Crush of the Month ~ Hugh Jackman

I heard you sigh when you read that title. I know, Hugh Jackman is just so so sighably dreamy.

I mean, look at that smile! Those eyes! That hair! Yep, he’s dreamy.

In Hollywood he’s considered a triple threat: he can act, dance, and sing. I don’t think most people were aware of that until he hosted the Oscars back in 2009. I know I watched in amazement as he cavorted around the stage.

They need to make Hugh Jackman the host every year.

He’s charming, he’s funny, he’s sexy. Yeah, he’s got the whole package. Including great abs.

Is it just me, or is it weird he’s golfing in a towel? Oh, who cares! It’s Hugh Jackman.

Most people think of Hugh as Wolverine from X-Men, as they rightfully should, but he was also a loveably lost Duke in Kate and Leopold. Hands up, who saw that movie?

Well, if you didn’t, you should rent it. It’s a sweet Saturday afternoon treat.

He’s been in a bunch of other movies, too: in Van Helsing he plays a monster killer, in The Prestige he was a competitive magician, in The Fountain he played, well too many roles to keep track of. That was a really weird movie. There are many more movies I could list, but let’s keep the post short, shall we? Unlike Australia that was nearly three hours long.

You know I like my crushes to be a bit of a philanthropist, right? Well Hugh totally is. In fact, one of his favorite organizations, Microcredit, won the Nobel Peace Prize. Not too shabby! Something else our cool man Hugh will occasionally do? He’ll send out a Tweet asking for his followers to name their favorite non-profit and he’ll give money to one or two of them.

Ahhh, so dreamy and a big heart!

Another cool thing about Hugh is that he’s a devoted family man. He and his wife Deborra-Lee Furness have been married over fifteen years and have two adopted children.

Well, I could gush on and on about Hugh Jackman because there is so much more to him, but for now I’ll have to leave you with these Fun Facts:

  • One of Hugh’s paternal grandfathers is Greek.
  • As a young boy, he thought being a chef on a plane would be an awesome job.
  • Hugh’s first theater performance (after graduating from acting school) was as Gaston in Beauty and the Beast.
  • Hugh’s wife told him not to take the role of Wolverine in X-Men. She later said she’s glad he ignored her advice.
  • Dougray Scott was originally cast as Wolverine, but he had to back out. I wonder if he kicks himself for that decision and wishes Hugh had listened to his wife. Hmmm…

 

35 thoughts on “Crush of the Month ~ Hugh Jackman

  1. What, no mention of Hugh’s repertoire in musical theater? Curly in the London production of “Oklahoma!” (rent the movie, it’s amazing)? Peter Allen in the Broadway production of “The Boy from Oz” for which he won a Tony? His just-closed Broadway one man show? His casting as Jean Valjean in the long-anticipated film version of “Les Miz”? Just another side of Hugh’s awesomely talented self. I love him.

    • I know, I know! I’m trying to keep it under 500 words and Hugh needs at least a thousand! I’m super excited for Les Miz… he’s perfect for that role. What’s not to love about him? Nothing!

  2. Did you ever catch Hugh Jackman on Oprah? I laughed so hard watching the incredible talk diva gush and ogle like a little school girl…Adorable! I swear she we could see her heart pounding in her chest! Attractive peeps are so much more appealing when they’re personable, humble and funny as heck. Have to agree with you, Tameri—Jackman’s a prime example!

    • Hmmm, I don’t think I saw that episode! I wonder if I can find it on youtube, because I can totally imagine Oprah doing that. She would get all verklempt at Tom Cruise, too. But he’s not as awesome as Hugh.

  3. Great choice!! He’s certainly is more than just a little easy on the eyes. I’m glad you mentioned Kate and Leopold. When in the mood for a wonderful little bit of sweet romance it’s one of the perfect movies for it! Thank you for the *ahem* handsome pictures to brighten up this Friday morning…

    • You are so welcome, Lissa! I thought we could all use a little pre-Valentine hotness and last week was Australia Day, so Hugh was a perfect choice (but really, when isn’t he?). I need to watch Kate & Leopold again, it’s been too long (only about three months, but who’s counting). 😉

  4. I love that he seems to be a really nice guy. He and his wife were shopping in a Nordstrom’s in Seattle where a friend worked. She said he was completely down to earth and so sweet to his wife.

    Gotta love a hot Hollywood man that isn’t puffed up and skipping from one starlet to the next. 🙂

  5. Ha ha, I can see why with limited word length you would face a challenge talking about Hugh! I’ve heard him interviewed on Sirius XM On Broadway, and he is the nicest, most down to earth guy you’d ever want to meet. It’s almost too much! LOL

  6. Love love love him. Okay, you HAVE seen Kathy Griffin’s latest special, where she talks about going to see Hugh Jackman in concert? Girl, if you haven’t, you must. Can’t explain it… just… see it.

    • No, I have NOT seen that new special! I must find it and DVR it because you know I love Kathy! (did you see my comment on your blog? we simply must go see her live)

      Thanks for the heads’ up on Kathy! Can’t wait to see it, you’ve got me very curious.

  7. I’m trying to edit and save blogs for later. You made that impossible by putting Hugh up. Darn.

    Sigh? Not exactly. Heart speed up, inner voices screaming “YES”. All that was going on for sure. LOL I have plans for this man, just you wait and see. Mmm Hmm. Yummy delish. Who wouldn’t want to be Kate in Kate and Leopold? Funny thing about Wolverine, but I’ll make you wait for my post to find out. I know, I’m sooo evil.

    • So sorry, Debra. I know how that is, but Hugh is a very nice break from editing, don’t you think? You can ogle him a bit, then go back to editing refreshed.

      What?! You’ve got a funny story about Wolverine? I hope it’s on Monday’s post because now I need to know!

  8. Oh you do have good taste, Tameri!! I loved him in Kate and Leopold. He seemed perfect for that role. I didn’t know he was Gaston on stage, but believe he must have been fantastic in that role.

  9. Wow, excellent choice – totally delish, and nice, to boot. Loved him in Kate & Leopold, but I didn’t know he was Gaston either – how cool is that. Sigh, I can go to bed happy now … lol. 🙂

  10. Love him love him love him. He IS very talented and versatile but it’s definitely the Wolverine version that makes me weak in the knees 😉

  11. Pingback: Crushing on Hugh Jackman, the Nicest Guy in Hollywood | Lena Corazon

I'd love to hear from you!

