Crush of the Month ~ Nathan Fillion

It’s no secret that I have long admired Nathan Fillion’s ruggedly handsomeness and so I thought it only fair that I should share my sweet Nathan with all of you.

Did you know Nathan is Canadian? That’s right all my friends to the north, you can claim him as one of your own. No matter. He lives in Los Angeles now and that’s way closer to me than Canada. Winner!

He was born just two days before my sixth birthday. I’m sure at the time I didn’t realize the enormity of Nathan’s birth, but at least now when I blow out my birthday candles, I can imagine he’s doing the same thing (and obviously thinking of me, too).

Nathan’s had a long career in Hollywood, but most of his stuff you’ve probably never heard of, unless you’re a Browncoat, then you know all about his stint on One Life to Live and his small roll in Saving Private Ryan.

Did you know he is also the voice of Buck in the Halo video games? Makes the game a whole lot sexier, doesn’t it?

What’s that you say? What’s a ‘Browncoat’? Ah, my sweet friends, a Browncoat is, basically, a HUGE fan of Firefly, the show Nathan starred in as Captain Malcom Reynolds. It only ran a few episodes before being cancelled (BOO!), but then they came out with a cool movie called Serenity and the Browncoats rejoiced! I’m not a Browncoat, but if you’d like to find out more information about them and join their faction, here’s the best site on the web. Mr. Fillion is one of those rare actors who will do anything for his fans. If there’s a gathering at a convention, he’ll show up unannounced. Not only that, but he has a huge heart and is always finding ways to give back. In fact, he’s involved with an organization called Kids Need to Read! How cool is that?

If you go to that site, you can watch a funny video of Nathan talking about how Kids Need to Read got started. Well, sort of.

 

Last year at Comic-Con I was *this* close to Nathan. Seriously, he was standing right behind me. My husband surreptitiously took a picture, but it’s not near the quality of pics I want for the blog, so you’ll just have to trust me. *This* close, people! If I’d stopped walking, he would’ve bumped into me. Dang! That’s okay, I always have this year… (insert evil laugh here)

Most of you might know Nathan from his gig on Castle where he plays a writer who helps out the police. His partner is the gorgeous Stan Katic and if you’ve never seen the show, you need to check it out. It airs on Monday nights and Amber West did a brilliant write up about it on her blog, so hop over there to check it out.

But I digress… Before Castle, Nathan starred in this little movie called Dr. Horrible’s Sing Along Blog with Neil Patrick Harris. They made this tragicomedy back in 2008 during the writer’s strike. It was intended for internet distribution only and immediately became a hit. Best line from the movie? ‘The hammer is my penis’. If you don’t know what that means, you need to watch it to find out. If you know, then you’re laughing right now, aren’t you?

Me too.

What’s next for our sweet Nathan? You mean besides me finding him at Comic-Con and becoming BFFs with him and getting to hang out together laughing our butts off? Just something that brings two of my favorite things in the whole world together.

Nathan will be starring as Dogberry in Much Ado About Nothing later this year.

Be still my freaking heart. Shakespeare and Nathan Fillion? Oh. My. Stars.

Yep, 2012 is going to be an amazing year, folks. If the world does end on 12/21/2012, let it be after this film is released. Jus’ sayin’.

I hope you’ve enjoyed this brief look at my sweet Nathan. So, tell us, who’s your crush? You know you’ve got one, go ahead and fess up. We won’t tell. Promise.

60 thoughts on “Crush of the Month ~ Nathan Fillion

  1. I love Nathan Fillion! I watch him on castle now, but I remember him from One Life To Live when I was a kid. I never saw Firefly. Space cowboys aren’t really my thing. But I might check it out on netflix sometime. But Nathan is more of a friend crush to me. I think he’s super funny and would make a great friend. My big, all time crush is definitely Will Smith. I have loved him forever! But I’ve now given up on waiting for him to leave Jada. I’m moving on. Until his next movie comes out, that is.

