Getting Crafty With It! Plus a Little 300 Spoof With Caketown.

We’re mixing it up here at A Cup of Tea And Sorcery. Instead of just a silly video, I thought I’d spotlight a few of my crafty friends and show you what they’ve been up to.

I’m always so impressed with handmade items. I mean, it takes some time and patience to create a one of a kind piece of art. I can craft – give me some glue and glitter and I’m dangerous! Every year I make my own Christmas Cards (if you want one, just send me your address – I LOVE sending cards!) and I’ve been known to whip up a project for my kids’ classroom spur of the moment.

That’s why when I saw Debra Kristi’s blog last week I fell in love. She has easy instructions to make a Wicked Wreath of Delight. You’ll notice Debra’s and mine are slightly different, that’s what is so great about crafting – you can personalize it. And really, a pink sparkly skeleton? Oh, yeah, that is so totally me! This is what mine looks like:

I told you my creativity runs toward the simple, right? Well, my friend Diana Laurence is all about simple elegance. She made a gorgeous necklace out of… wait for it… clay! Yep, you read that right. Clay, as in polymer. Not only did she make this fabulous necklace, she did it by just looking at someone else’s work and figuring it out. I love that!

This is the stunning finished product. For a how to, you can check out Diana’s blog here.

Make sure you snoop around her blog and see all the other fabulous things she’s made. Jewelry is only one of her obsessions!

Since it is close to Halloween, I thought I’d give you one last fun little project. My trainer Nicole showed me these adorable pumpkins she and her daughter made. They are about as easy as it gets and way cuter in person. All you do is cut out a mouth and insert fake vampire teeth and add pushpins for eyes. That’s it! For step-by-step instructions, visit MarthaStewart.com. She has great ideas for your Halloween fun.

Photo curtesy of MarthaStewart.com

Omg, they are too freakin’ adorable! That’s it for the crafty portion of today’s blog. Now, as promised, I’ve got a silly video for your Whimsy Wednesday giggle.

If you’ve seen 300, then you know it was a rather violent movie. Well, this creative dude remade the trailer for the under 13 crowd. Cracks me up. I hope you enjoy it, too!

Now that you’ve had your laugh, tell me what you like to create. Are you a crafter? Knitter? Do you like to bake or write poetry? I really want to know! Share with us your hidden (or not so hidden) talent. Don’t forget – brush your teeth!

26 thoughts on “Getting Crafty With It! Plus a Little 300 Spoof With Caketown.

  1. First, let me say that I LOVE what you did with the wreath! Fantastic! And thank you SO much for your amazing mention here in your blog. You are too kind.

    I adore Diana’s clay necklace. My mother and I have done some clay necklaces but none have come out quite like that. My mother also does some very cool glass pendants that I have thought about featuring.

    The Martha Stewart pumpkins! OMG, so simply and SO cute! We just picked up some beauties and the kids are already drawing up home designs for little Smurfs. I can’t locate the pictures of our Snow White, Jack the Skeleton or gourd creations but you can see I threw a few others into my blog backdrop for the season. I will post my white pumpkin house for you as well. 🙂

    Laughed all the way through the video. Thanks for sharing. “Frosting!” and “Brush your teeth,” sounds like things you’d hear at my house. lol

    Okay, that wasn’t long winded. 😀

    • I would love to see your mother’s glass pendants, I bet they are breathtaking!

      Can’t wait to see the pics of your pumpkins. The ones on your blog are already way past my skill set!

      Thanks again for the great idea with the wreath. It was so fun to make!

  2. Would you believe me if I told you I don’t have a crafty bone in my body! Well, except for writing fiction that may make you weep:)

    I’m still waiting on Candace Olsen to reply to email for decorating assistance:) It’s only been two years!

    • I would not believe that at all, Tamika. I bet you’ve got hidden talents that Candace Olsen would totally bring out. If she ever does come to you house, you have got to let me know! I watched her a lot a few years ago and love her style.

      And you know what? Your fiction might make me weep, but they would be good tears. You’re a fabulous writer!

  3. I absolutely love your wreath and the links to your crafty friends – like my god – how incredible. I am craft-challenged. Seriously…it’s sad. I don’t knit, drawn, attach, glue, or make anything. LOL But I respect and admire those who do!!!
    – I LOVE getting cards – but suck at sending them…LOL!!!!

