Flashback to the 80’s ~ Lloyd Cole and the Commotions!

Who, you say? Lloyd Cole! You know, that cute guy from England who moved to Glasgow and started a band named the Commotions. Their career was short, but full of hits. Between 1984 and 1989 they had four albums in the Top 20 and five singles that made it to the Top 40’s (all of these were UK hits, America didn’t really know about Lloyd Cole).

Technically, they only had three albums since their last album was a ‘Greatest Hits’. After that, they broke up and Cole went solo until the band reunited in 2004 for a mini-UK tour.

I never got to see them live and to be honest, I have no idea how I heard of them. Probably from the record shop I liked to hang out at in the 80’s. Back in the day, I had an impressive vinyl collection. Not anymore, though. I’m all about my iPod.

There is a whole playlist dedicated to the 80’s on my iPod, but Lloyd Cole has a special playlist just for his albums. His haunting voice and lyrics continue to draw me in, thirty years later. He’s one of the few singers I can listen to while I’m writing.

Take a listen and tell me what you think. Then share with us who you listen to. Do you have certain artists you prefer to write to? Dance to? Garden to? What gets you motivated to do that thing you need to get done?

Lloyd Cole and the Commotions ‘2CV’

19 thoughts on “Flashback to the 80’s ~ Lloyd Cole and the Commotions!

  1. OMG…I never even heard of this guy or the band. LOL. I lived such a sheltered life – seriously! But I like it.
    Personally, I love to rock out to top 40. Dance the night away.
    For writing, I love instrumental and especially FAB movie soundtracks. Working on a new playlist right now! EEKEEEE!!!

    • I’m way big on top 40 as well. I have a crapload of tunes on my iPod, but will put the radio on in the car just so I have someone to talk to. I get lonely sometimes and those poor DJ’s are there to keep me company, right? But it’s only in the car. At home I only listen to my iPod. I’m weird, I know.

      I’m big on instrumental and soundtracks for writing as well. I can only listen to songs with words if they are like Lloyd Cole, the voice is soft and not jarring. Making new playlists for writing is so much fun! Check out Memoir of a Geisha’s soundtrack, it’s uber fabulous!

  2. Ooh… I wish I could write to music, but find it too distracting. I LOVE pumping the tunes to switch gears from work to R&R, though. It helps me rejuvenate and decompress. Also eases the tedium of cleaning. 😉 Lately I’ve had the Beatles, Adelle and Fela Kuti playing.

    Think I’ll go with 80’s tunes tonight… Thanks, Tameri!

    • Hope you had fun rocking out to the 80’s last night, August! There are some major fun songs that will get you hopping from that era. Ahh, it was a different time in the 80’s. I love that time of my life and the music. We had it all ~ punk, rock, metal, goth, hair and more hair. It was lovely. ; ) I think I need another dose of 80’s today while I clean. Enjoy!

  3. My tunes are on most of the time too Tameri. Everything from the 50’s to today … there’s so much to love! From Elvis to the Beatles and Stones to James Taylor and Ray Charles and Norah Jones and Adele to Coldplay or jazz, classical … on it goes. I love a French singer named Zaz I discovered last summer and play this song these days when I really want to feel pumped.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VWbdcNmGYJU (and there are english lyrics here too!)

    • Your music sounds like mine, except Jazz, I just can’t tolerate it. I love Zaz (from when you had her on your blog). I’ve got some nifty French music on my iPod, like a fun cover of Nancy Sinatra’s ‘These boots are made for walking’. Adele and Coldplay are two of my current favorites when I’m feeling melancholy. Pink and Gwen Stefani are always good to cheer me up. Music is such an important part of our lives, but not really something I think about all that often. Hmmm, I don’t know why. Thanks for the link to Zaz, I hope everyone clicks on it to check her out.

    • Record stores were where all the action was! We had this one in my hometown ~ Blue Meanie Records ~ it had a great selection of indie music. Unfortunately they went out of business a long time ago. In Encinitas there is a record store called Lou’s Records that still sells vinyl. They’ve been around for ages and I like to go in there sometimes. It’s a trip down memory lane every time. They have posters on the wall that I remember when they first put them up 30 years ago. Sheesh, I’m old.

    • Isn’t he adorable? When I was searching for a video, there was one of the band in present day and, um, he was really cute back in the 80’s. Not that he isn’t cute now, but let’s just say we all get a little older, a little puffier, and a little grayer. His voice was higher, too which was strange. I like it low and melodic.

      No record store in your town? What? Where did you go to hang out?

    • I probably read about him in New Musical Express (NME). I was way into British music back then. When I found them on iTunes I was ecstatic since a lot of the bands I liked from the 80’s were too small to get converted over. Such a shame. I’m glad you like him!

  4. Like you, I always have music on. It’s such an eclectic mix right now. But when I’m writing my women’s fiction, I like voices like Serena Ryder.

    • What? It says the uploader has not made this video available in my country. I want a recount! This is outrageous!!

      Bet they didn’t expect me to go to her website, did they? She’s got a beautiful voice, reminds me of Duffy a little, but slower, more hypnotic. I don’t think I could write to it, but I definitely like it. Thanks for bringing her to us.

  5. I never heard of this guy, but he looks like someone who was on General Hospital. lol. Are did they all look the same?
    Like you, I found Zaz through Patricia’s blog, and do enjoy her. Like Adele. Love classical piano. Are you laughing? I know, but I love it.

    • Haha, I think you might mean Rick Springfield. Remember when he was on GH? That was waaay back in the day. I love classical piano, so I’m not laughing. I wish my son would practice more so he could play for me!

  6. I listen to soundtracks when I write. Sometimes, it’s Broadway showtunes because the lyrics are so witty and upbeat. I listen to everything from the fifties to the present. For some reason, you’ve got me thinking about Little River Band from Australia. I used to listen to them a lot in the early eighties.

I'd love to hear from you!

