Chocolate, the language of LOVE

With Valentine’s day fast approaching, our hearts and minds turn to one thing: chocolate.

Thought I’d say LOVE, didn’t you? Well, that too, but what is love without chocolate? (Don’t answer that, this post is about chocolate, work with me here).

‘Chocolate is like sex, even when it’s bad, it’s still pretty good’. ~ Quoted from my fabulous husband who heard it from somewhere else.

It’s true chocolate is darn sexy, but did you know dark chocolate is good for you?** Not if you eat a pound of it a day, but a 1 ounce piece of dark chocolate provides your body with vitamins A, D, & K. Not only that, but it is loaded with good minerals like magnesium, potassium, and iron. Ha! Popeye should’ve been eating dark chocolate instead of all that spinach. It would’ve saved valuable time not having to open all those cans.

Know what else dark chocolate would’ve done for him? Made his heart healthy. The flavanols in dark chocolate keeps our blood flowing to the heart, which prevents blood clots and strengthens blood vessels. AND dark chocolate has antioxidants, you know, those awesome little buggers that eat up cancer causing cells.

Awesome!

Know what else? Chocolate makes an amazing skin treatment. Our skin is very porous, so facial creams, moisturizers, and lotions made with natural cocoa butter melts easily on our skin. Not only that, but it holds in moisture and protects our skin from harsh elements. Going skiing this weekend? Slather on some cocoa butter, your skin will thank you for it!

To get you and your loved one in the mood for some chocolate love, try an at home spa. Start off by lighting some chocolate candles, then apply a chocolate mousse mask. Next, give each other a foot scrub with some chocolate sugar scrub. Follow this with a chocolate massage with either melted chocolate (allowed to cool down so it doesn’t burn your skin. Safety first!) or with chocolate massage oil.

I don’t know about you, but that picture makes me say, ‘ooooh, yeah’.

Done with the massage? You need to clean up a bit, why not use chocolate soap to give a good scrub down.

Finish off by applying cocoa butter all over your body. You’ll look and smell divine.

Once you’re relaxed from your chocolate spa, you and your special Valentine can have a chocolate tasting for two.

Not to worry! Tastings are easy and best when artisan chocolates are used. Some good brands are Scharffen Berger, Valrhona, Green & Black’s, Lindt, and even Hershey’s. Try to stay away from nuts and fillings since these can throw off the taste. My local grocers has most of these brands and Sur le Table has other upscale chocolates. Depending on your tastes and your budget, get as wild as you want. Remember, the day is about the two of you and celebrating your love. Of chocolate. (Okay, of each other, but this post is about chocolate, so I had to say that.)

Back to the tasting… we’re going to assume you choose a nice selection of chocolates from the three main categories: dark chocolate, white chocolate, and milk chocolate. Arrange them by categories (dark with dark, white with white, etc). Try to have at least two different kinds of each chocolate for comparisons.

Like wine, chocolate uses flavor descriptors such as, ‘bouquet’, ‘notes’, ‘undertones’, and ‘finish’ to describe the taste. If you don’t know what that means, I can’t help you. I don’t drink much wine and I’m horrible at tasting the subtle nuances like fruity or nutty, so if you’re like me, just enjoy the chocolate and don’t worry about the fussy flavor descriptor!

Speaking of wine, red wine is suggest for dark chocolate and champagne or dry white wines for milk chocolate. I guess white chocolate (which technically is not a chocolate, go figure) gets water.

To finish off your night of chocolate love, how about a decadent chocolate cake or some bon bons? A wonderful mug of hot chocolate on a chilly night sipped beside a fire might get you thinking about the chocolate massage oil again. That’s okay, go ahead and indulge. It’s Valentine’s Day after all!

Like a little mint with your chocolate? Jillian Dodd has the perfect thin mint martini and thin mint brownies!

Want some more great ideas for spicing up your Valentine’s Day? Check out Marcia Richard’s 14 Sexy Ways to Say I Love You.

Whatever you do, have a fabulous, love-filled Valentine’s Day. And not just February 14th, but every single day of your life!

What’s your favorite way to say, ‘I love you’? Do you think you’ll try any of these spa treatments? Come on, you can tell us! We love to know what’s going on in your lives, so please share with us your great tips for staying sexy and in love.

**Disclaimer – I am not a doctor, so please understand that everything in this blog is meant for entertainment purposes. While it is true that dark chocolate is good for you, if you eat too much it can cause damage. Consult your doctor if you have any questions. Thanks!

30 thoughts on “Chocolate, the language of LOVE

  1. You are speaking to my choco-lovin’ heart, Tameri. I’ve joked about creating a cookbook called Chocolate Salad, or Chocolate: The Other Brown Vegetable. Ok, so the titles need work, but cocoa *is* a bean! 😉

    My favorite ways to show love are usually creative, spontaneous and involve togetherness. If that’s totally vague, it’s because my spontaneousness hasn’t yet kicked in for the 14th. LOL Ideas brewing…

    • Oh you have to, August! Can you imagine how fun that would be? You’d have to sample everything for taste, of course and I’m sure that would be terrible, but the cookbook would be fabulous!

