Slacker Monday with Gotye

Happy Monday! Ouch. That was kind of loud and after all the parties last week, I’m a little fragile.

I was going to have a kickass post on the Hunger Games today but then I decided to clean the whole house AND the garage yesterday. You’ll get today’s post on Wednesday which means I’m bumping Wednesdays Whimsy post to today. Make sense? Good!

Right now I’m loving this song by Gotye ~ Somebody That I Used To Know. The video is wonderfully artistic and the song draws me in from the very first beat.

Favorite line from the song: ‘You can get addicted to a certain kind of sadness’. So true! Have you ever been broken hearted but rebuffed any efforts to pull you out of your self imposed pain? Ever have a painful break up and years later you still think of that person and wonder ‘what if’? I used to. Now that I’ve been married for a long time I wonder more of ‘what was I thinking’?!!

Here’s that promised video. So tell me, what do you think of Gotye. Do you like the guy’s version or the girl’s better?

36 thoughts on “Slacker Monday with Gotye

  1. This is one of the most catchy songs I’ve heard recently–close second to We are young by Fun which has been in my head all week. 🙂
    Happy Monday Tameri!

    • I just heard that song yesterday and I loved it. Definitely need to download it to my iPod. At least these are good songs to get stuck in your head. Unlike, say, Whip it! by Devo. 😉

      Happy Monday to you, Coleen!

    • Patricia, that’s a fun video. I think I might like their version better than the original peeps. My friend sent me a link to Walk Off the Earth’s cover of an Adele song and I didn’t care for it, but I really like this one. Thanks for sharing!

    • The first time I heard the song on the radio I liked it, but could never remember the name of either the song or the band. Gotye isn’t all that hard to remember but isn’t exactly easy either. 😉 Then my husband sent me the video and now I must watch it once a day. I don’t know why, but it just grabbed me from the start. Hope it grows on you! Not literally, just that you like it more with time.

  2. Goyte must be in the air! Another friend blogged about them today as well! Love them and the cover song where they are all playing on the same guitar is my favorite.

  3. I heard this a couple of months ago for the first time & haven’t stopped playing it since. It’s an epic song.
    Did you check out the cover version with 5 people playing one guitar? It’s brilliant.

    • Hey Emma, yeah that’s the link Patricia has up in the first few comments. I think I like this version better. The guy who does the higher pitched stuff sounds just like the original. They are some very talented kids. (I’m totally old, can you tell? I call them kids). 😉

  4. I’m slacking too. For another hour before I go meet my trainer who will force me to do push ups and other ungodly things to my body. (Geez, I’m paying her to do this to me.) The flipside of this torture is that exercise makes me want to write. Weird, but it works for me. Enjoy your slack day. Everyone needs a day to veg. Hope you have a productive rest of the week!

    • That’s so funny Jennifer! I think that every time I go see Nicole, my trainer. I now look forward to it and even bought her weight machine thingy. She’s moving and doesn’t have room for it so now I’ve convinced my husband we need to work out at home a few days together. What was I thinking? The upside for me too is that it makes me more focused when I write. Win-Win!

    • You’re welcome Amber! Yeah, he does sound a bit like Peter Gabriel. I’ve got a certain song I’m thinking of, but can only remember the title to ‘When his circle and hers met’ which doesn’t sound like this at all. Ugh. Now I’m going to have to listen to PG to remember the song.

      Glad you liked it! I actually got two chapters revised today so it wasn’t a total slacker day, but it felt good to relax. Last week was super busy!

      Have a great week, my friend.

  5. Interesting video. I like the words. The voices sound Autotuned to me (my snooty-patootie music son is rubbing off on me), and the music makes me think of the “Fish Heads” song, which is only bad if you don’t like “Fish Heads, Fish Heads, Roly Poly Fish Heads” and I do. That being said, I couldn’t stop focusing on the guy’s teeth. They’re really big for his head. Like, I was amazed they fit into his mouth.

    Have fun vegging – you totally deserve it. I need to veg, but I came home from the convention with this urgent desire to work. Most likely I’ll toss everything I do today, but at least I’ll have tried.

    • Only you. Only you would think of Fish Heads! I remember hearing that on the radio when I was younger and thinking Dr. Demento was totally demented. Which was the whole point, but still. And he used to say, ‘Rrrrrrrrrrrubber Biscuit!’ or this one was my favorite, ‘What do you call a wish sandwich? That’s where you have two pieces of bread and WISH you had some meat!’. Oy.

      Glad you made it home safe and sound. Veg days are fun. We can always kick ass tomorrow.

  6. “Have you ever been broken hearted but rebuffed any efforts to pull you out of your self imposed pain?”

    Good question, Tameri. I don’t like to roll around in self-imposed pain. MLB has trouble pulling out of those funks. Sometimes even refusing to! Big difference between most men and women in this regard. IMHO. 🙂

  7. I love that song! Heard it for the first time a few weeks ago. Been there with the emotional and not wanting it stop for some sick reason. I’m with you, “What was I thinking?”

    • Yep. What was I thinking moments are awesome. The first time I realized what a jerk my ex boyfriend was and I stopped pining over him was a day of victory for me. Funny what we convince ourselves is important sometimes! Glad you like the song. Did you check out Patricia’s link? They’re pretty good.

    • I know, I forget about checking out the videos. Which is strange since I’m a child of the MTV era when they actually played music videos and I love, love, loved them! What did you think of the video? Did you also check out Walk Off The Earth’s cover?

  8. I never knew what he was saying in that song! Good to know 😉 Oh yes. Sadness can be like comfort food. It soothes temporarily and when you don’t know what else to do, you just revert to sadness.Totally been there.

    • I always love it when I learn the lyrics to a song I’ve been singing wrong forever. I’m pretty sure I had a few lines wrong in this one, but now I know what they are. I think. 😉

  9. First off…YAY for being so damn organized and cleaning!! Come to my house!
    Second..I LOVE this song! I’ve been really enjoying it lately. 🙂

I'd love to hear from you!

