Back by Popular Demand – Trashy TV Recap!

Yep, it’s back. Okay, so it was only gone a week, but you know what? I missed it! So, here it is in all it’s fabulousness! Enjoy.

Before we get to the three shows I’ll recap, I thought I’d mention a few shows that caught my attention this week.

My Big Fat Gypsy Wedding

Yes, there really is a reality show about this. Girls in England who live in caravans (trailers to us US folk) have these crazy weddings where the dresses are huge – we’re talking Marie Antoinette would be jealous of the width of the skirts – huge. It’s a total riot to watch, so check it out.

Okay, I know I said I’d rather watch Hillbilly Handfishin’ before I watched Millionaire Matchmaker again, but Patty slays me. This time out she had a Russian ball buster and a gay guy who thought he was the wisest guy on the planet. I had to pick up the kid from school, so I didn’t get to see if the dates worked out and I didn’t even care. Just the interview process was enough to leave me almost pee’ing my pants!

Tabatha’s Salon Takeover

Oh. My. Curlers. Tabatha is awesome. She’s terrifying and hilarious. I actually DVR’d a show for this Saturday because I only saw part of the show and I just HAVE to know what happened. She’s a ball buster, that Tabatha.

This week on America’s Next Top Model I started to like the girls again. Maybe because Brittany went home last week. She was loud and just too aggressive.

The girls all got a visit from Tyra and some dude named Martin Lindstrom. He’s considered a Brand Genius. Sure, that’s all fine and well for models, but if Tyra ever does anything with writers, I expect to see Kristen Lamb on that show! So, Martin gives the girls one word to describe them and their brand. The next day they all get Ty-overs with Ashlee Simpson on hand to lend support.

Ashlee, really? Maybe it’s because she’s had so many different hair colors. Whatever, she’s cute and the girls liked having her around.

Well, you know how it goes with Ty-overs, there’s always someone who goes crazy with the drama and cries. This time it’s Bre. Tyra wants her hair short and sleek. You know what? That haircut rocks! It was all big and puffy before, now it’s chic.

After their Ty-overs, the girls had to make a Pink’s hot dog with their brand in mind and exude their word. Um, what? I have to make a hot dog, then take pictures while eating the hot dog and look like my brand? Is someone smoking the hot dogs here?

In case you’re wondering, here are their words:

Lisa – Daring (The flip side of this was that the fans didn’t find Lisa trustworthy. Ooops!)

Sheena – Unexpected (Seriously? There is nothing surprising or unexpected from her. Yawn)

Kayla – Free (Because, you know, LGBT is so 5 years ago, according to Mr. Lindstrom)

Shannon – Trustworthy (I say boring, but they say trustworthy. Okay.)

Dominique – Survivor (As in Redemption Island? Can someone please vote her off!)

Allison – Unique (I like Allison, but her kewpie eyes and broken down doll look terrifies me)

Angelea – Persistence (It’s fun to note here that the fans thought she looked cheap, especially her shoes. I really want to dislike her, but the girl’s got spunk. And my respect)

Bre – Girlfriend (Yeah, I could see hanging out with Bre and shopping together. She’s cool)

Isis – Inspiration (Duh! Isis is a dude who became a woman and is feminine and gorgeous than some of the women I know. She followed her dream and rocks her brand)

Camille – Proud (Ya think?)

Laura – Lovable (Another no brainer. Laura reminds me of Shandi – probably my all time favorite model. I totally thought she’d be on this show. Oh, well)

Alexandria – Tough (Mr. Lindstrom said the fans thought she was annoying and said a lot of things with no value. I hope Alexandria gets herself together and drops the dramatics. Not a favorite this cycle or last)

Bianca – Candid (This gave Bianca courage to start drama in the house. Yawn. Been there, bought the t-shirt, have the raging headache to prove it)

Some of the girls rocked the dog and some didn’t. It’s a hot dog – how amazing do you think a photo shoot can be?

Oh. My. Stars. Nigel Barker has hair! Oh, wait, Tyra just shaved his head, no he doesn’t! That was a totally random moment in TV history. I need to take a moment and collect my thoughts. Enjoy this pic of Tyra shaving Nigel’s head:

You all thought I was lying, didn’t you?

So, back to judging.

All of the judges thought Lisa’s picture was the best, but I’m not a fan of seeing food in people’s mouths. I guess the jalapeno’s were ‘daring’!

It was pretty obvious the judges didn’t like Sheena or Kayla’s pictures and so it was no surprise Sheena went home.

Hmmm, now that Nigel is bald again, he’s on my Secret Crush list. I might have to profile him one of these blogs.

Top Chef Just Desserts

Let me just say that last week there was a fabulous Willy Wonka challenge and the best part was seeing Johnny’s sweet smile. This guy is really just too cute. Especially when he smiles. Yep, he’s on the SC list already. You’ll be reading more about him soon. Promise.

See what I mean? Super cutie.

This week’s quickfire challenge’s guest judge is Pichet Ong. Who, you ask? Yeah, I don’t know either.

