Magical Holidays at the Happiest Place on Earth!

Happy Birthday Alexzandra!

Alexzandra enjoying a glass of wine at Napa Rose

My baby girl turned 21 yesterday and I still can’t believe she’s all grown up. Wasn’t it just yesterday that I felt the first flutterings of her inside of me? Time has flown and yet it hasn’t. Since I’ve already devoted a post to how it feels when babies leave home here, I’ll just skip ahead. We had an amazing day ~ first we saw Tom Cruise in Mission:Impossible and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. Jillian Dodd just had a fabulous review on her blog. Check it out when you’re done here.

After the movie, we headed to Downtown Disney to do some shopping and have dinner at Napa Rose. Alexzandra and I started the night off with a cocktail at Ralph Brennan’s Jazz Kitchen before meeting David and Michael for dinner. Whatever that peachy thing was I had, it was delicious! Her first drink? A Gin & Tonic. Ew, but she liked it. Everything was perfect for Alexzandra’s special day!

Since Alexzandra is a little shy, I thought I’d just give her a birthday shout out and then share with you some of my favorite things about Disneyland during the holidays.

It’s no secret that I love all things Disney and Disneyland ranks up there in the top two. It’s also no secret that I go a little nuts for Christmas, so when I get Disneyland and Christmas all together, it’s a fab fest in my heart. There’s singing and dancing, wearing of silly hats, oh yeah, there is a total party inside my heart that lasts for days and days.

Look how cute Mickey is in his little sweater and hat!

Disney does a fabulous job of making every detail important.

Of course, the holiday isn’t complete without Santa and his reindeer!

Look out! The Haunted Mansion has been taken over by those peeps from A Nightmare Before Christmas. Yikes! Jack Skellington sure is scary as Old St. Nick.

And over at It’s a Small World, where it’s not so scary, things are all Jingle Bells and sunshine.

When you travel under the sea, Ariel will sing ‘Jingle Shells’ to you, it’s fabulous!

There are loads of goodies to sample while shopping in Downtown Disney or strolling through the parks. Two of our favorites are the candy apples from Marcelines and the hand made candy canes from the candy shoppe on Main Street.

They are even tastier than they are cute!

My favorite place in all of Disneyland is Sleeping Beauty’s Castle.

With the additions of snow and icicles, the castle is gorgeous during the day…

But at night the castle is simply stunning.

Where is your favorite place to spend the holidays? Is there somewhere special you like to visit or a certain road with loads of colorful lights you like to drive past each year? What makes the holidays just a little more magical for you?

Merry Christmas, Happy Hanukah to all my friends!

28 thoughts on “Magical Holidays at the Happiest Place on Earth!

  1. I’ve never been to Disney when it’s decorated for the holidays. It looks beautiful!! Sounds like you had a great day!! Happy holidays to your family!!

    • Thanks Jillian! Happy holidays to you, too.

      Disneyland all decked out for the holidays is magical. I need to go to Disneyworld some year during the holidays, I’ve heard they go even crazier with the decorating over there!

      It was a great day, thanks for the head’s up on the movie ~ we saw it in IMAX and wow, Tom was *this close* to us! I felt like I was running down that building right there with him. Yeah, I kept screaming because I thought he’d die. Um, it’s a movie, duh! I was totally into it, though and it was fun.

  2. Happy BIRTHDAY Alexzandra!!
    OMG stunning! It sounds simply magical and wonderful! What a perfect day.
    For us, we live in a small city – around 75,000 people – so we spend the holidays usually around home. Although we always take drive around the city to see all the lights and decorations that people have. It’s one of my most favorite traditions. The lights make everything magical for me.
    I’d love to see the castle in person decorated like that…heaven!

    • Thanks Natalie!

      I’ll bet your little city is gorgeous around the holidays ~ the lights, the snow, it must be magical. I miss not having snow, but I don’t miss the cold. ; )

      Some year, you and Hubby need to come out here for the holidays and we’ll take you to Disneyland! That would be too much fun.

  3. Happy birthday to your daughter! Mine turns 20 right after Christmas.
    I know this will sound cliche, but I would go anywhere as long as I can be with my family on Christmas!
    Great post!

    • Not cliche at all! I’m completely the same way. Put me anywhere, but just let me have those I love around me at Christmas. I know the time will come when the kids have their own families and that will be weird, but for now I like having them here with us.

      Happy soon-to-be birthday to your daughter!

    • Oh, Myndi, it is so much fun with little ones. I love to just sit and watch the children’s faces as they wander through Disneyland. It’s a whole new perspective on a park I know so well, as if I’m seeing it for the first time again through their eyes.

      When you’re ready, let me know. I have loads of tips and tricks to help your day go smoothly (well, as smoothly as it can go. It’s Disneyland, meltdowns happen).

