Super easy and delicious holiday treat!

This is my go-to holiday treat ~ doesn’t matter what holiday, I’ll make this dessert because it’s easy, only takes 4 ingredients, and can be modified depending on the holiday. And it’s foolproof!

If you need to bring something to a party, or just want something special on your table, try this recipe.

Super Yummy Brownie Trifle Thing (this is the official name we’ve given it here at Etherton House. Feel free to use whatever name you like.)

Ingredients:

  • Brownie mix ~ I use Ghiradelli Double Chocolate
  • Cool Whip ~ the largest container or two small
  • Mousse mix ~ I use milk chocolate, but feel free to experiment
  • English toffee ~ here’s where you can have some fun! At Christmas I might add crushed candy canes, for Valentines maybe red hots, at Easter some marshmallows, it just depends on what you like. Oh, if you can’t find English Toffee, just use a Heath Bar. No one will ever know.

     

Now that you have the ingredients, this is what you do:

Make the brownies according to package directions. Note* I like to undercook the brownies just a little bit. You want them moist and not crunchy. Let the brownies cool completely.

Make the mousse mix according to package directions.

Smash the toffee or other topping with a rolling pin or meat pounder. This part is really fun. Get the topping smashed up into little pieces, but not powdered mush.

Break up your cooled brownies and line half of the brownies in a glass trifle dish or bowl. Don’t sweat it if you don’t have the fancy trifle dish, any clear bowl or dish will work. You want people to be able to see your amazing mad baking skills!

Top your brownies with half of the mousse mixture.

Smooth half of the tub of Cool Whip over the mousse mixture.

Sprinkle on your toffee, candy canes, or whatever goody you are using.

Repeat! Brownie, mousse, Cool Whip.

Wait! Don’t add another topping layer.

Over the Cool Whip you can either shave some chocolate (as in the picture above), or decorate with your toffee, make little hearts out of candy canes, whatever strikes your fancy.

Wasn’t that easy? It’s an elegant dessert that is super delicious!

Of course you’ll need a beverage to sip while enjoying your brownie dessert. What could be more decadent than a cocktail made with Godiva Liqueur?

 

White Russian

  • 1 oz Vodka
  • 0.5 oz Godiva Mocha Liqueur
  • 2 oz cream
  • 1 sprinkle nutmeg
  • ice
Add cream, Godiva Liqueur, and vodka to a shaker.
Shake with ice and strain into an ice-filled rocks glass.
Garnish with a dash of nutmeg.
In the mood for something creamy and decadent? Try Kate Wood’s Cheesecake Presents. They are simple and delicious (and super easy to make). Pair those with Jillian Dodd’s Gingerbread Martini and you’re set. I love the holidays!
Do you have a favorite go-to dessert or dish you prepare for special occasions? What about special drink? How do you make the holidays more festive? Here at A Cup of Tea and Sorcery, we’re always looking for new recipes. Share with us!

50 thoughts on “Super easy and delicious holiday treat!

  1. YUM! May I have some…please??? I keep ingredients for oatmeal cookies on hand…to which I often add chocolate chips or raisins. Adding cranberries and dark chocolate makes for tasty holiday treats. My favorite holiday drink is cinnamon spiced-anything! Coffee, tea, cocoa, egg nog… Thanks for the fun recipe, Tameri!

    • I love oatmeal cookies, but the boy and hubs are chocolate chip cookie purists and don’t allow oatmeal cookies in the house. I’ll make you some brownie thing and we’ll swap for some cookies!

      Mmmm, cinnamon spiced anything is my fave too. Chai tea with egg nog is especially yummy. Oooh, thanks for stopping by, August!

  2. OMG! I think I just gained 5 pounds. YUM! I love, “if you can’t find English Toffee, just use a Heath Bar.” Speaking from experience? And a white Russian! Perfect ending to a perfect experience. Bravo Ms. Tameri.

    • Shhh, yes, I am speaking from experience. One year I forgot to get the real stuff so I swapped in a Heath Bar and no one noticed! It became my little secret after that. ; )

      I tried Kate Wood’s cheesecake presents over the weekend and they are super delish. If you get a chance, try those too. I haven’t tried the gingerbread martini, but it sounds so good and I’ve got all the fixins for it. Dang, I think I just gained 5 lbs writing all that!

    • Well now, if you have the dish, you must make this recipe! I think that’s a rule when you buy the dish, it’s in the fine print. ; ) You’re welcome gorgeous. Enjoy the brownie dessert!

      Merry Christmas!

  3. As much as I like to be little Miss Gourmet, sometimes simple is just what you need. I love how easy this is!

    It should be pointed out that Costco (at least the one here) carries that Ghiradelli brownie mix, so it should totally be a pantry staple. 🙂

  4. Is there anything better than a humongous spoonful of Cool Whip when no one’s looking? You’ve just reminded me I need to go to the basement and dig out my trifle bowl. I’m going to try something different for dessert this year…berry trifle with lemon pound cake and lots of whipped cream.

    • Oooooh, Jennifer I don’t think there is. The real Cool Whip, not the Light or non-fat version. You have to get the full creamy effect. Um, can you tell I’ve done that before?

      I loooove berry trifle, but usually save that for the summer when berries are in season, but now you’ve got me thinking it would make a nice Christmas morning dish. Yum. Thanks for the idea!

  5. You just solved my problem, Tameri! I need a dessert that I can assemble when I get to my daughter’s on Christmas Eve. I have to travel a couple of hours and didn’t want anything to be ruined. this will be perfect since brownies travel well, the whipped topping wil go in its container, the mousse I can whip up when I get there! I love the candy canes added to it for Christmas. I’m doing my happy dance now! Thanks!

    • I’d forgotten about those little nuggets! They would make the recipe all that much easier. Yeah, it’s good for a dozen people, unless you have David and Monte in the crowd. Those two men love (and I mean L.O.V.E.) this dessert!

      Christmases aren’t the same without you guys around. It’s been forever since we’ve seen you!

    • You know, I’d sort of forgotten about that part of the movie. Now that’s all I’m going to think of while sipping my White Russian. The Dude, his bathrobe, and then Tron. Yeah, since seeing Tron I get the Dude crossed with the Tron dudes in my mind. Maybe because the good one wears that white robe.

    • Yes! If you can preheat an oven and own a mixer, you’re set. That’s what I love about this recipe. Although, I find it hard to think of you as a non-very-talented baker. I don’t know why, but you strike me as the type of lady who could whip up appetizers with little more than Vienna Sausages and fig jelly.

    • Ooooh, I think you’re onto something there, Naomi! Hmmm, Kahlua or Brandy? Or possibly rum. ooh! ooh! Peppermint Schnapps at Christmas. I feel some experimenting in our futures!

      Let me know what your research turns up!

  6. Pingback: Friday FaBOOolousness – December’s MarvelOoous Holiday Mashup | Tiffany A White's Ooo Factor

  7. Made it for a NYE dinner party and it ROCKED! Didn’t have a trifle bowl so picked one up at the dreaded walmart for $7. Thanks Tameri! Looked amazing and tasted fab, too.

      • Hey Andrea! I’m so glad you tried it and it was a success. Sorry you had to go to that stinky place, but for only $7, it’s a pretty nice trifle bowl. ; )

        Thanks for stopping by and commenting! I called David and said, Ohmygosh, Andrea reads my blog. He totally laughed at me because I keep thinking only 5 people actually read the thing. Nice to know I have 6, now.

I'd love to hear from you!