    • Hey Emma, thanks for stopping by and commenting! Yeah, Nathan would totally make a good friend crush. I get he’s an awesome ‘wing man’ to his lady friends. Ah, Will Smith! He’s a super cutie, too. I love anything he’s in just because he’s so awesome. Hmmm, he might have to go on the CofM list… Remember when he was the Fresh Prince? Ah, that takes me back.

  2. Fantabulous darlin’! I didn’t really crush on him but I do now! Yummy….and this year, definitely stop walking, get bumped into, and tell us ALL about it!!
    My crush…hmmmm….I am not sure! I am going to see Contraband tonight with hubby and I’ll admit it, I find Mark Wahlberg quite lovely to look at. LOL!!

    • I know, right! I totally should have, but I was carrying this huge back with Lego kits in them and I didn’t want to hurt the poor man. Better yet, I’ll stop and spin around so when he bumps into me, well it’ll be more like a hug! And then we can be BFFs. That would make a great story to tell all our friends of how we met.

      Mark Wahlberg, huh? Okay, I’ll give you Mark. He does have mighty fine abs. ; )

    • Yay! Firefly was such a cool show. Nathan has been trying to get funding together to buy the rights so they can either make more episodes, or put it on the internet for all to enjoy. He’s just that awesome. When you finish with Firefly, watch Serenity. That’s funny you’re Browncoats now. It’s cool how many of them will show up at Comic-Con, even cooler that Nathan almost always hangs out to party with them. You should come to Comic-Con!

      I’d heard about the movie, but didn’t realize until a short time ago that Nathan would be Dogberry. That’s such a great role for him. Can’t you just picture Mr. Fillion saying, ‘Yes Sir, I am an ass!’. I can’t wait.

  3. He is a doll. Isn’t it wonderful that we can ogle handsome men from afar. I rarely know their names, even tv and movie stars. Mostly I don’t care, unless they’re really spectacular actors and I want to see other work.

    • It’s absolutely fabulous that we can ogle men handsome men from afar, but I’d like to ogle them from close-up as well. ; )

      Good thing I’m here to keep you up to date on all the sexy men in Hollywood, Valerie!

  4. So much to say…I…I…

    ::head ‘asplode::

    I have a thing for Canadians. They are always so nice. (Really. I went to Canada to investigate what I thought was just an exaggeration. Great peeps. I wanted to learn French, start saying “aboot”, and move there immediately.) I also love Northeastern US people…not at all for the same reason, though.

    But I digress…

    I’ve been watching Mr. Fillion for some time. Remember Two Guys, A Girl, and a Pizza Place?

    Mr. Fillion and I share a birthday. Not the year. I’m younger, but the day. Also, my little brother hung out with his brother at a Con a year ago. That means we are practically dating when our family hangs out, right?

    For those still reading this comment (why, hello!) the new take on Shakespeare’s Much Ado is a Joss Whedon production. Joss is responsible for Firefly and Dr. Horrible, so there are quite a few actors in Much Ado from his previous work. VERY EXCITING!

    But back to Nathan…you should check him out on The Nerdist Special on BBC America from December.

    Oh look, cause I love you, here is a clip: http://www.bbcamerica.com/the-nerdist/videos/nathan-fillion-on-firefly/

    ::takes a breath::

    Ok. I’ll stop now.

  5. I’m very jealous at the near-meets you guys have had. I never watched Firefly, but I’ve heard so much about it, I think I’ll have to look for it on Netflix. I love Castle and I’m so happy they’re finally back to new episodes.

    • I’m super jealous of Amber’s brother getting to hang out with Nathan’s brother. That’s way better than my near-meet. Definitely check out Firefly and Dr. Horrible. They’re both a little campy, but if you watch them, some of the jokes on Castle will make much more sense. They tend to poke fun at Mr. Fillion a lot on Castle, which he enjoys as much as the viewers.

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting, Shannyn!

  6. Lovely tribute to a worthy crush, Tameri! Can’t wait for Much Ado About Nothing.

    Okay, call me odd, but I’ve never had a celeb crush, except on a few I’ve met. (I’d like to think the crush would’ve formed regardless of their star-ness, but who knows?) Two of them I never would’ve imagined crushing over, based on their reputations/TV personalities, etc… I did have a recurring dream at one point that Ross (from “Friends”) proposed. Does that count?? LOL

    You rock, woman. Thanks for the great post!

