Today I’m crazy grateful for my WANAsistas (and bro!)

If you’ve been hanging around this blog for a bit, or with me over on Twitter, you’ve probably seen a reference (or sixty-four) to my WANAsistas (and bro!). You might even have thought, what’s up with that?

Tomorrow is Thanksgiving here in the States. It’s a time when we reflect on what we’re truly thankful for and this year I’m adding my WANA family to the list.

Back in July the brilliant (and super gorgeous) Kristen Lamb gave an online blogging class and I, being terrified of all things online and Social Mediaish, joined. Little did I know that decision would alter my life forever.

First, I learned how to blog the right way.

Second, I found within the class people who would touch my heart, warm my soul, and make me laugh my pants off.

I found my WANAsistas (and bro!) Poor Kerry, he’s the only guy from the class and we always talk about our sistas, but we can’t forget our bro, too. We love you, Kerry!

These women and gentleman have been there for me when I was full of anxiety over blogging (How often? What? High Concept? Are you kidding me?) and when I needed a little support outside of the blogosphere.

Their ability to reach out and help amazes me and I am so inspired by not only their blogs, but them as people.

Last week in Vegas I got to meet Jillian Dodd and her daughter. It was super duper fantabulous! This weekend I hope I get to meet Debra Kristi and Jenny Hansen. If there was a way for me to drive all around the world to meet each one, I totally would.

See down there in my Circle of Friends? Those are my WANAsistas and bro. Check out their blogs, connect with them on Twitter. You’ll be ever so happy you did and I’m certain your life will change for the better just for knowing them. They have this happy magic in them and they love to spread the joy!

Thank You my fabulous WANA family. I love you and am so appreciative for all the support and guidance you’ve given me, not to mention the laughs. Oh, yes, the laughs!

Happy Thanksgiving Everyone!

Here’s a little turkey humor for your turkey day. Try to watch to the end, this lady cracks me up!

47 thoughts on “Today I’m crazy grateful for my WANAsistas (and bro!)

    • I will gorgeous! Hey! I need to add you to my Circle of Friends! Sheesh, I’m sorry Myndi. Thought you were there.

      I’m super grateful to have met you here in the blogosphere and wish you could be here this weekend, too. Someday. We’re working on a WANA reunion!!

      big hugs back at ya! Mwuah!!

  1. The amazing things about meeting tweeps/bloggers in real life is that they ARE as you think they’re going to be. At least that’s what I’ve found.

    Yay for bridging the IRL-Virtual gap.

    And Happy Thanksgiving, T!

  2. Awwwwww…we love you too Tameri!! The WANA gang rocks and I am ever so deeply grateful for everyone as well – you guys have changed my world! I am so jealous you are getting to meet a few of the gang face-to-face but here’s hoping someday we all get to hook up and hang out.
    You rock….love ya…mwuah!!!!
    xoxoxoxox
    Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours….

    • Me either, Angela. Since we’ve all come together there are so many more moment of gratitude in my life just from sharing stories with all of you. Even your post on white shirts still makes me smile. Silly, but there you have it. ; )

      You have a fabulous Thanksgiving, too! I’m making a bunch of recipes from various blogs, it should be fun.

    • Marcy, we’re so happy to have new WANA sistas to add to the family! WANA1011 peeps have been so much fun and you are all incredibly beautiful, it’s so strange. Is there something in the WANA kool aid?

  3. It was awesome to get to meet you in Vegas!! And I’m super jealous that you get to meet Jenny and Debra!! I think we should all try and meet up!! I’m planning a get together with a few twitter and wana friends in Orlando the last week in June. Our plan is to hang out, see the Magic Mike movie, share a few cocktails and have some fun. We’d love to have all of you join us!! And hopefully some of y’all are coming to Dallas for the DFWcon this spring!!!
    I agree with you Tameri, getting to know all these amazing talented people through Kristen’s class and twitter has been so great!!

    • That sounds like heaven, Jillian. And you know, I can’t pass up an opportunity to go to Walt Disney World again.

      I’m working on Dallas, it depends on where my husband will be in his crunch at work, but I want to come soooooo bad! Hopefully it will all work out. That would be a hoot.

  4. That lady in the vid is a glutton for punishment. Damn, that was funny. It reminded me a little of this one:

    Happy Thanksgiving.

  5. I agree the WANA peeps are so awesome!! I am so grateful to be a part πŸ™‚
    And thanks for the funny turkey video, news reporter bloopers are the best!

    • Hey Coleen! Thanks for the kind words, WANA peeps are awesome! I’m happy you’re a part of the family, too. Glad you liked the video, it makes me laugh every time I watch it. Did you check out the one from journalpup? So funny!

  6. Tameri, you know you are speaking for all of us in this post … and in your usual heartfelt, articulate style. How fantastic that you and Jillian met and now Jenny and Debra!!! The Wana711 family connection is quite remarkable and paying it forward to Wana1011 and perhaps … *gasp*, yes … the entire blogosphere is part of our mission as set our by our fearless leader, The Divine KL. Cue the Mission Impossible theme music here …
    We’ve had so much fun so far, just imagine what lies ahead. Happy Thanksgiving – today, tomorrow and every day!

    • Exactly! The future is wide open and we have each other to adventure forth. I’m so excited to see what we all can accomplish!

