It’s all in your mind… Choose Happy

Is it all just in our minds? This solitary confinement we make for ourselves when we decide to be sad or upset about nothing terribly awful. The sun is shining yet I feel no warmth. The days trod past one into the next with little enthusiasm. Today is Friday and yet there aren’t any fireworks announcing the start of the weekend. Or are there and I just can’t see them?

This week has been unusual for me. I’m out of sorts. Usually I can find the good in everything, but this week has been a struggle for me to care enough to look.

We’ve all had these kinds of days and it’s usually our friends who help pull us away from the abyss. Last week my blogging friend Elena Aitken did a cute post on Choosing Happy where she looked for things in her life that could uplift her spirit. Simple things like a new pair of cute rain boots.

That’s what it’s all about, isn’t it? Choosing to be happy or not.

Today, I choose happy.

Whatever crankiness my mind is going through, I can get past it. Whatever hormonal roller coaster ride my body is deciding to take me on, I can strap in and enjoy the ride. Hot flashes? Just a quick vacay in Punta Cana with my friend Natalie Hartford!

In honor or my friend Elena who inspired me to choose happy, here are a few things that make me smile.

Photo Attribution: coloroftime istockphoto.com

Make up. Girly make up especially like glitter eyeliner and eyeshadow. I just wish I was brave enough to actually rock this look!

 

Fantasy pictures. Especially of dragons and faeries.

 

Books. I think one of the reasons I’ve been cranky is I’ve been so cooped up with my own WIP that I haven’t had time to travel to other worlds through books.

And finally, something that makes my heart smile…

My family. This was my gratitude picture on facebook yesterday because I’ve been meaning to put these stickers on my car for a long time and I finally did it! Just seeing our happy little faces represented in these goofy Disney cartoons makes me giggle.

And of course my pups bring me happiness every single day. They are always there with a kiss or a cuddle and they don’t care if my hair is going grey or my hands have more wrinkles than a Shar Pei puppy.

That’s the thing about dogs. They love you no matter what. We need to love ourselves like our dogs love us. Wouldn’t that be something?

So tell me, what do you do to get out of a funk? How do you choose happy?

47 thoughts on “It’s all in your mind… Choose Happy

  1. When I am really in a funk caused by something sad or stressful in my life, I write. If it is just random, I clean or get outside! I hope your funk turns to fun and funky soon!

    • I think that’s part of my problem, Susie ~ I usually write as well, but I’m so sick of this MS right now I can’t write! I think getting outside and hiking might be just the ticket I need. Thanks for the inspiration!

  2. Be honest – in your stick-Disney family, YOU’RE the little girl with the tiara and the wand, right?

    If possible I try to identify my funk, in that New Testament demon-labeling, “name it and claim it” way. Once I know what’s bugging me, I either know I can figure out a solution or know it’s out of my control so why worry about it. Then I go and do things. Some things are work but they make me feel useful, like cleaning out a kitchen drawer. Some things are fun and make me feel lighter, like talking to my mare. And some things just occupy me so I don’t think at all, like wandering around Disneyland.

    But I may not be the best answer in the house. My glass is always half-full.

      • I totally am! That’s pretty much what I had on there before, but it was just me as my princessy self. My glass is almost always half-full, that’s why these funks really get to me. I do that same thing – if I can name it I can beat it, but it’s when everything is blah, that’s hard.

        I think that’s so sweet you talk to Frosty. I bet she’s the best listener. Snoopy would probably tell your secrets to the other horses, but not Frosty. She’s got your back. πŸ™‚

  3. I clean my house, cook a meal, and take a nap on the porch swing as I listen to the leaves rustling in the breeze. And I think about the fact that my family loves me and believes in me. . . . Or I go out shooting with Holmes.

    • Cooking a meal. That’s a good one. I absolutely love to cook a really nice meal for my family and put out the ‘good’ plates. I’ll have to do that. Thanks for the idea. Shooting with Holmes? That sounds exciting and terrifying all at the same time!

  4. Awwww…a vacay with you and your man in Punta Cana sounds like PERFECTION!!!
    Love the glitter too – so wish I could rock it out! And the family and puppies – always a sure thing with me to! Luv it and luv the pics!
    What else works for me; movies with hubby, curling up and napping (with hubby), or just lounging on the deck with a beer and a good book.
    Take care of you honey and let the funk mood wash away. We are all sending you HUGE hugs and oodles of luv and adoration!! Mwuah!! xoxoxox

    • It’s already heading south, I think just putting it out there made it less of a ‘thing’. Know what I mean? Once you say it out loud is suddenly doesn’t have the power it once did. I love the beer on the deck idea.

