The Gift of Friendship and a Kickass Drink

 

As you all know by now, this week marks my seventeenth anniversary of my thirtieth birthday. To celebrate, I’m inviting all my friends to hang out and enjoy the party!

I love getting gifts. It’s true, I really do, but there’s something I love more than getting them and that’s giving them. This party, while on the surface is meant to celebrate my *cough* many years of life, is also my way of giving back. Get to know some of these great people who have touched my life in more ways than I can count. If you’ve never been to their blog, check them out and you won’t be disappointed.

Enough of the mush, it’s time to party!

First up, I want to introduce you to a new friend I made on Twitter ~ his name is Brian B. Baker and he’s super cool. He’ll be manning the bar for us this week and guess what? I asked him yesterday if he could make a drink just for my birthday celebration and he said yes! Just like that, this super fab guy came up with the White Chocolate Truffle. Ooooh, yum! Doesn’t that look delish? Here’s how you make it:

White Chocolate Truffle

  • 1 Oz. Jack Daniels (I’m liking this already)
  • 1 Oz. Frangelico
  • 2 Oz. White Creme de Cacao
  • 3 Oz. Cream

Shake and strain into a martini glass that’s been laced with chocolate syrup. Super easy, super yum! Thanks Brian for getting us all in the mood to party. Follow Brian on Twitter ~ @BB_Baker and then go check out his blog.

Come on in! Grab a drink, mingle, get some nibbles. We’ve got some of my favorite Sprinkles Cupcakes. Since they’re virtual, no calories! August McLaughlin and Kate MacNicol will like that.

Barbara McDowell is spinning the tunes, that is, when she’s not out on the dance floor!

I see Jenny Hansen and Natalie Hartford are having a debate about the best Mundies. I’m partial to the elephant ones, myself. How about you?

HOLD the phone! We have a party crasher in our midst! Looks like Natalie’s Hubby came to the party and he dressed for the occasion. Let’s just say we’ll all be calling him, Mr. Sparkles by the end of the night. πŸ˜‰

Myndi Shafer is here and since she’s about twenty months pregnant, she’ll be the key keeper. Hand ’em over folks. We’ll not have any drunken posting during our party!

I need to thank Jillian Dodd, Jennifer Tanner, and Marcia Richards for the amazing decorations. These ladies know how to throw together a party. Mwuah!

Oooh, look there’s Susie Lindau and Coleen Patrick. They’re talking with Elena Aitken about, of all things, Leprechauns and extreme sports. These women are wild and tons of fun!

We’ve got a special treat for you.Β Piper Bayard has agreed to do a little belly dancing for us. That is, if her partner Holmes will allow it. He’s super secret, that Holmes. Has anyone actually seen him? Yeah, me either. I betΒ Donna Newton has. Let’s ask her!

Over by the bar, I see Carrie Spencer, the crazy cat lady, chatting with Amy Shojai. What deviousness are they’re up to? Probably something having to do with animals taking over the world.

Oooh, looks like Amber West and Tiffany A. White are having a Β throw down over the best TV Drama. Hey ladies, it’s Castle. Problem solved. πŸ™‚

Debra Kristi is hanging out with Rebekah Loper, Angela Wallace, Marcy Kennedy, and Lissa Clouser. I wonder what they’re talking about. Probably immortals and fantastical elements. We’ll head over there in a minute. Oh, cool! Kate Wood is joining them. She can add her vast knowledge of the Celts to the discussion.

I hear laughter and that can mean only one thing ~ Gayle Carline is in the house!

This party is hopping, but there are still a few folks who haven’t arrived yet. Oh, wait! I see Patricia Sands came with Ali Dent and Angela Orlowski-Peart. Those ladies are always dressed impeccably and are full of grace in all they do. I hope Patricia brought some of the brie she got on her trip to France. Yum, bread and cheese. Really, besides cupcakes, what more do we need?

Apparently a lot more. Bridgette Booth and Diana Murdock are loading the tables with tons of food. Kalochies, anyone? Thanks ladies! Hey, make sure you ask Diana about the awesome tattoo she got. If only I was that cool when I was younger…She’s totally my favorite badass chick.

What’s with all the guys hanging out in the corner? I see you, Gene Lempp, MJ Monaghan, David Walker, and Fabio Bueno! Get out there and chat with the ladies. They don’t bite. I think.

Nancy J. Nicholson just sailed in on her way back from the Caribbean and look, she stopped by Australia to pick up Naomi Bulger. It’s an international crowd here, today!