    • David Schwimmer, really? I think that totally counts, maybe as a suppressed crush? Since you actually dated an A-lister, you don’t need to have crushes, though. You’re such a rock star!

      Thanks so much for all your love and support, August. You rock, too.

  7. Browncoat here. Firefly is awesome! I have the DVD, and all. I _still_ can’t believe they cancelled it.
    Since we’re sharing, I don’t have a crush, but Michelle Pfeiffer has had a crush on me for about… what? 25 years now? Has it been that long, Michelle?
    Or maybe it was the other way around. Can’t really say. As we get older, the memories fade.

    • You are hilarious! I’ve always loved Michelle Pfeiffer. I read somewhere that she’s from San Diego… not sure if that’s true, but I always thought it would be cool to run into her. She has the most gorgeous skin. My favorite role of hers was ‘Ladyhawk’.

      That’s so great that you’re a Browncoat, too! I hope they bring back Firefly, or at least make another movie. Thanks for coming by today, Fabio!

  8. Letting me geekdom show, but this is a good crowd to do that in. Total Browncoat here! But I also loved him on Buffy! What about Buffy, girlfriend? He plays evil very well. I’m such a geek, I wanted to get a Jane shirt for the next Comic Con. LOL But they are all men’s T-shirts and I like the women’s cut. What’s a girl to do? We are totally meeting up there, right?

    • I know, I had to skim over his career. He loved being the villain on Buffy, so I might have to do another post for Mr. Fillion. We’re so used to seeing him be a goofy nice guy, people might not know that Caleb was a bad, bad, bad guy on Buffy.

      A Jane shirt? Nooo! Well, okay, Jane’s a hottie too. I’ll keep a lookout for a girl cut shirt. And YES! We are totally meeting up at Comic-Con. We’ll be there all four (possibly five) days. So exciting that you’ll be there!

  9. Ohhh, I LOVE him!
    I must tell you, given that I am Canadian… when I first saw Nathan Fillion on tv, I thought, “wow, that guy looks familiar!”
    Yup, I totally dated his cousin!
    Given it was in grade nine, but still.
    🙂

    • Shut the front door! You dated his cousin? That beats out me walking in front of him and Amber’s brother hanging out with his brother. You are way too frikkin cool, Elena. ; )

      Grade nine. Love it!

  10. Your Celebrity Crush beat out my Celebrity Crush this week at the People’s Choice Awards, Tameri – you know who mine is, right? Ian Somerhalder/Damon Salvatore? So, your guy must be pretty darn HOT! 🙂

    Fun post!

    • I really love his character on Castle ~ he gets to have so much fun with it and it shows. Someone at Comic-Con asked if they get to adlib and he said sometimes if it’s good enough they’ll keep it, but I have a feeling it’s more than he wanted to let on. Then again, that just might be wishful thinking on my part because I believe Nathan Fillion really is that ruggedly funny.

  11. Tameri – may all your dreams come true! You should go to Elena’s next high school reunion with her and see if you can get to Nathan through his cousin. Canadians are very friendly, you know, eh?

    • You a Browncoat? I never, ever, ever would’ve guessed. Seriously, you could knock me over with a feather right now. That is 100% pure awesome, Angela! I knew I loved you, but dang, my love just grew two sizes. ; )

      I can’t pick a favorite from Buffy. Fillion was so deliciously evil as Caleb, but then again so was James. Then there’s David as Angel, well it’s just a decision I can’t make.

  12. Cosign on all of the Nathan Fillion love. I had been aware of him going all the way back to his soap days, but I didn’t start to crush until I saw Waitress, which was the most wonderful, poignant, little film and Nathan was just so dreamy and delicious in it. SIGH I was thrilled when Castle took off because I think Nathan is so good in it and he had had such bad luck with TV shows not making it.