      I’m telling you, after seeing your vacay pics ~ Punta Cana 2013!!

  5. Pingback: It’s all in your mind… Choose Happy by Tameri Etherton–A Cup of Tea and Sorcery « jodiebethinhercrystalroom

  6. Pingback: It’s all in your mind… Choose Happy by Tameri Etherton–A Cup of Tea and Sorcery « jodiebethinhercrystalroom

  7. Funk begone! Tameri, it looks to me like your pal Gayle is your go-to girl for getting rid of the funks. Call her. I know I’m far away but I’m sending a big breeze your way to blow all the lingering draggy thingys out of your world right now. I’m listening to Adele singing Rolling In The Deep (while I write) – put it on and dance around the house … right now. (I love the pic of your dogs – sooo sweet!)

  8. Hey Tameri – maybe hearing from your favorite other “Hubby” would cheer you up!
    I’d just like to say the your gratitude pics inspire me everyday! They brighten my day and inspire me to think of ways to be grateful of the things in my life – so I’m hoping hearing about how you inspire happiness brings you out of your funk??? If not here is a little diddy in the interuptive structure of Natalie’s Blog:

    On our way to work this morning the local radio station had a question on about what smells are your favorite smells – you know those I just walked into a bakery and the smell of fresh bread? Or your favorite cologne…so the folllow conversation ensued:
    Hubby: so Nat – I’ve been with you over 8 years and I don’t think I know YOUR favorite smell – so lay it on me sista!
    Natalie: Your Balls!
    Hubby: (obviously speechless and mouth hanging open) – ok nuff said!

    • Oh. Hell. No.

      I can’t believe you went there! Yep, that got me out of my funk for sure! You are so frikkin hilarious, Hubby! Thanks for the laugh and for the super sweet words. I’m so glad you like my gratitude pics and they make you think of little things to be grateful for. Although, with a wife whose favorite smell is your balls, I don’t know why you need to find anything else to be grateful for! Love you both so, so much.

  9. I feel for you Tameri! I hate when that happens, but all the things you listed above brighten me too. Family, pretty scenery and glitter. What is it about glitter? I really wish we lived closer so we could have a random craft day!
    Hope you have a de-funk-ifying weekend!!

  10. Tameri, if I lived close, I’d bake you something ah, er healthy… and we’d put our jammies on, put on some music ( we could invite Barbara and have her teach us some dance moves) and have a sleepover. You can make drinks, you have some fabu ones, I’ve seen the recipes, and I’ll let you wear the tiara. I might require some glitter though, hope you don’t mind sharing. Pink please. We can talk about our favorite books well into the night and plot our own great tales. I don’t want to have to get my markers out and draw a frownie face and mustache on your picture. Rest and take care of yourself. Do something fun ok? Love you!

    Oh and for me and my funks? I write. Sometimes I write to myself. Yeah. Quit giggling! πŸ™‚

    • A sleepover! Man, that sounds like so much fun. I have tiaras and glitter for everyone. Trust me, we could have four dozen of our closest friends come over and we’d all have glitter and tiaras! No frownie faces, please. You totally crack me up. Thanks for the giggles (not that you write to yourself because I do that too). Love ya, Lady!

      • When I read this I was thinking that if all us WANA’s get together someday we’ll need those tiaras and glitter. Kerry has to wear one too if only for the brief time it takes to get a group photo. Hope today is a great day for you, hug your kids, that sweet hubby and those adorable puppies.

      • Today is absolutely great!

        I bet Kerry would be all over the tiaras and glitter. Every guy I’ve ever met secretly likes the girly stuff. πŸ˜‰ They just won’t ever admit to it.

        I hope we WANAs can get together soon. I love my WANA family!

  11. Ugh. You feeling fugly? 😦 No good. I tend to curl up on the sofa with my tea and TV or a book. I’m not good at much when I’m in a funk. I hope it evaporates soon. I don’t like to think of you with a frown on your pretty face.

    • Ah, thanks sweetness. Today got much better. A hard workout this morning and then final polishes on the WIP. Now it’s finally ready for the editor (only a few weeks late). Next week will be much, much better! Thanks for being awesome.

  12. from what you’re saying it sounds like it’s time to put the ms aside and read. I don’t do well unless I take some time every day to read a bit. I always have a novel on the go. and if i’m funky, i crawl into it and chill. It’s one of the reasons I love going to conferences with writers. When I say “I’m going up to read” they get it. They don’t get insulted or upset. I read. They read. it’s like breathing. i know you’ll find what works and remember what works today may not work next week.
    hugs and hugs and hugs.