I just overheard Leanne Shirtliffe telling Steena Holmes and Ginger Calem the naughtiest joke. I think I’m blushing! I’ll tell you later, when all the guests have gone home and there aren’t any little ones around…

Uh, oh. Looks like Callene Rapp roped Marion Spicher into watching Full Metal Jousting with her. I wonder who Marion wants to win? My money’s on Rope. Yes, that really is his name. Looks like Louise Behiel is getting on the action. Who knew she was a jousting fan!

Out on the dance floor, Virginia Ripple is busting a move to Barbara’s awesome tunes. I see Sara from Stories and Sweet Potatoes has joined her. Those ladies can rock! Wait, is that, yes, I think it is!Β Nicole Basaraba and Ingrid SchaffenburgΒ managed to get Emma Meade out there, too!

Kristy K. James and Traci Bell prefer to hang out on the comfy couch enjoying their drinks, but did you see those score cards? They’re rating the dancers. Awesome idea, ladies! I think they only have the number 10, because that’s what everyone’s gotten so far.

Lena CorazonΒ showed up with her favorite Hugh Jackman movie. I mean, movies. HJ Marathon!!

What an amazing party! I hope you got a chance to make some new friends today. Check out their blogs, follow them on Twitter, friend them on Facebook, whatever it takes to keep this party going.

Much love, my friends.

tameri…

76 thoughts on “The Gift of Friendship and a Kickass Drink

  1. Look there is Natalie’s Hubby – looking through the window with binoculars all the way from Hubby’s Corner because his invitation OBVIOUSLY fell behind the desk! 😦

  2. Hey, Happy Birthday this week, Tameri – March is an awesome month! I hope you’ll pardon moi as I head right over to try out one of those awesome kickass drinks; they look fabulous! I’ve brought along a poem to do a birthday reading for you later … you throw awesome parties! πŸ˜€

    • Thanks Julie! March totally rocks for birthdays ~ we can throw yours up here as well. I say we celebrate everyone’s birthday who was born in March. There are quite a few here today. Told you, March rocks!

      A poem for me? I’ll get the tissues… your poems are amazingly beautiful. Thank you.

  3. Happy Birthday! (#2 :D)

    haha, this is awesome! When I’m not at work on a time-limit (lunches should be endless and eternal *wisenod*), I will definitely be checking everyone out :D.

    Shhh, not like THAT, Tameri :P. I haven’t had that much to drink . . . only . . . three? Three’s my limit.

    πŸ˜‰

  4. LOLOLOL Tameri! But we can add! Just three more years and you’re…Whoops, forgive me! πŸ™‚ Ah, you’re still a baby!!!!! I remember when. Love that drink! Yum, yum, yum! Good thing it’s cyber low calorie! And don’t worry Myndi, I’m standing here with a mop! Have fun!

    And since I now am able to leave comments under the wire with WordPress. Don’t tell them Tameri. It’s a secret code. I will be back more often. Sorry, but I was locked out. I feel like I’m a burglar right now. See ya soon! Party, party, party!

    • I know! I’m kind of looking forward to 50. It sounds so mature, doesn’t it? That gives me three years to work on the maturity thing or, that gives me three years to be completely insane.

      I can’t believe WP locked you out! That happened to Kate MacNicol before. Computers are just so weird. They really are.

      I’m glad you made it to the party!!

    • Here’s another drink for you! They’re delicious and go down so smooth I can hardly taste the alcohol and you know what happens to me after a few drinks. Put your cameras away, people. That’s all I’m saying!

  5. Happy HAPPY Birthday week!!

    OMG what a FABULOUS party! I am so happy I was invited and we are kickin’ it OLD school. Hubby is tearing up the dance floor sparkling away…luv it!! Everyone is having a blast and celebrating the beautiful and uberlicious amazing TAMERI!! Squeeeee….

    Love it darlin’….

    I am raising my glass to YOU sweet Tameri. You are a treasure and I know we have years of friendship and laughs ahead of us. May your birthday be everything you dreamed of and more and may this year ahead be your best year yet!

    Love ya tons…HUGS!!!

    • Hubby looks amazing with all those jewels ~ kind of like a human disco ball!

      Aww, you’re making me all misty eyed and tearing up. Love you tons, too. Thanks for making this one of the best years of my life. I’m excited to see what’s in store for this next one!!