    My current celebrity crush is Tom Hardy. The accent, the muscles, the tatts, those lips . . . YUM Every time I see the trailer for This Means War, I practically swoon. In addition to the hotness, I think that Tom is a really charismatic and talented actor. I was blown away the first time I saw him in Wuthering Heights (the version that aired on PBS a few years back.) He’s just great in everything he does, plus he’s a real charmer in interviews, just like Nathan.

    • I’ve never even heard of that movie, but I’m going to find it immediately. I totally agree about Castle. Poor Nathan had a heckuva time getting a series to stick.

      Tom Hardy is very, very YUM. Now I need to find Wuthering Heights as well as Waitress, two great recommendations, thanks! There’s just nothing quite like a cute guy is also charming. Makes my heart melt.

      Thanks so much for stopping by and sharing your great info, Tracie!

      • Oh my gosh, you must do yourself a favor and rent Waitress immediately, Tameri! You will not be sorry. I do warn you to have a box of tissues at the ready, though. That movie will really tug at your heartstrings. Nathan and Keri Russell were just wonderful in it.

        As for Wuthering Heights, it’s a much sexier version of the story than I’ve ever seen, but I thought it worked. Tom gave such a raw, powerful performance as Heathcliff (despite having to wear one of the most hideous wigs I’ve ever seen!) and his chemistry with co-star Charlotte Riley was smoking (no surprise since they fell in love while filming WH.)

        I can’t wait to hear what you think of both films, Tameri!

  13. Your Nathan? insert *pout* You are going to share aren’t you??? Hey Tameri, I’m in Canada right now and can actually see your blog cus I’m far, far away from evil Hughes.net. What are the odds of my being here and you writing about one of my very favorite Canadians? Love the SpaceCowboy picture! Thanks for the delightful start to my snowy, cold morning. I’m all snuggy and warm now! I’ll have to check out the video.

    • Of course I’m sharing, Kate! Nathan is just too super fabulous to keep all to myself. That’s so cool that you’re in Canada (sorry about the cold weather) and you get to read about one of your favorite Canadians! Serendipity? I think so.

      Stay snuggly and warm and enjoy your Hughesnet free internet time!

    • I could think of worse folks to confuse him with. Brendan Fraser is another one of my crushes, so it’s all good. Hmmm, I might need to do a little research on Mr. Fraser for a future post ~ thanks for the idea!

    • If you’re even just a teensy bit of a sci/fi geek, you’ll love Firefly and Serenity. I think what makes Castle so great is that they don’t take themselves too seriously like some cop dramas. So glad to hear you’re big fans. Let me know what you think of Firefly. Thanks for commenting!

    • Thank you so much! What a cool thing that you honored me with an award. You so totally rock.

      Oh, yeah. He is totally hot hot hot. I think he’s that hot and dreamy in real life, too, so let your hormones go crazy!

  14. One of the best things my last boyfriend ever did was expose me to the wonders that is Firefly. I lovelovelove Nathan Fillion, and oh boy, I can’t get enough of him as Captain Hammer. I watched Dr. Horrible’s Sing-along Blog because Netflix recommended it, and when Nathan emerged singing, I about died from a combination of hilarity and love.

    I still haven’t gotten around to watching Castle (I wish Netflix would stream it!), but I have no doubt that he is amazing on it. One of my former students works with the art department on the show, and I am wildly jealous. 😀

    • You know, they say people come into our lives for a reason, that last boyfriend’s sole purpose in your life just might’ve been to introduce you to the wonder that is Nathan Fillion. ; )

      I can’t believe you have a connection to Castle! I think you’ll love it when you finally do get to see it. Hey, if you ever want to come to SoCal, I’ll drive you up to Hollywood and we can hang out with your former student on the set of Castle. That would be epic. (I’m wildly jealous, too).

  15. I, too am one of the heartbroken when Firefly was cancelled. The network didn’t do it justice. We held a Firefly marathon over college winter break. I’d volunteer to get stuck in an elevator with Mr. Fillion anytime. Of course, he’s so clever and creative…he’d have us out in minutes.

  16. I loved him in Firefly, quite freqently take out my boxset just to look at him! He was also the evil, women-hating priest in the final season of Buffy

I'd love to hear from you!