The chefs have to make a candy bar. Are you kidding me? How fun would that be!

For once, Orlando doesn’t whine. Hmmm, what’s wrong with him?

Some chefs strugge (Matt’s looks like a bar of poop. Really) and others rock it. Sally wins the challenge and immunity. Which is good and bad.

Good because she can’t go home. Bad because it’s a team elimination challenge and she sacrifices her ideas/visions for the team.

For the elimination challenge, the teams have to make a yummy treat for people at a water park. Again, how fun would this be?!?

Finally, we get to see Johnny! He chats with all the chefs and is worried about a few of them, but of course the chefs don’t listen to him. When will they learn?

Orlando, Chris, and Matthew are on the same team. I know what you’re thinking, Dream Team, right? Hmmm, maybe.

Katsie, Rebecca, and Megan. I don’t even know what they made, because Johnny was talking about a place in his neighborhood that makes spumoni and I was focused on him.

Finally, Carlos, Amanda, and Sally make up the last team. They want to make popsicles and funnel cakes, pretty standard water park fare, how can they lose, right? Hmmm.

As you’ve probably guessed by now, Dream Team kind of sucked at the challenge. Orlando made a root beer float with out a float, Chris made a sticky, sweet smoothie thing and Matthew served warm strawberries on a hot day. They didn’t lose, though so they are all safe.

Katsie won the challenge with her spumoni on a stick. Um, okayyy.

That leaves Carlos, Amanda, and Sally in the bottom. Sally, as we know, has immunity, which is the only thing that saves her butt from going home this week. Whew! I like Sally and hope she goes far. Carlos made a sugary abomination with cereal and ice cream and chocolate. Ewww. Amanda made soggy funnel cakes. Amanda goes home! Buh-bye funnel cake maker.

Project Runway

The challenge for this week is to make a signature look for an up and coming band. There are two teams, but this isn’t a typical team challenge. Each person is responsible for their own look and the looks need to be cohesive, but they aren’t judged as a team.

The band is called Sheep Dog and mostΒ all of the members look like shaggy dogs. Oh, and did I mention they are MEN. Oh, yes, my pretties, this week’s challenge is to create menswear! Those designers are going nutso over the MEN. Love it!

Warning! Warning! Warning! The show is focusing on Olivier and Anya too much. Hmmm, could it be one of them is going home?

Poor, poor Olivier. He just can’t understand the concept of designing for real people. He tells his band member, repeatedly, that he’s ‘Big’. Um, he’s not plus sized, he’s freaking 6’3″! Get over yourself, Olivier! (as a side note, Olivier was one of my first favorites and is my daughter’s favorite)

Right. Back to sewing. The designers talk to the band and get ideas of what they want and all of them pretty much are hippies. They have long, shaggy hair, wear boots and jeans, not anything too original. And the designers don’t help them into the 21st Century, either.

On the runway, the band performed two songs for the judges – one in each teams’ outfits. Oh. My. Stars. Guest judge is Adam Lambert! Perfect judge for this show. I adore Adam (okay, the fact that he’s from San Diego and I’ve met his dad are huge bonuses, but still, I love his music and his fashion sense).

Team Harmony strikes sweet and sour notes with the judges. They like Bert’s flow-y hippie thang he’s got going on and hate Anya’s outfit. Who could blame them! Michael Kors cracks everyone up with his quips about it looking like a bad Brady Bunch outfit. He’s SO right! Terrible.

Team Untitled (what, are they trying to be rockstars here? dumb name) has two good looks for the judges. Josh – who is trying so hard not to be a bully anymore and actually making me kind of like him – has wicked cream jeans with a zipper that screams, “look at my crotch!”. When Tim challenged him in the workroom on the zipper, Josh defended it, which was hilarious. Heidi also liked the sexiness of the zipper.

The winning outfit went to Viktor, who made an amazing pleather jacket with braiding and fringe. His shirt was Meh, but the pants were cool and actually not white or beige like most of the others. Yay Viktor!

So, who went home? It was between Anya and Olivier. The judges are in LOVE with Anya. I don’t get it, but she’s their pet this season.

Yep, you guessed it. Olivier went home. I’m going to miss that darling boy, but he was way too whiny this show and had major time management issues. Buh-bye sweetling.

That’s it for this week!

What shows did you catch on Trashy TV? You know you sneak a few in, which ones are they? Is there a show I just HAVE to watch?

10 thoughts on “Back by Popular Demand – Trashy TV Recap!

  1. I love your recap! I have added yet more shows to my dvr to watch thanks to your recaps. The one show I have watched is the matchmaker. I agree with you patty is just so funny. I love her brutal honesty with her clients.

    • Thanks Megan!
      I actually DVR’d two episodes of Millionaire Matchmaker that aired over the weekend because she cracked me up in the previews. I’m really starting to like her more and more. Can you imagine being that honest with someone? I shudder to think of it!

I'd love to hear from you!