      Kristen should be given a cape to wear around every day so everyone knows she has super powers. Or, she could just wear it when she vacuums if that’s her thing.

  7. Ah. I love this new group of friends. I feel like Myndi. Darn. But then again I’m a SoCal girl too. So you never know who you’ll run into, eh?

    I can see it now. One day, in the not too far off future there will be hundreds, no perhaps thousands of Mywana peeps congregating together at a convention. Wouldn’t that be cool?
    Meanwhile, we will just have to be happy with our Twitterdecks! πŸ™‚

    Thanks for all your support Tameri and love your post!

    • A MyWANA Convention… ah I can see it now. That’s a super duper fabulous idea and must come to fruition!

      You should DM me on Twitter where you’re at – maybe we can get together for tea? That would be great!

      Thanks for your support as well. Meeting the WANA1011 ladies and gents has been such a blessing. The family just gets bigger and better!

  8. You touched my heart Tameri. I too am thankful for all my WANA sistas and bro. What a wonderful group of warm hearted, gentle people. It was exactly what I needed at exactly the right time. Everyday, I’m awed by the generosity of spirit in this group. I was becoming so jaded… a writing group I was in for years was constantly being dismantled by a couple of drama queens and even though I was never part of the drama, I always wondered when I would be the next target. Many people I loved were hurt and quit the group. You and my WANA sisters restored my faith in the goodness of people. I thought I’d continue my writing journey alone, I never expected this from the class I signed up for this summer and now look… I have all of you! It’s so much fun! Love you Tameri.

    • Aww thank you! We’re pretty darn lucky to have you, too. I’m so glad we could restore your faith in humanity a little. I’ve been there, it’s hard to trust people when there is too much drama involved. I’m sorry your writing group got nuts like that. We’re here for you. Always. Love you, too!

  9. Tameri, I totally agree. I want to echo all my WANA1011sistas above and say thank you for being so awesome and kind and welcoming to us all. It’s made the transition into blogging so much easier, and way more fun than I ever imagined it would be. πŸ˜€

    I’m another SoCal gal here (well, I’m right on that SoCa/Central Coast border) and I would LOVE a myWANA convention. It would be such a blast.

    Have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

  10. From one WANA sista to another, we’re grateful for you, too! I can’t believe you got to meet up with Jillian – how fun that must have been! If you ever make it to Australia, you know you will have a very happy and welcoming WANA host here. And in the meantime, have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

    • Australia sounds like a great idea. Now you’ve done it ~ gone and put that bug in my ear. Don’t be surprised if I show up one day!

      Jillian’s a hoot. Just as much fun as on her blog!! I hope I get to meet all of you someday soon.

  11. What a beautiful, heartfelt post Tameri! I am so happy to be part of the WANA group. Who knew it would be this amazing when I signed up! I am super excited for Sunday! Sorry Myndi. 

    That turkey bit was just crazy! Why would they put that lady back in there with them big birds? She was ridiculous. They weren’t going to hurt her – too bad. πŸ™‚

    LMAO at the lizard!

    • Thanks Debra! I’m so happy you’re part of the WANA family as well. These connections we’ve made are more than I ever could have imagined and for that I’m so grateful and blessed.

      I’m looking forward to Sunday, too!

  12. Sending you hugs, love and high kicks from my corner of the country!!! Great post and I’m so glad you are in a central location so you can meet some Tweeps and WANA peeps. We have all been so lucky both find, listen to and apply Kristen L.’s guidance. I’m also thankful for all my new online peeps. Happy Thanksgiving!

  13. You’ve got the best high kicks of anyone! Thanks for the love, Barbara! If you’re ever in California, you know you’ve got a place to stay. Then you could teach me how you get those kicks so high. Were you a Rockette? Hmmm, I bet you were!

    Happy Thanksgiving to you, too!

    • (giggle) Well, along with being a go-go dancer, I yearned to be a Rockette while growing up. I’d see them on the holiday specials and start imitating the high kick hops. True cardio endurance needed for those. πŸ˜‰

  14. You’re awesome, Tameri! We all feel the same about you. I’m jealous that I’m on the opposite coast from most of you! All the Wana peeps are terrific! I hope you all had a wonderful holiday!

    • Thanks Marcia! That’s the great thing and bad thing about the internet – it brings us closer, but we’re still physically far away! We’ll all meet someday, we have to.

      Our holiday was wonderful, thanks so much. By the way, the addition of blueberries in the pie was delicious!

  15. How did I miss this post?!!! I’m so jealous you got to meet up with Jillian!!!!

    But you are thinking about going to Dallas?? Hmmm. . . I’d love to try to attend.

    Gosh what a great post, Tameri!!! I’m all smiles now. see-> πŸ˜€

    • It must’ve snuck in while you were sleeping. Sometimes blog posts do that to me, too.

      It was super awesome to meet Jillian! After Thanksgiving I got to meet Debra Kristi and Jenny Hansen, too. What great ladies we have in the WANAsphere!

      I’m pretty sure I AM going to Dallas ~ that would be so fun if you could go, too!

      So glad I could make you smile, now if I could ever figure out how to make those little happy face icons, I’d be all smiles too! Instead, I’m just punctuation for now.

      ; )

I'd love to hear from you!