    • You have to try the drink. It’s really, really good. You like that? It’s math, so I won’t even try to figure it out. Math and I broke up after high school and we have a strict agreement that we don’t talk. Ever. πŸ˜‰

      Thanks for coming by and making the party awesome!

    • What? On you? Sweet! I’m super excited to see you, too. My sister had to cancel, so I’ll be up there around 10am to get pics for my Disney posts. Can’t wait!!

      Thank you, thank you, thank you for coming to the party and all of your support. You truly make this world a super fabulous place!

  6. I’m taking my first break from dancing to grab a drink!
    Happy Birthday Tameri – if youy cut yourself on decor or wrapping paper – seek me out – I’m wearing my boo-boo bling!!!

    • I see you there, Mr. Sparkles. You look fahhhhbulous darling! This party wouldn’t be what it is without you here, I’m so glad you made it. Have another drink and let’s get back on the dance floor. I’m ready to break out my Hammer moves!

  7. Pingback: Monday Four Mix-Up | Chasing Moonlight

  8. Happy, happy birthday girlfriend. You temptress!!!! that drink just looks too delicious…. and those truffles are to die for. Perhaps August and I can share one of each and dance the extra calories off with Natalie’s hubby the dancin’ machine, he likes to be of service. LOL

    This is the most hilarious, creative post ever Tameri. You truly rock. I am so happy and blessed to be your friend. Hope your having a terrific day. Love ya.

    • Thank you, Kate! I like the way you think ~ we’ll dance off the calories.

      Oh, my gosh I’m laughing so hard at your comment about Natalie’s Hubby! That’s so funny and so true. I’m having an amazing day and I feel like I’m the one blessed to have so many caring and fabulous friends. Mwuah!!

      Hey! You’re on vacation and you still found time to pop in, thank you!!

  9. Tameri *hiccup* – this is a rockin’ party! You clever young thing! BB’s martini is way tooo good and four of them just seemed to slide right down, no problemsh! Gotta get back to the dance floor – I may be a Nana but I can still boogie with the best of them. Let’s do this every year!
    Wishing you all you wish for in the year ahead and thanking you for a friendship I treasure!

    • Four! That’s the way to do it, Patricia. So glad you like martini and are having a great time. We’ve got loads of space for you to crash if you need to, but it looks like you’ll be dancing into the wee hours! The Adorables would be so proud of you!!

      Love you too, my friend.

  10. I love this! Thanks for including us in your fabulous bash. I hope you do get SOME calories, as you’ll need lots of party-hardy energy. Especially once the Mundies appear… Okay, that sounded wrong. I think. I MEANT we’ll be laughing like crazy. πŸ˜‰ Happiest birthday to you!!!

    • Oh, we will be laughing and dancing and having a great time. You’re absolutely right, we need fuel to keep us going through the week. Thanks for helping celebrate with us. I am so grateful to have fabulous women like you in my life.

  11. Okay, I know I’ve been quiet, but I just can’t stop having BB pour me another and another and other ….ooo, I love Frangelico and JD! After 5 cocktails, I have the nerve to get on the dance floor with all those amazing women…I’m really great at doing the Bump. Does anyone remember that dance? What a rockin’ party and all my favorite people are here. Be right back, gotta tell Nat’s hubby a secret…that’s done back to the…hmm, dance floor or bar?…dance floor or bar? Bar! I’ll watch the dancing. Wow! Tameri you sure do know how to throw a party! Since your birthday is a few days away, can we keep this going all week?
    Big birthday hugs to you, sweet girl! Thanks for inviting me…I love a great party with rockin music, awesome food and drinks and the best friends ever!! Uh,oh…Mindi’s baby’s coming…I just slid across the dance floor puddle! Eeeee!

    • Tisk! Tisk! Tisk!
      Marcia has some dirty lil’ secrets!

      Wow! Is it getting cold in here or is it just me!
      I may have to switch to the elephant so I can wrap up in the ears to keep warm!

    • Yum. Five? I think you hold the record, but Patricia is catching up quick! Aren’t these drinks awesome? Brian is the coolest.

      I remember the Bump and I can dance a mean Bump. It’s all about the timing… I also do a wicked Locomotion. πŸ˜‰

      You are so hilarious. Dance floor or bar, dance floor or bar? This party is going all week, so don’t worry about making any crucial decisions just yet.

      I don’t think that puddle was from Myndi… I think Natalie’s Hubby sprang a leak. πŸ˜‰ (what did you tell him, by the way? So curious to know!)

      Thanks for coming. Love you darling and wouldn’t want to spend my birthday without you.

