Boo! Happy Halloween And All That Spooky Stuff!

What do you get when you take 16 hours, 4 yards of fabric, 6 cardboard boxes, and an entire bottle of Tacky Glue?

A Creeper.

A what, you say?

A Creeper. For those of you not addicted to playing Minecraft, it’s a green bad guy in an online video game.

For much of the past two weekends I was busy making my son’s Halloween costume. Yep, you guessed it ~ he’s going as a Creeper.

I’ve always envied creative folks who can make amazing costumes for their kids. I’m not much of a sewer and if it doesn’t have glitter on it, I’m usually not interested. So when Michael asked if I’d make his costume, I hedged a bit. Then I saw what a Creeper looks like and thought, heck yes I can do this!

It’s basically gluing fabric to cardboard boxes and then painting the fabric to look like pixels. Easy peasy.

Here’s what the finished product looks like in all it’s pixelated glory:

These are fearsome beings in the world of Minecraft. I think he's cute.

Not too shabby if I do say so myself!

David helped out loads on this, so I can’t take all the credit. He’s way more meticulous than I and he made the head.

We also carved our pumpkins yesterday. In Southern California we have to wait until the last moment to carve pumpkins or they get all moldy and mushy from the heat.

I was so inspired by Debra Kristi’s Faerie Houses that David and I had to try it. They were so much fun to make and I kept imagining what kind of fairie would live in each one.

Simple homes for the wee folk

It was a very Halloweeny weekend here at Etherton House!

I know this is a little last minute, but Jillian Dodd has amazing ideas for a Halloween party, or just a nice little treat for you as you hand out candy. I know I’ll be having a caramel apple martini as I greet the trick or treaters!

What did you do to prepare for the spookiest day of the year? Are you dressing up this year? If so, what will you be? I think I’ll be a pink sparkly witch. David isn’t decided yet, but he usually pulls out something cool at the last minute. Alexzandra? She’s dressing up as an overworked college student.

Whatever you do, have a save and Happy Halloween! Boo!!!

17 thoughts on “Boo! Happy Halloween And All That Spooky Stuff!

  1. Great costume! I love the pixellation. I’m sure your son will be the envy of his friends. I will be a witch, I think – doesn’t take much, just mess up my hair, dress in black and cackle 😉 I’m hoping that lots of kids come because my husband bought out a whole candy store by the look!

    • Thank you, Cheryl! Those pixels were a pain. I bought a ton of candy and we’ve only had six trick or treaters so far and it’s already 8pm. I’m so sad…

      You’re a hoot. Just mess up your hair, dress in black and cackle! That’s awesome. Hope you had a great Halloween!

  2. Great job on the costume and the pumpkins, Tameri! i used to love making costumes for my kids when they were little. They chose to make up their own concoctions when they were preteens.
    We didn’t do much of anything for Halloween this year. We decided to stay home instead of traveling to see the grands. Though we did fix up 4 big boxes of goodies and treats for all our big kids and their little ones. Happy Halloween!

    • Thanks Marcia! I can only make costumes if I can glue them. Usually the kids just get out the costume boxes and go crazy, but this year Michael wanted this contraption.
      That must be so fun to have little grandkids to spoil. I bet they love getting packages from grandma!

      Happy Halloween to you!

  3. OMG that is AWESOME! I love it.

    I love Halloween – seriously – fav holiday ever! Although this year I was swamped with other stuff and didn’t get the chance to dress-up. Boo. Oh well, next year I’ll make up for it. I like to go for princess type stuff – fairy, belly dancer etc. Last night I went as a black bride. LOL! Hubby’s always game so that’s twice the fun.

    Love that you get soooo into it…girl after my own heart! MUAH!

    • I’m so sad you didn’t get to dress up! That’s half the fun. Next year, definitely! Although, I’m sure you can find a reason to dress up just because… ; )

      Hope you had a super fun Halloween! (and Hubby, too!)

  4. Pingback: Spooky Threads | Anastasia E White

  5. The costume is definitely cute, but the pumpkins are amazing! I don’t know why I’ve never thought of this before. I adore them. =)

    I saw your comment on my post today and just thought I’d drop by and see what you were up to on Halloween as well. Merry met! It seems we do have a lot in common, and more and more the more we talk! I hope you have a wonderful evening!

    • I know, right? I never thought of making little pumpkins. The one’s on Debra’s blog are amazing. I sort of ran out of time and and ambition after doing the costume.

      I got so many great ideas from your post today. I’m looking forward to making them a part of my life. Very inspiring!

    • Thanks Carrie! He’s getting good reviews so far, which makes me super happy.

      Aren’t the pumpkins adorable? Next year I’m going to make them better, it was so much fun!

      Happy Halloween!

  6. Happy Halloween! I’m not dressing up this year, but I am wearing orange and black. I love Halloween – the scary movies, the cute kids in costumes, and digging into my Halloween candy supply!

    • Hey Tiff! Happy Halloween to you!

      Yeah, you’re all about those scary movies. I was watching Ghost Hunters live and had to switch over to trashy tv. Too scary!

      I love seeing all the little kids dressed up, but we haven’t had many this year. Boo. But that does mean more candy for me, so, yay!

  7. That is SO awesome! I wish I had found time to read blogs yesterday. I really need to share this one with my son. He is totally addicted to Mind Craft right now. It’s all I hear about. He made me sit down and watch him play when I got home the other day. I was totally lost in all the pixilation. He would have Loved, Loved, Loved this costume idea!

    And your pumpkins came out amazing! I adore them! We made one more two story building that Spiderman was swinging from yesterday. So last minute. But this time we used some of Angela’s idea and painted windows on. I just love your village. Maybe I’ll be inspired to do that many next year. Maybe… LOL

    • Thanks Debra! Next year I’m going to get all crazy with the faerie village. I had so much fun making them. Um, I’m embarrassed to say it, but the cutest ones were actually done by David. He’s way more meticulous than me… I’ll have to remember the painting windows idea. That sure would save time. Thanks for the inspiration!

      That’s so cool your son knows what Minecraft is! Michael actually talked me into going to a convention in Vegas for the game. Hey, the hotel has a lazy river, I couldn’t say no! David would’ve taken him, but he’ll be in Dallas for a gaming thing. So, lazy river for me!

  8. Do you have any tips for recreating this costume? Materials used, techniques? My 10 year old really wants to be a creeper too and I have NO idea where to start though I am creative and don’t mind making costumes.Thanks!

I'd love to hear from you!