  4. I vaguely remember going to Disneyland when they had the Christmas decorations. I was pretty young, but I remember the parade at night with all the lights. Very magical. Now, I strongly dislike travel. Home is where my heart is. And my bed. 😉

    • There truly is no place like home and one of my favorite places in my home is my bed. I always say, I never met a nap I didn’t like!

      I love to travel ~ my husband not so much the actual traveling part ~ but I think of it all as a great big adventure. Stuck at the airport? Make a game of it! Tired and cranky from a long train ride? Think of what your character would do if thrown into the situation. I’m an eternal optimist, which baffles my pessimistic husband.

      If you ever decide to go to Disneyland, tell me. I’d love to take you there ~ they have amazing chefs who will prepare all your food gluten free. It’s awesome!

      • Wow, I’m glad so many places are embracing gluten-free options. I remember how hard it was for me when I was younger (hey, it’s still hard!). It could put a major damper on the Disneyland experience for a kid with that issue.

  5. Oh what fun! Happy Birthday Little Ms. Etherton! That sounds like a great day! I don’t believe I’ve ever seen the castle decorated like that. Sounds fabulous! I recall going at New Year’s Eve once in high school, but I don’t believe I’ve ever braved the crowds at Christmas time. I’m so glad you guys are having a blast. We’re off to see Mission Impossible tonight.

    • Ooooh, I hope you like the movie! And don’t you get to leave on your Disney Cruise soon? That is going to be so much fun. I bet they do up the ship for the holidays ~ I want pictures!

      The absolute best time to see all the Disney magic, but avoid the crowds at holiday time is the first week and a half of December. After the 15th, it gets insane until after New Years. Maybe next year we can meet with the kids and have some Disney fun!

  6. What a great celebration you all had! My congrats to Alexzandra (love the spelling!) too and thanks for the photos of Christmas at Disneyland. Magical, indeed!
    I’m with you about the best place at Christmas being wherever the family is. Nothing else matters. I know you will make the holidays very special in your inimitable Tameri-sparkle way. A merry, merry, happy, happy, ho, ho, ho to you and yours!

  7. This post gave me the chills, Tameri. Your love for Alexzandra is so evident… I swear I felt a mom/daughter hug. You know precisely how to “mom” her, with respect for her preferences. I marvel at mothers with that capability, knowing just how to love their children, in ways as unique as they are. May her birthday bring both of you more joy than Disney’s ever seen!

    PS I was a Christmastime baby, too… The best time to celebrate, IMHO. 😉

    • You’re too cute, August. I’m glad I gave you chills in a good way! And thank you for the wonderful compliment. Being a mom is challenging, but something I love, even on the hard days. Alexzandra brings me more joy than anything Disney could ever offer!

      When you were little, did you think the world decorated for your birthday? Alexzandra did and it always cracked me up. She loved it.

      Happy soon-to-be-birthday? Or was it past and I missed it?

  8. Disneyland any time is the most awesome place on earth, but at Christmas it’s give a whole new meaning to magical! I love all things Disney and my favorite place is New Orleans Square with all the party decorations for Christmas.

    Thanks for the lovely pictures and virtual visit to Disneyland!

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

    • Hey Patricia, thanks for stopping by! I love New Orleans Square as well. The glass ornaments hung from the wires between the buildings, gorgeous! Each year they do a little something different and I always try to spot the new thing. This year, it’s the blue snowflake swirls above the entrance turnstiles.

      Have a Merry Christmas!

    • Thanks Carrie! If your husband does that, I totally want pictures. It would be soooo gorgeous and all your neighbors would drive by just to ogle your fabulous farmhouse.

      I’ve always wanted to live in a farmhouse. It sounds so romantic. But then, you’ve got a woodchuck, so of course it’s romantic!

    • Thanks Tiffany! Well, if you ever make it out to SoCal, I’d be happy to play host and show you around Disneyland. If you’re a wine drinker, Napa is a must. Even if you’re not, it’s a gorgeous place.

  9. I’m trying to think of the last time I was in Disneyland. Is it just me or does the place make you feel like a kid again? (I think they employ some kind of stealth mister that emits happy pheromones.) Do they still have Mr. Toad’s Wild Ride? That’s one of my favorites. 🙂

    • Hey Jennifer! I think you’ve hit on something here… maybe they DO emit happy pheromones there, that’s why I love it so much.

      Mr. Toad’s is still there, right next to the Tea Cups. That’s one of my favorite rides.

      I hope you can make it back to Disneyland soon, it’s changed so much, but stayed the same. If that makes any sense?

  10. Pingback: Friday FaBOOolousness – December’s MarvelOoous Holiday Mashup | Tiffany A White's Ooo Factor

I'd love to hear from you!

