An Attitude of Gratitude 365, I mean 366!

 

My New Year’s Resolution for 2012 is that I’m not making any. That’s right! I’m chucking out the old resolution thing and instead I’m going to focus on the grace and beauty of each day.

Around Thanksgiving, several of my blogging friends asked why we only have one day for giving thanks and that got me thinking. Why doΒ we only publicly give thanks on Thanksgiving?

Not only that, but my sister Karla did this cool thing on facebook that she called, ‘A picture a day’ and I loved seeing what she would post each day, which got me thinking.

After all that thinking, I had to take a nap.

After my nap I decided that for 2012, I would take a picture a day to post on facebook, but I would also include something about the day that made me take a step back and be grateful. It could be something huge or tiny, whatever sparks my soul. 365 days of being thankful ~ oops, I need to start right now ~ my niece Kate reminded me that next year has 366 days! One full day more of gratitude. Sweet! Thanks, Kate.

I’ll still make goals for each day, week, month, year, but I won’t stress myself out or berate myself if I don’t accomplish them as I would if I set strict resolutions. I’m a bit commitment-phobic and always break my resolutions in the first few days of the New Year anyway. Kind of like Myndi Shafer. In fact, I think she and I are secretly related, but no one’s told us yet.

I’ll recap some of my favorite moments each month here on the olde blogge, but of course you can always see what I’m grateful for each day on my facebook page. If we aren’t friends yet, friend me! http://www.facebook.com/tameri

What does 2012 have in store for you? Do you make resolutions? If so, do you keep them or are you a resolution breaker like me?

These are some of the great blogs that got me started down my path of gratitude:

Kristen Lamb wrote a fabulous post about being grateful for simple things like laundry. It will open your eyes in a good way. And yes, I did borrow the title of this blog from her. She’s just that superfabulous!

Diana Murdock asked why we should give thanks only on Thanksgiving. Exactly! She wants the specialness of the day to transcend just one day in November to inhabit all of our days.

Barbara McDowell reminded us that gratitude rocks (and sweet potato pie should be eaten any time of year).

On Sundays, Julie Hedlund writes about what she’s grateful for that week. This post (written back on 12/18), is one of the reasons I love to read Julie’s blog. She is a writer who knows the value of giving back and appreciating those around her. I hope she wins the contest because her book is too darn cute and I must read it!

This post isn’t about gratitude, but it touched my heart and made me realize that all around us are unicorns, we just have to open our eyes to them. Marcy Kennedy’s touching story of her friend Amanda spoke to me to be grateful to those in my life.

And finally, that witty gal Myndi Shafer blogged about her New Years Resolutions. I know I’m not making any for myself, but if I did, they would probably be what Myndi wrote, just without the four kids part.

29 thoughts on “An Attitude of Gratitude 365, I mean 366!

  1. Sweet indeed, Tameri! I’ve been indulging in sweet potato pie for Christmas too (hello gym).

    Thanks for including me in this fab mashup! I so look forward to seeing your FB picture posts. Love that idea. Being mindful of gratitude is my 2012 focus too. There is so much happiness and peace to be found in gratitude. Hugs to you!

    • Hello gym is right! I finally hit sugar overload ~ my body rebelled when I tried to eat that last piece of fudge. What?! Guess it’s time to detox the sugar from the system.

      Together we’ll work on being successful and conquering our fears. It will be so much easier to do that if we’re focused on gratitude, right?

      Hugs back at ya, girl!

  2. Oh, girl, you be startin’ a revolution!!!! Love the idea. it is too easy to forget the little things and I would imagine some might even dismiss the song of a bird or smile of a stranger as simply nothing. Remember to remember. Difficult sometimes, but it has huge rewards! My thought for today – I am so grateful for my WANA sisters! More than I could ever say! xxoo

  3. What a great idea and a refreshing way to start the New Year! I am so glad that my blog inspired you (along with all the other fab ones you listed). That’s what it’s all about right? (Not the hokey-pokey after all!). We can start an attitude of gratitude revolution. Revolution rather than resolution! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Julie! Your Sunday posts started me looking at life in such a different way, like it’s okay to be grateful for the smallest of things. It doesn’t always have to be big, shiny stuff. Love the revolution rather than resolution theme! Like I said to Diana above, maybe by next Christmas we’ll end war and everyone can live in peace. Just by being more grateful each day. One can dream.

  4. Wow…Kristen’s blog really DOES open your eyes! I’m going to recap my Samhain New Year resolutions in the next day or two on my blog…and give updates where I’m at so far (since I’m two months in already! dang…where does time go?) But I like that you’re still setting yourself goals, but you’re going to stop beating yourself up if you don’t make them. I should really learn how to do that….. And yes! Enjoy the grace and beauty of each day! It’s like I said two months ago: “embrace happiness”. It makes a difference in your life. It really does. I’ve been trying to do that every time I don’t feel quite right or am down on myself and my happiness has definitely increased overall. I LOVE IT!