    • You? Craft challenged? I don’t believe it! Like Tamika, I bet you have hidden talents that you just haven’t explored. I think if you and I sat down to make something, yours would be so rockin’ that I’d be embarrassed to put mine next to yours! Silly.

      You do realize you put your address up online, right? I wrote it down, so if you’re wondering where it went, I deleted it for your safety. ; )

  4. The wreath is too cute! No, really, the skeleton looks edible.

    I don’t know if I’m all that crafty, but I do love a good hot glue gun. There are so many things you can do! We make crafts at our summer horse camps and sometimes I have to teach the craft portion, so I do know how to do stuff. We make horsey bookmarks, windsocks, turtle paperweights, and our piece-de-resistance, a horse show picture frame, complete with a picture of each little camper with their favorite horse.

    I used to knit, but I think I’ve forgotten. My grandmother tried to teach me to crochet, but that was a bust. Hot glue is where it’s at. And glitter. Lots of glitter.

    • I love how happy the skeleton is! What a great smile it has.

      Definitely lots of glitter! I bet the kids at horse camp love making those crafts – especially the frame. That’s such a great idea.

      Gayle Carline – she has a glue gun and knows how to use it. Look out!

  5. I adore your wreath! If my kids saw it, they would beg me to make one like it too. Well, I might after all 🙂 Thank you for sharing.

    I love crafts – I knit, crochet, sew, quilt (not so much lately but still), embroider by hand and on the machine (I also haven’t done this in a while but I know how to and I really like it), I make jewelry, watercolor paint (not sure if this is considered a craft or maybe rather an art), I make decorative stuff for Halloween, Christmas, Valentine’s Day etc., and I have even done some free-hand murals in my daughter bedroom. Man, I love to brag, don’t I? ha,ha.

    Awesome post, Tameri! Stop by my blog and see my “creativity” post today – it’s a bit similar 🙂

    • Ooooh, your post was lovely! I always aspire to decorate like that.

      You are so talented. Paint, write, jewelry, is there nothing you can’t do? Seriously, you are amazing!

      Thanks for stopping by – if you make the wreath, post a pic of it!

  6. I love the wreath, I never would have thought of painting the skeleton pink, it looks adorable and chic. I love handmade stuff —especially jewelry. I’ll have to visit your friends blog. I’m not too crafty but I do manage some simple stuff. Isn’t it wonderful to see what others create? Thanks for the great post.

    Cute video too. LOL

    • The skeleton came all pink and sparkly, but I totally would have painted it otherwise. It’s so cute and makes the wreath.

      I love seeing what people create – it’s inspiring. Thanks for the kind comment.

  7. I love the wreath. And the necklace is beautiful. I’m all thumbs, I’m afraid. At school, my craft efforts were always the ones with the fingerprints and too much glitter, and glue stuck where it shouldn’t be. But I love handcrafted goods and I admire anyone who can make things with their hands. I’m only good with my mind!

  8. I love the little pumpkins using the vampire fangs. Those are hilarious. Natalie could even make some with those hillbilly/redneck teeth!! We’re going to have to make some of those!!

    • Those pumpkins are way too adorable and so easy to make. That’s what I love about them!

      Sparkly skeleton – Michael’s craft stores. Nothing easier than that!

      Sorry you snorted your coffee, hope it was worth it!

  9. Very nice crafts! I can be crafty. I used to do flower arrangements, and I’ve made clay jewelry before. Now though, it’s gotta be simple, like the tie-knot fleece blankets. The most crafty I get is drawing. We don’t carve pumpkins anymore; my mom has me draw on them. I’ll post pictures next week on my blog. 😀

    • I think it doesn’t matter what you ‘make’ as long as you are being creative. I’ve seen some of your drawings and they are great. I draw stick people. Seriously. And badly at that.

      Thanks for the mention on your blog and I can’t wait to see your painted pumpkins! Between you and Debra Kristi, wow. You two blow me away with your skills.

  10. Pingback: It’s Pumpkin Time! « Angela Wallace ~ Believe, Dream, Awaken

  11. Pingback: Magic in the Making´¯`•.¸¸.☆Pumpkins and Potions, Fairies and Goblins | Debra Kristi

I'd love to hear from you!

