May Your Cup Overflow with Courage and Curiosity.

Walt Disney once said,

“When you’re curious, you find lots of interesting things to do. And one thing it takes to accomplish something is courage.”

I used to be courageous, back when I was a wild child. Lately, though, I’ve become complacent. Age, injuries, boredom, chocolate, you name it, has become my excuse and my nemesis.

So on this, the fourth day of January, I’ve determined to live my life with more courage. As I wrote on Friday, I am going to live each day with grace, finding gratitude in the small things life offers, but now I’m throwing courage into the mix as well.

I don’t know if I’ll ever be as brave as these dancers, but just seeing what is possible if you have a smidgeon of curiosity and a cup of courage, makes me want to shake off my complacency and give it a try!

The woman on the far right (in close up view, on the far left in pulled back view) is my daughter’s boss. How freaking cool is she?

Take a few minutes and enjoy their beauty and artistry.

What impossible things have you accomplished before breakfast? Could you ever do what these dancers are doing? Sure, Tom Cruise looked good running down that hotel in Dubai, but can he dance? Is your cup of curiosity full? If not, what are you going to do to refill it?

30 thoughts on “May Your Cup Overflow with Courage and Curiosity.

  1. OMG that’s amazing. I have lots of courage in my comfort zone but this doesn’t include physical activities like this. very sad on my part. live life with more courage is a good motto for me.

    • I don’t think it’s sad on your part! These dancers are extreme. If you just have a little more courage, that’s a good start. Maybe next year you and I both will be dancing down a building (most likely not, but it’s a nice dream!) ; )

  2. INCREDIBLE! The video was wild. I loved it. How cool is THAT?!?!
    I think courage and curiosity is also a matter of perspective. For me, learning to love unconditionally and being open to hubby has taken some of my greatest courage. And so I try to live every day with that sense of courage – to live as large as I can possibly. Maybe it’s not skydiving or rapelling down a building but loving someone as purely as possible and pursuing my life passion takes just as much courage….so yes…I do feel bold and daring! Writing a blog and stepping out of my comfort zone has always helped me feel like I am taking CHARGE of my life and am pushing boundaries.
    Here’s to each of us, in our own way, always feeling like we are living life large and in charge!
    xoxoxoxox

    • What terrifies me most about the video is that this is my daughter’s boss. Now Alexzandra wants to do that! Yipes, that girl is going to give me a heart attack.

      As for the loving unconditionally, I totally get you. There’s a reason I’ve been married three times. It took me that long to learn to trust myself enough to let him in.

      Here’s to living large and in charge! I’ll totally drink to that. Congrats on finding your courage and letting it run free with love.

  3. Trying new things is definitely outside my comfort zone. However, I do have a list of a few things to get working on this new year. We’ll see if perseverance prevails or if I chicken out. 😛

    • Nope, I think you’ll persevere. I know, send me the list, or even better, post it on your blog. Public accountability (or even accountability to one other person) works wonders in getting us to follow through. That’s why writer’s groups work well… just a thought. I think sticking with the gluten free eating has been very courageous ~ definitely something you didn’t think you’d do, but look at you now!

  4. Oh WOW! What a great video to share in a post about courage (and curiosity).

    I applaud you for your determination to live with more of both. Me too!

    • Thank you, Julie! I’m probably not a good enough dancer to do what they are doing, but I’m thinking scuba diving or white water rafting next summer. Until then, I’m looking for little bits of courage every day. Keep me posted how you are doing!

    • I know, right?! That’s exactly what I thought when my daughter showed me the video. And then she says, ‘That’s my boss’ and I almost fainted. Why knowing someone who does that made it even scarier, I don’t know, but it freaked me out.

      Could you ever do something like that?

  5. What Ingrid said! Can’t imagine ever doing that, besides, can’t really dance. But I used to cuddle with cheetahs! Loved this post, been trying to get some of my old courage back as well, working on it…thanks for the inspiration. 🙂

    • Cuddling with cheetahs? Now that’s a story I’d like to hear! Not many people can say they’ve cuddled a cheetah. I saw one once, he was about four feet away from me, but I wanted to cuddle him very much. His handlers wouldn’t let me. Something about me being a nice snack for him. Bummer.

  6. Oh. Wow. That’s incredible. I went back and looked at some of the other Bandaloop videos too. Awesome.
    You are right Tameri. Adding courage to the mix is a good decision and it’s a necessary accompaniment to being truly curious. What a trip 2012 is going to be!

    • 2012 is going to be so much fun, I can hardly stand still! I’d forgotten how much fun courage can be, but now that I’ve decided to reacquaint myself with it, I’m excited where it might lead.

      Thanks for checking out the other Bandaloop videos, they really are a great group of dancers.