      Let us know how you creatively show your love this Valentine’s Day. Or not if it’s too spontaneous and crazy and involves few clothes, if any. 😉

  2. I LOVE chocolate. I could almost smell it while I read your post! The best truffles in the world are organic and from Whole Foods. Someone gave them to us at Christmas and I have one left……

    I just say, “I love you!”

    • Oooh, a scratch and sniff post, that would be fun. I’ll have to ask my son how to do that…

      Truffles from Whole Foods? I don’t have a WFs around me, darn it! Enjoy your last truffle for the rest of us, please.

  3. What have you DONE here?! You have just taken my favorite thing ever and made my brain explode with the awesomeness. Seriously, this is all amazing…. and may have to get used in a story somewhere. 😉

  4. Oh my gosh! A chocolate spa! How crazy is that?! Love it! I have plans to blog about chocolate next week! I will totally have to ping you! 😀 This is such a fun post. Too bad it will be after that special day. But Valentine’s, Shmalentines. People can celebrate together every day of the year as far as I’m concerned. Wonderful stuff Tameri. Now I’m back to your Sunday post I had open yesterday and never hit the post button on. Errr – sorry. So many fails yesterday.

    • Hey, I love to be pinged, thanks! You are absolutely correct. Chocolate is for every day, so any of these ideas would work just as well on March 2nd as they would February 14th. (Nothing against the other 363 days of the year, I just picked March 2nd at random.)

      I’m looking forward to your fab chocolate post!

  5. Hahaha! Smiling all the way through this post, Tameri! Thanks for mentioning my Valentine post. I love the chocolate spa idea and will definitely try it. My love of chocolate is almost as great as my love for my husband.
    My hubs loves to use chocolate sensually…we show love every day by all the little things we do for each other, but on Valentine’s Day he will be pampered, as I describe in post. Is there a chocolate spa day in your future?

    • Oh, I am definitely going to try some of these spa ideas. Chocolate candles? Yum. My hubs is all about the sensuality of chocolate too and I do plan on spoiling him next week. Thanks for the inspiration and fun post.

  6. I LOVE chocolate. LOVE. When I had my acid reflux incident in December and the Doc told me to stay away from chocolate, I told him that chocolate wasn’t the culprit. I was right. I kept eating it and still felt fine…

    How do I like to show my appreciation to my guy on Vday? Give him things that I don’t like – particularly cheese. He loves cheese and I can’t stand it. He knows that for me to go through the cheese shop and pick up nasty cheeses despite my natural urge to gag, he knows it’s love. LOL

    • What?!? You had a doctor tell you to stay away from chocolate? Did you tell him to stay away from practicing medicine? Okay, just kidding. Sort of. I hope your acid reflux is better, that’s no fun. My husband gets it super bad if he eats ice cream late in the day. Guess what is second favorite food (behind chocolate) is? Yep, ice cream. Poor dear.

      Wow, you are a fantastic gal to get your guy something that makes you gag! You are such a keeper. BTW, I love, love, love cheese, so if he’s ever in SoCal, I’m taking him to the cheese shop. You can stay home with my husband and play video games. 😉

  7. Ooooh Tameri, what a wonderfully, delicious post. I eat a small piece of dark chocolate every day. I was doing it for my heart but I also noticed I don’t crave anything sweet for the remainder of the day. Crazy huh? I don’t know if the chocolate spa would do the same thing for me or not, It might bring cravings of a different sort. I guess hubby wouldn’t mind. Chocolate scented soap sounds like a whole lot of fun so I think we might go that route. Thanks for the tips!

    • Fabulous, Kate! I knew you were all about the 1oz of happiness each day. Funny how you don’t crave sweets afterward. I’d say that’s a very good thing.

      Have fun with your chocolate love day! I think your hubs will like the chocolate soap, too.

    • I’m so sorry, Louise. I’ll write a post on working out, so you’ll lose those five pounds! Wouldn’t it be great if that’s how it worked? Well, maybe not since I’m sure I read more about food than fitness. Enjoy the massage!

  8. Pingback: Foodie Friday: THE Ultimate ALL Chocolate Valentine’s Day Edition « Recipes With QR Codes

  9. Pingback: Foods for a Beautiful Brain « August McLaughlin's Blog

  10. So glad August linked to this article! Happy to have found others who love chocolate as much as I do! I have developed a mild addiction to pumpkin muffins lately with no added sugar… except for the dark chocolate chips. Sounds like a breakfast of champions to me! After years of depriving myself of the treat, chocolate has become one of my very favorite food groups… so much so that I won’t touch anything less than 60% cocoa. I fear I’ve become a chocolate snob!

    • Hey Jana!

      Oooh, those muffins sound divine – two of my favorite things in one scrumptious muffin. Any chance you can pass along the recipe?

      I’ve become a chocolate snob as well. I turn up my nose to milk chocolate and look for the crazy combinations – dark chocolate with chilis or cranberries and nuts, mint, etc. Yum.

      Thanks for stopping by, it’s great to meet a fellow chocolate lover!

I'd love to hear from you!

