate, I’ve made my favorite tea drink. Moroccan Mint tea latte. It’s so easy and super delish. Here’s how you make it: brew up some Moroccan Mint tea, add some milk and hot cocoa powder and stir. That’s it! I like to use Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf’s Moroccan Mint because it’s nice and mellow. Don’t use peppermint. Trust me.

Now that’s a darn fine latte if ever I had one. Know what else is darn fine? My new business cards! Here they are, what do you think?

Why am I so excited for business cards? Because, when I go to my conference next week, I can hand them out to everyone – and I mean everyone I meet. That, and they’re pink and black, what’s not to love? Hmmm, maybe I should put some bling on them. What do you think?

Wait? What’s this about a conference, you say?

Every February for the past several years I’ve gone to the Southern California Writer’s Conference here in San Diego. Usually, I go and see my friends, have a few drinks in the bar, attend workshops and listen to key note speakers, I might sit in on the agents and editors panels, but I always go as a silent author. Sure, everyone there knows I’m writing a fantasy novel, but I don’t shop it around, I rarely make it to the late night rogue read and critiques, and god forbid I actually have an agent look at my work. Gasp!

Well, next weekend I’m attending the SCWC in Newport Beach. Not only am I stepping out of my San Diego comfort zone and heading north to a new location, I’m taking a risk with my writing.

This time I’ve submitted my work to three, count them THREE people for advance submission critiques. Two of them are agents (big time guys from NYC) and the third is an author and freelance editor. Wow! I’ve never let agents read my stuff before and I’m super nervous and excited.

What’s an advance submission critique? It’s pure gold to a writer. You submit 15-20 pages of your manuscript to the reader in advance of the conference, usually a good month early. That way, when you arrive at the conference, you can sit down with the reader and they’ll tell you how much they love your work (a girl can dream!). Or, if there are issues with it, they’ll gently give suggestions on making the work stronger. Sometimes you get a book deal out of ASCs, but what you really get is face-to-face advice from someone in the business. Like I said – gold.

If you’re a writer and you’ve never been to a conference before, go! The SCWC is a fabulous place to start and I’ve heard wonderful things about Dallas as well. Now that my book is getting nearer to completion, I’m going to find some conferences that are fantasy friendly. Here’s a tip – research your conference. You don’t want to go and find out they only take romance when what you write is horror. That would be a bummer.

Earlier this week, the amazing and fabulous Piper Bayard posted about her seven year journey and gives great tips on writing and conferences. Check it out here. She’s got me rethinking a few things about myself as a writer. In a good way.

So now do you understand the excitement over my new business cards? See at the top where it says, Wife, Mother, Writer? Well, now it’s in print so it has to be true, right?

It’s a little terrifying to put it out there like that, but as it says on the SCWC website, ‘A writer is a writer before, as well as after, publication’.

Do you call yourself a writer? Or just aspiring? Like Piper says, ‘aspiring my ass’. Have you fully committed to your career as a writer? I have and next weekend I’m putting my work out there to be judged. Whether the advance readers love it or hate it, at least I’ll be richer for the experience of having two agents and an editor read my work.

Hi, my name is Tameri and I’m a writer.

Now it’s your turn. What have you done that terrified you, but made you stronger afterward? Do you have a favorite conference you attend? What motivates you to move through your comfort zone and try something new?

19 thoughts on “Trashy TV Recap? Not so much. We’re Taking Risks Today.

  1. Lovely business cards! And go you! Stepping out at a conference. Good luck! I’ve never been to one, but I’ve never been able to afford it. Querying agents was stepping out of my comfort zone. I remember my mouse hovering over the send button as I had to convince myself once again I was ready to go for it. That was a great learning experience. Now my new experience is e-book publishing, and I’m really enjoying it. 🙂

    • Thanks Angela! When my hubs gets home I’ll have him scan it in – it’s too grainy right now, but I needed to get my post up. Ah, well!

      Querying agents. Shudder. I suppose that’s next on the list, eh? You are three steps ahead of me, so don’t be surprised if I email you for advice. : )

  2. Taking risks in life is so very important. GREAT looking business card, by the way. 🙂 I hope you have a fantastic time at the writer’s conference and I look forward to hearing all about it!

    My favorite conference – DFWcon. It’s simply amazing and HUGE. Everything’s bigger in Texas, right? LOL
    My latest risk – freelance blogging for a digital conversion company. My blogging is one thing – it’s my passions, my stories, my hobbies, etc. Blogging for a company? NERVE wracking! But, so far, so good….

    • I’ve heard everything is bigger in Texas and my sister lives near Dallas, so I might have to check that one out!

      Good luck on the new job. I feel for ya, darlin. You’re an awesome blogger, so you’ll do well – doesn’t matter if it’s your fun stuff or someone else’s. I believe in you.

  3. Is it weird that this post made me a little teary?

    I have come to terms with calling myself a writer. I haven’t pursued publishing yet, as I am 55k into my first novel, but I AM a writer. I am broke as all get out, so no conferences for me yet, but this post makes me think of the days that I will publicly proclaim among other writers that I am one of them.

    Go you!

    • Hey Amber! Thanks for stopping by my blog.

      Is it weird your comment gave me good chills? Love that you are a writer and I am so blessed to have found folks like you and Tiffany in this great big blogosphere.

  4. O.M.G. I LOVE the cards!! Can you say gooorrrgeous, stylish and elegant. I love them and am soooo excited for you with this conference! Good for for stepping out of your comfort zone and challenging yourself. You will never regret it and have so much to gain. I hope the experience is everything you want it to be and more and I can’t wait to read all about so I will be waiting with bated breath for detailed blog updates! Woot woot! Knock em’ dead girl!! 🙂

    • Thank you, sweets! I’ll definitely blog about next weekend. How can I not? : )
      (I really need to figure out how to make those cute little smiley faces like you have. Mine are so old school.)

      I love your excitement and enthusiasm. You are such a fabulous gal!

  5. Those cards are so you! I don’t think you need to bling them at all – the swirls remind me of your tiaras.

    And good for you with regards to the conference and the critiques. I love getting critiques from other writers, so three from such knowledgeable sources should be great. I am sure they will be super positive and full of praise, but you know what? Even if they aren’t, they will be a fantastic learning experience. And since they are professionals, they will be kind even when giving criticism. So don’t be nervous. (yeah right, like I’d take that advice if it was me ;))

    I’ve never been to a conference, but I plan to one of these days.

    What did I do that terrified me? Well that very first short story submission I sent out left me in a cold sweat. But it made me stronger because once I’d sent out one, I kept going and sooner or later it wasn’t all rejections, and even those that were rejections helped me grow as a writer. It gave me a thick skin too.

    • You’re so sweet Cheryl. I think you and I were sisters in a past life. Don’t know why, but I just get such a good vibe from you.

      If you ever decide to go to a conference and don’t want to go alone, let me know. I’m not very shy. Big surprise, I know.

      Your short story submission reminds me how I felt the first time I put up a blog. Once it’s out there, you just gotta keep moving forward. I love getting feedback o my work, good or bad, because in the end, it’s all good.

  6. Congrats on taking that huge first step towards getting published. The first time is always the hardest, but it sounds like you’re going all out. Wishing you the best and hopefully a book contract by the end of the conference.

  7. Tameri! I’m so darn excited for you. And going outside your comfort zone is big and you did it in such a BIG way. LOL You don’t take baby steps girl. Good for you.

    What a wonderful opportunity to have feedback from three people. Wow! I can’t wait to hear all about it.

    Love the business cards too, very pretty.

I'd love to hear from you!

