Fantasy Friday ~ A Wee Bit O’Luck and Legend

Quick! What comes to mind when you think of St. Patrick’s Day?

Did you think of green beer? Leprechauns? Shamrocks? Gold? Parades and pinches?

Me too!

On St. Patrick’s Day everyone gets to be Irish and celebrate a very special man who actually wasn’t born in Ireland. St. Patrick was born probably somewhere in the southwest of England. Wales, most likely. He either had a very Roman sounding name, or a very Celtic name, but after he was kidnapped by pirates at the age of 16 and sold into slavery, he returned to England and entered a monastery. It was there he took the Latin name of Patrick.

Later in life he returned to Ireland because he had visions and heard voices telling him he needed to go and serve the people there. It’s said he chased all the snakes out of Ireland, but here’s a little fun fact: Ireland never had any snakes! Now that’s a place I could call home. Snakes freak me out.

If there weren’t any snakes, then how did that little rumor get started? It’s most likely a metaphor for St. Patrick chasing paganism from the land. Back in the day Ireland was a wild land with Druids and pagans running rampant. Over time, many of the pagan beliefs were modified to have a Christian slant to them.

Like the Shamrock.

The Druids believed the Shamrock was a sacred symbol formed by its three leaves. Yeah, I know this little guy has four leaves, that’s because a four-leaf clover is thought to bring you good fortune.

The Druids believed the three leaves represented: Trust in your soul, Belief in your heart, and Faith in your mind.

The Christians thought the leaves of the Shamrock made a cross and represented the Holy Trinity. Shamrocks were worn by St. Patrick on the first feast day and have since become a national symbol for Ireland. Not too shabby for a tiny little clover.

If you’re in luck on St. Patrick’s Day, you might catch a Leprechaun. Of course, Leprechauns are grumpy and solitary beings that don’t like other Faeries all that much and humans even less. If you’re lucky enough to catch one, you can force him to tell you were he hides his gold, but they are tricksy little buggers, those Leprechauns! If you look away for even a moment, he’ll disappear and take all the treasure with him.

The best way to find a Leprechaun is to follow a rainbow or listen for the sound of the shoemaker’s hammer. Leprechauns are the official shoemakers for other Faeries, that’s why they are often seen wearing green aprons. Who knew!

Whether you go out to a parade and drink green beer, or stay in and have some corned beef with cabbage,

May the Leprechauns be near you

To spread luck along your way

And may all the Irish Angels

Smile upon you St. Patrick’s Day!

Beannachtai na feile Padraig

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!!

Do you celebrate St. Patrick’s Day with gifts of gold? Elena Aitken shares a sweet story of her children’s Leprechaun Traps and what happened the following year.

When you were a child, did your parents make St. Patrick’s Day special? Susie Lindau’s parents did! Now that she’s an adult, she’s got a haunting story and recipe for a drink you don’t want to skip this St. Patrick’s Day. One word: Baileys. YUM!

Before you get into your car on St. Paddy’s Day, make sure you plan ahead! Natalie Hartford has a quick 30 second video to remind you.

Got any good St. Patrick’s Day ghost stories or a super fabulous corned beef recipe you’d like to share? Go ahead! On March 17th, everyone is Irish.

31 thoughts on “Fantasy Friday ~ A Wee Bit O’Luck and Legend

  1. Gah – had a big comment written and WordPress went wonky on me. ANYhowz…

    We will be celebrating my mother-in-law’s birthday (born on St. Paddy’s day and they named her BARBARA – wtf?) at Lucille’s, so I doubt if I’ll be getting anything Irish, other than perhaps a beer. Did you know corned beef and cabbage was invented in NYC as an “Irish meal”? I read about it somewhere – seems a pub served it up with plenty of beer for the Irish laborers, mostly to keep them drinking. Who knew? Thanks for all the leprechaun info – I always guessed they were cranky souls. Have a great St. Pat’s Day!

  2. Thanks so much for the blog love and I had no idea that’s what the Shamrock ‘stands’ for. I like it even more now! Thanks for sharing.