    • I know, right? Love love love your ’embrace happiness’ saying. That is so simple, but sometimes so difficult to accomplish. That’s definitely going to be on my daily to-do list.

      I’m so glad to have met you here in the blogosphere this year. Your posts always entertain and I just really like having you in my life!

    • Aw, thank you my darling. I can absolutely say the same about you. By the way, I bought grapefruit to clean my shower and my daughter ate them! What? People actually eat grapefruit? Guess I’ll buy more today at the market.

      Love you so much, Myndi!

    • Thank you, Susie. We’re all so fortunate to have the fabulous community of writers and friends online. You all inspire me every day, so it’s my pleasure to share the links. I need to do that more often!

      Happy New Year!

  5. I love this, Tameri! I side more with you in terms of setting continual goals and striving forward, though I do take time over the holidays, New Year’s included, to reflect on the previous year and consider the positive changes I wish to make. Last year I prioritized rest and sleep, which worked out well (after much effort ;)). This year I’m planning to incorporate more music and nature into my days. And every year, I work to make the current one better than the last…and me better within it. Thanks for being the inspiring woman and writer you are!

    • Thank you so much, August. I love that you are going to bring nature and music more into your life. That is a great goal and one that I need to follow. I walk in nature, go to the beach, see trees/flowers, etc, but how often do I stop and admire nature’s gifts? I love this idea.

      Like I said to Susie, you inspire me with your posts and I’m looking forward to your lifestyle posts. Hugs!

  6. I love the idea of a picture a day and something that you’re grateful for. I’ve always enjoyed having pictures to look back on, but over the past couple of years, I’ve fallen out of the habit of taking pictures and organizing them into an album or scrapbook. I think I might adapt your idea (for private use rather than public posting though πŸ™‚ )

    P.S. Thanks for linking to me πŸ™‚

    • Thank YOU for the wonderful unicorn story. It still resonates with me.

      I have to admit, I pondered this idea for several months before committing to it. Posting a picture a day might be more than I bargained for! I love taking pictures, but now I’ve added the gratitude element to it, I don’t even know if I know what that means. It will be fun to look back next year and see what I came up with.

      Let me know if you decide to adapt this idea. Of course, you don’t have to share the pictures, I’m just curious if you like it.

    • Exactly, Angela! I think it puts way too much pressure on January 1st. Why Monday? Why January 1st? Why not start something on a Thursday in June? The day doesn’t matter, the action does.

      Thanks for commenting!

    • Hey Bridgette, I’m not sure if we’re FB friends, I know I’ve ‘liked’ you… not sure if you have a personal page. So far (two days in), the pictures have been fun. It’s really making me look at each day and think of it in positive terms, which I love.

  7. Great idea, Tameri—the picture a day and the gratitude. I’ve begun a gratitude journal based on Jess Witkin’s ideas. I may take a picture a week of something that made me smile or made me think, or something that has some other meaning to me.
    I don’t make New Year resolutions either. The connotation is that you’re trying to fix something in your life that’s been needing repair and you’ve failed in the past. It’s all so negative. I’ll stick with my Life List Club and set reasonable, meaningful and fun goals to work at throughout the year. If I don’t achieve them all in one year, there’s always next year. Besides, any progress is a bit of success and makes the efforts worthwhile.
    Have a wonderful New Year, my friend!

    • That’s awesome, Marcia! I had a gratitude journal several years ago and was pretty good about keeping it up ~ I would make a simple list each night of 10 things I was thankful for. After awhile, it was the same list over and over again. I kind of like the idea of finding just one thing that’s positive. You’re absolutely right that the idea of resolutions comes from a place of negativity ~ fear, maybe?

      You’re always so positive and have great information, If you posted your list and pics, I’d love to see them.

      Happy New Year!!

  8. Pingback: Sharing is Caring: My Weekly Finds – The Rocking New Year Edition | Barbara McDowell's Blog

  9. Beautiful post Tameri and I love the idea of being consciously grateful each and every day. An attitude of gratitude…spectacular!
    I am not really making resolutions per say but am planning to do all 4 rounds of ROW80 and hopefully in doing so, I will write a novel, continue building my social media fun, and adopt a healthier lifestyle.

    • Thanks Natalie! Your ROW80 goals are amazing enough, you don’t need resolutions. I’m so looking on that novel of yours… everything will be awesome for you this year, I just know it.

      Mwuah!!

  10. Pingback: My fab 5 for 2011 – Natalie Hartford

  11. Pingback: Kick Off 2012 with Project 365 « jodiebethinhercrystalroom

I'd love to hear from you!