    • I’m actually done tinkering with the MS and now I’m going to read all weekend! I’ve got my book club book to finish then I get to read many of my friend’s books, which I’ve been looking forward to so much! That’s so true about conferences. Writer’s totally get other writers. Thanks for all the great hugs!

  13. The mind is so powerful, right? Depending on the type of low mood I’m experiencing, or hoping to avoid, I might exercise, get some fresh air, talk things out with a pal or do what I did earlier this weekβ€”take a full on mental health day. (That was more preventative maintenance, I think.) Writing helps, across the board, though some days we need breaks from creativity, too. And I’m so with you on dog love! Nothing like it. Mine makes me smile every darn day.

    • Those mental health days are so key to keeping us balanced, right? I do try to get those in every now and then, but I think I missed a few. Tomorrow I’m taking a total mental health day. No chores, no working on the ms, just fun writing and reading. It’s going to be great. Oh, and lots of doggie snuggles. (Maybe I’ll get lucky and get a few teen snuggles, too). πŸ˜‰

    • You are so welcome Doll! I wish we lived closer so we could hang out and have that cool sleepover Kate mentioned. Wouldn’t that be a blast? Hugs to you my sista! We’ll both get out of these funks. I’m here for you, Bridgette.

    • Ah. thanks!! Yep, it’s all about choice. Today I choose to be Happy. Tomorrow, I’m choosing to be Happy and Lazy. I’m taking a day off and am going to totally enjoy myself. I might even do a mini at home spa day with a facial and avocado smeared all over. πŸ˜‰ I love those kind of days.

  14. Quite some time ago I read the title of a book…not the book itself, just the title. It really struck a chord with me and I decided to live my life by that principle. ‘Happiness is a Choice.’ So yes, I truly believe we can choose to be happy. Most of the time anyway. It’s not always possible. When a loved one dies, or you’re so sick you can barely drag yourself out of bed, it’s just not going to happen. But under normal circumstances, I believe our attitudes have a dramatic impact on how we feel.

    As for being sick of your MS…you need to take a break from it, Tameri. I was that exact same place in early March…and wound up having an anxiety attack because I was under so much pressure to finish it. (that’s a very unusual thing for me) When you get to the place where you just dread looking at it, it’s time to put it away for a few days…or even a couple of weeks. Read, get out of the house, experiment with sparkly eye shadow.

    And feel better soon! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Kristy! I am taking a break from it ~ I finally mailed the darn thing to the editor and now it’s in her loving hands. Which means I’m free to stress about other things. πŸ˜‰

      I’m feeling great today (Sunday) and it looks like the week is going to be amazing, so I’m ready to go! With sparkly eye shadow and maybe a few gems in my hair… oh, yeah.

  15. I wish more people realized that happiness is a state of mind. I am guilty of retail-therapy though, which makes the problem worse, when the credit card bill arrives.

    • When my kids were little I did the retail therapy thing a lot! Mostly stuff for them, but now I’m older and like the idea of saving money more than having stuff. They, however, still think I should splurge on them. Yikes! Thanks for stopping in, Melanie. Maybe we should make our new therapy less expensive? πŸ™‚

  16. Sending you a smile today. It sounds like you might need a cup of tea with a friend soon…? Or I found a great bar in L.A. where we can party down with August. What do you think? Train ride??

    • I’m totally in! Tea or drinks, I’d love to hang out with you and August. You tell me when and where and I’m so there.

      Had a great weekend and am SO much happier today. Thanks, my friend. Love you bunches!!

  17. You probably totally expect this answer from me, but what helps me most often when I’m feeling down is praying. Then I turn on some good worship music, get a cup of tea, and read a book. The goal is to get the focus off of myself, and regain my perspective πŸ™‚

  18. Tameri, I don’t know how I missed this post so many months ago. But I’m glad I found it today.
    It’s SO easy to get caught up in the sad things, the blah things, the things that can bring us down. And yes…some days you have to make that conscious choice to choose happy. But that’s the beautiful part because even when things are looking their worst, there’s always something that can make us smile if we let it.
    Like awesome friends. In person or online.
    Keep smiling my friend.

    • Isn’t it funny how some posts just slip by? No worries, my friend! Your post truly inspired me to think about what I’m choosing, so I thank you for that. I echo your sentiments about friends online and in person. They both make our world a much brighter place.

I'd love to hear from you!