    • I know! I’d heard of the Christian Trinity for Shamrocks, but not the Druid’s belief in it. History is so much fun. Glad you enjoyed the post! I’m tempted to ‘Leprechaun’ my son’s room tomorrow… πŸ˜‰

  3. I remember making green eggs and toast with my sibs. And I’ve always felt supremely blessed when I’ve found a 4-leaf cloverβ€”or even 3 with the slightest hint of another… πŸ˜‰

    Fun holiday, though I’m not Irish. All of these fab posts make me wish I was! Have a happy, lucky weekend, Tameri!

    • Green eggs? That would be fun to make with your sibs. I’ve never found a 4-leaf clover, so you are lucky indeed!

      We’re all Irish on St. Paddy’s Day, so get out there an enjoy yourself!

  4. Wonderful post Tameri. I had no idea. Wow.
    And thanks soooo much for the linky love – awwwww – you are the best!
    St. Patty’s day has never been a huge celebratory day for me or my fam. I know a lot of people get right into it but we normally don’t. However, this year this is the Sat night I will celeb my Bday with a night on the town dancing so I might just start a new tradition of drinking green beer and partying the night away. LOL!
    Have a FAB weekend darlin’!!!

    • I love researching random things because you find little gems all the time. I hope you had way too much fun last night celebrating your big day (tomorrow!!). Green beer is fun, but not so much the next morning. πŸ™‚

  5. We didn’t do anything special to celebrate St. Patrick’s Day when I was a kid, so I’ve really enjoyed reading everyone’s stories this week. I do, however, have a four leaf clover. I found it was a kid and my mom helped my dry and press it πŸ™‚

    • I know, me too Marcy. I love reading how clever folks get with their ‘leprechauning’. You should have your clover encased in something so you can wear it as a necklace, that would be cool!

  6. St. Patrick’s day was always a holiday in my house and extra lucky for me since I met my husband on St Paddy’s day (22 yrs ago!!).
    Happy St. Patrick’s day Tameri πŸ™‚

  7. I love it when you give us a history lesson and wish our history textbooks had the same flow to them! St. Patrick’s Day has always been a much bigger celebration in the States than it is in Canada. Here’s something I didn’t confess in my ten random facts though: my maiden name was Murphy … yup, Pat Murphy, so St. Patrick’s Day was definitely acknowledged at my house!

    • Aw, thanks so much Patricia. Wow, that is a very St. Paddy’s Day kind of name! I wonder why it’s celebrated more here than there… hmmm I might have to research that some more. πŸ˜‰

  8. Pingback: St. Patrick and the truth about the shamrock « noxforchristmas

  9. Pingback: Doodle 77 | Shamrock « DoodlePack

  10. Pingback: Happy St. Patricks Day! | Marisa Quijano-Scrapbooking | Design | Art | Pretty things | Life | DIY | Love | Inspiration

  11. Pingback: What Were Those Leprechauns Thinking? « Carl Anthony Online: Presidential Pop Culture, Mythic Americana, Holidays, Legends, Politics, Pie & Dogs

  12. Pingback: If You’re Irish … « Inside Out Cafe

  13. Tameri – love all this history on St. Patrick’s traditions. I did NOT know that leprechauns were the official shoemakers for fairies. That’s a little bit of trivia I plan to spring on my family at lunch. Thanks! πŸ™‚

    Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

  14. Hey Tameri. Hope you had a great Paddy’s Day yesterday! Here in Cork. Ireland the rain held off until 60 seconds after the parade ended. I think God was looking out for us, what timing! πŸ™‚

  15. Great post, Tameri. I did one for St. Patrick’s Day as well. I wish I would have read this before Saturday. BTW, we are in Oceanside right now (Sun). Scouting around Monday.

    Hope you had a great St. Patrick’s Day.

    • Aw, thanks MJ! St. Paddy’s Day is so much fun and I learned a lot from my research (way more than I put into this post).

      Good luck with your scouting! If you want to grab a cup of tea, let me know. I’d love to meet you in person. By the way, my friend is moving out of their 2400 sq ft. home $2850/mo. I don’t know if that’s in your ball park or not, but it’s super close to me (that totally should be the sell right there) πŸ˜‰

I'd love to hear from you!