  7. Fantastic post, Tameri! Serious courage lies in stating our own goals and challenges and dreaming/plotting out loud. (Hmm… Sounds like YOU. :))

    It’s sad that many of us let loose of go-getter attitudes and dreams in adulthood, especially since we don’t have to. We have maturity, knowledge and experience we lacked as kids, which should strengthen our courage, no? I certainly didn’t display any before breakfast today. A rare day of almost oversleeping, eating on the fly and getting lost en route to the dentist weren’t quite mind blowing… LOL! Tomorrow’s a new day. *whew*

    PS When I first moved to L.A., I write an “I’m afraid of” list and started working away at it… You’ve got my wheels turning! 😉

    • You overslept? Naw, I don’t believe it. You strike me as an up early and ready to go kind of gal. I think I stopped being so courageous when I had kids. Then it was just a matter of survival and trying to figure out that whole parenting thing. Now that I’ve got a good handle on it, I think it’s time to bring spontaneity and excitement back into my life.

      You wrote out an “I’m afraid of” list? That’s very curious. If I wrote that when I first moved to L.A., first on the list would be ~ walking to the neighborhood store. I lived at Western and Normandy in a super cute building, but I’m pretty sure my neighbors were all crack dealers. Well, it was the 80’s, did they even have crack back then, or was it all meth? Anyway, they were scary.

      Good luck with your list and checking off each frightening thing!

    • Rock climbing would be so much fun! That’s one of those things I’ve put off until I’m a bit thinner. Okay, a lot thinner. I’m convinced the harness will break. Stupid, I know. Good for you for doing it, though! Are you going to climb actual rocks out in nature, or an indoor facility? Someday I’m going to repel down a rock face and I might not wait until I’m thinner. I’m tired of putting off life because of a few pounds.

      When you get as good as Tom Cruise, I want a picture of the both of you on top of K2!

    • Bungee jumping? Yipes! Every time I see that on T.V., I get the heebie jeebies. I can’t even imagine being there when someone does it. Where did you bungee jump? Off a bridge? A canyon? What was underneath you? Did it freak you out or were you totally psyched for it? I must know!

  8. Wow, that is amazing! But I don’t know if I could do that or what Tom Cruise did, especially before breakfast! lol
    What is is about getting older? When we were younger we did all kinds of things without ever giving any thought about it and with no fear. Then later on in life we seem to get stuck in so much fear. It’s definitely a mental thing or Tom Cruise could not swing and climb the tallest building in the world! Mind over matter, isn’t that what they say?
    Well talk is cheap, but I’m working on the fear thing Tameri. I’m trying to put myself out there, although I hide beneath my bed every time I set up a new post. It’s horrible. And I’m driving my poor husband nuts.
    Thank you for sharing your courage. Maybe some of it will rub off on me! 🙂

  9. When we were younger we didn’t know the meaning of fear. We were young and invincible! Or at least I thought I was, which is strange since I was always at the ER. Huh.

    You hide under your bed when you post something? I totally get that. My first few posts, I was terrified ~ not that no one would read it, but that people WOULD read it and realize I was a big fat fraud. I still get jitters, especially when I’m admitting to the world what a badass I once was, but I look at it like every day is a new opportunity for me to shine. Isn’t that what I’ve always wanted, for others to read my words? Blogging helps my writing confidence in so many ways. The friends I’ve made, the wisdom I’ve gained, it’s changed my life completely. No more hiding, come into the light and let your brilliance shine!

  10. So, so, so beautiful! If you hadn’t written about your daughter’s boss being in it, I might have thought it was a computer trick. (I’d have a heart attack too, if one of my daughters wanted to do the same also!)

    I can’t believe you’d think anyone would consider you a fraud, Tameri. That really surprises me. You ooze sweetness and sincerity. 🙂

    • Aw, thanks Bridgette! Sometimes, I think ‘yep, I’m a writer’ and other days I just think I’m such a poseur. It’s getting easier to think of myself as a writer, especially with the blogging, but damn I really want a book published. That is some serious validation. That’s where the fraud insecurity comes in. As for life? Naw, I don’t feel like a fraud. I finally learned to be comfortable in my own skin and I am more confident now that I ever have been before. You gave me such a warm fuzzy with your words, though! Love, love, love you.

  11. This was incredible! And there’s absolutely no way I could do it. I’m terrified of heights, and I constantly fight it by rock wall climbing and ropes courses, but this . . . I struggle with vertigo when I get on a tall staircase, so I’d be a quivering wreak 🙂

    • You are terrified of heights and yet you rock climb? I love that! Way to overcome that fear, Marcy. I don’t get vertigo, but just watching these dancers (and then remembering they are on a wall) made me a bit woozy. They are incredible, yes. I just wonder, who was sitting around one day and said, ‘Hey! We should dance on the side of the building!’ I mean, seriously, that was a crazy thought made real.

  12. Pingback: PEOPLE THAT ROCK, or INSPIRING BLOGGER AWARD « Myndi Shafer

  13. Pingback: Responding with a curious courage… to recent financial developments « JRFibonacci's blog: partnering with reality

I'd love to hear from you!