    • No, you’re here! You snuck in late, but you’re over there by the bar hanging out with the other guys. Last I heard you were talking about Scarlett Johanssen and begged me to make her my next Crush of the Month. Just for you… next month will be ScarJo. πŸ˜‰

      Enjoy the party and get out there on the dance floor! I’ll be you’ve got some mad dance moves.

    • It’s a great party with all my favorite people. I’m so glad you could come and bring your special spark to the celebrations! (get it, spark ’cause your logline is sparks in the fire… okay, it was hilarious in my head) πŸ˜‰

      One of the best things about blogging? Meeting fabulous peeps like you. Thanks for helping celebrate!

  12. Woot woot!! Happy birthday week! I’m thrilled to be invited to the party. Rebekah, Debra, Angela, Lissa, Kate, and I will round up a few Brownies (not the kind you eat) to clean up the mess for you after everyone goes home πŸ™‚

      • Oh, thank goodness! I was wondering what to do about the after party mess, but those Brownies will be a big help. Rebekah, you can totally have them when they’re done here. Brownies are notoriously tricksy so you have to keep an eye on them. Still, they are fun to have around. Maybe we’ll let them celebrate a little before the work begins.

        Thanks for bringing them, Marcy and for helping to celebrate with us! It’s so much fun to have all my favorite people together in one big party. Now, if we could figure out how to do this offline as well… πŸ™‚

  13. Pingback: Tall Tale Tuesday: Open Wide « Ellie Ann

  14. OOOH uuughhh! OMG! My HEAD!!!!
    I just woke up in the fetal position in Tameri’s oven. I’m snuggling a chicken whose missing many feathers, I have bedazzled eyebrows, pierced nipples and OMG who’s the wise girl that hot glued the broken glass on my *cough*???? My 4 foot hero!!! Someone tied it into a million knots. And WHY do I have a full chest tatoo that says MARCIA ROCKS! And another on my a$$ that says #pantypeeps – it’s a hash tag people not an A$$-tag!!!

    Best Birthday EVER!!

    • You were wild last night. That glitter and broken glass might take a few days to come off. Sorry about that. It was all Natalie’s fault, she kept showing us those videos!

      I’d tell you why you have that tattoo, but then I’d have to kill you. The asstag, that my darling was ALL your idea!

  15. What, what, what? PUMP IT UP!! To the left, to the left, to the right, to the right, to the front, to the front, to the back, to the back. Now dip, baby, dip. Dip, baby, dip. Whee! Shake your money maker.

    Ohh…got a little carried away with ramping up the crowd. Now you know I love a party and we won’t stop dancing for your birthday until the break of dawn. πŸ™‚ Love ya, West Coast sista! We are only separated by a few years, different parents (minor technicality) and some states.

    I see Marcia requested some tunes to do the Bump. Oh yeah, I am whipping out “Shake Your Grove Thing” and “Disco Inferno.” Maybe a little “Groove Line” too. Remember that one from Heatwave? That’s right, we’ve got tunes for every mood. If you don’t know, now you know. *heads to get 15th refill at the bar*

    • Yes! Awesome tunes, Barbara. You really know how to work that turntable. We need to bring in some lasers to go with the beats. Oh yeah, shake it, move it, just a step to the left and a hop to the right!

  16. This party was faboo! I’m so exhausted, it took me forever to comment coherently.

    You had me at the first sentence, by the way. That is how I’m describing every birthday henceforth. Except next January, when I turn “the meaning of life.”

    • What’s ‘the meaning of life’? You can’t possibly be more than 29, so don’t even start. πŸ˜‰

      Thanks for coming to the party ~ it’s been so great getting to know you in the blogosphere. Someday, we need to meet in person!

  17. Pingback: I’m super lucky and so are YOU! | Tameri Etherton

  18. Awesome party, Tameri – my apologies for taking so long to wander out of the corner, Fabio totally stapled my tennies to the floor – but its all good now πŸ™‚

    That drink is incredible – makes me salivate just thinking about it – definitely a weekend taste tester!

    • Hey Gene! Glad you liked the party. I’m so sorry about your tennies, though. That Fabio, he’s such a prankster.

      That drink is really good. I had a few too many. πŸ™‚ Thanks for stopping by!

  19. Pingback: Blog Treasures 3~31 | Gene Lempp's Blog

  20. Pingback: Buy me a cup of water for my birthday? | Tameri Etherton

I'd love to hear from you!

