Crush of the Month ~ The Avengers

 

This month we’re crushing on the cast of The Avengers!

That’s right. Joss Whedon did us a favor when he brought all these beautiful people together in one action-packed super hero extravaganza. Since I can’t pick just one, we’re going to crush on all of them.

Starting with Robert Downey Jr. This bad boy turned super hero first grabbed our hearts in Less Than Zero. That last scene of him in the back of the convertible? Still gets me. If you’ve never seen the movie – rent it. It’s 80’s debauchery in all its glory. RDJ reprises his role of Tony Stark, that snarky, brilliant, billionaire with a heart of, what is his heart exactly? Cadmium? Chocolate? Well, whatever it is, it glows all the time and needs a jump start every now and then. But we still love him and his funky Iron Man costume.

Scarlett Johansson plays Black Widow and while I don’t know much about her character, I do know that outfit looks very uncomfortable. Extra badass points to her for wearing that thing. Being the only woman on the hero team must get tiresome. All those men and testosterone! Oh, wait… she gets to hang out with RDJ, Chris Hemsworth, Jeremy Renner, okay never mind that. She probably had a blast being the only female in the group. Go Scarlett!

Speaking of my sweet Chris Hemsworth, you already know how much I adore him, so we’ll keep this brief. Ah, Chris. I mean Thor. I mean Chris. Thor swings a mean hammer, doesn’t he? I can’t help but wonder how they will resolve the dangling love interest thing they had going on at the end of Thor. I guess when you have a world to save love gets put on the back burner. Again.

 

Jeremy Renner is a relative unknown to us, but one to keep an eye on. He’s one of those quiet types that will sneak up on you. Always watch out for the quiet ones… and don’t forget he’s got a wicked crossbow.

Mark Ruffalo, while adorable and quirky, is an interesting choice for the Hulk. Perhaps he will bring a compassionate side to the green man. We’ll just have to wait until we see the movie to find out.

Next up we have the original Avenger, Chris Evans. I have to admit, I wasn’t exactly charmed with Chris in Captain America, so he’s still kind of ‘meh’ for me right now. We’ll see how awesome he does in Avengers. Who knows, he might grab our hearts and make it to Crush of the Month status.

 

And finally we have Tom Hiddleston as Loki. He makes such a delicious demented God, don’t you think? Then again, Loki is the God of Chaos. Tom’s another one we’ll be watching for future Crush of the Month worthiness. For today, we’re going to enjoy him being a badass God making trouble for our super heroes.

For those of you crying foul that I forgot Nick Fury, let me assure I did not forget Samuel Jackson. Since that fiasco on the plane with all those snakes, I just can’t crush on poor Sam. I really hate snakes. Sorry.

We’ll be seeing The Avengers tomorrow night, are you going to see it this weekend? Who is your favorite super hero? Is there a special someone you’d like to see featured in our Crush of the Month? Come, share with us!

27 thoughts on “Crush of the Month ~ The Avengers

  1. Black Widow’s outfit is not nearly as uncomfortable as I thought (and I had a cheaper made version lol). There will be pictures on my blog tomorrow!

    We were at the midnight showing (most of my friends were at the all-day Avengers marathon). IT ROCKS. Seriously. Full of amazing. Every single person, every single minute. The boys went and saw it again this morning already.

    We had everybody but Hawkeye. (Well we had a Hawkeye, but he didn’t dress up past having a bow.) We all walked out of the theater and spent the next 20 minutes being bombarded with people wanting us to pose and take pictures with them.

    I hope you enjoy it!

  2. Heart . Thumping. So much. Yummy. Goodness! 😀 Yeah, baby. I’m there tomorrow. Thank the gods, my little one is starting to feel better. I already have the tickets. Could you imagine if she still had the crazy temp and I couldn’t go? o_O

    I just love Robert Downey Jr. and know he will make the movie for me.

    • RDJ certainly did make the movie. I thought they would give him all the great lines, but they spread them out with the rest of the cast. Of course, he got most of the great ones, but I didn’t mind. I’m seriously crushing on him now. Thor needed to be in there more! That’s my only complaint. 😉

      I’m so glad Monkey was feeling better for the movie. She and I both cheered when Thor came on the screen!

  3. Well, that’s some nice eye candy for a Friday afternoon! Hopefully the hubs and I will get to the movie soon. Not sure if it’ll be opening weekend, but soon!

    Thanks for posting the beefcake photos!

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

    • VERY nice eye candy. And the guys got Scarlett Johansson, so that’s not too shabby for them. It was probably the best movie I’ve seen this year. Of course, you need to like action flicks, but the story was good, too. Hope you love it when you do get to see it!

    • I’m so glad you went to see it! ScarJo was hot, hot, hot. Yep, I saw The Other Boleyn Girl and I was surprised she wasn’t Anne. I loved that about the movie, though. I like her in just about everything she’s in.

  4. I’m sitting here feeling a little overwhelmed from the day and the ‘to do’ list and all the other stuff going on right now and whoa – here’s a little slice of heaven from Tameri. sighhhhh. time to sit back, relax and drool. yay!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. I am seeing it tomorrow. And, can’t wait. I have always been a Robert Downey, Jr. fan. Less Than Zero is brilliant. And, I have a mad girl crush on Scarlett Johansson.

    • Did you love it? I hope so! I think I might have a girl crush on Scarlett now, too. I liked her before, but she was so good in this, my admiration has been elevated. 🙂

      • I loved it. So good. I decided that Robert Downey, Jr. as Tony Stark/Ironman is in my top 5 of favorite movie characters ever. He made the movie.

  6. Pingback: The Avengers Review – (non-spoiler) | DayDreamers Nest

  7. I’ve had a crush on Jeremy Renner ever since I saw him on the short lived tv show The Unusuals. He’s a cutie; I like the quiet type.

    • Yep, he’s a dreamy guy. I noticed him in Thor, but didn’t know who he was. Now that I’ve seen him in The Avengers, he’s totally on my radar. I’ll have to see if Netflix has his TV show. You gotta watch out for those quiet ones, I’m telling you. They can be trouble (in a very good way!).

  8. So much pretty. I probably won’t get to see it on the big screen, but I will be looking forward to seeing it eventually.

    I once wrote up a flow chart explaining to a team I managed how they needed to spend the day figuring out how to get me a date with RDJ. True story. 🙂

    • A flow chart? That is the funniest thing ever! I would love to see it. What would your dream date with RDJ entail?

      Since you love him so much, you need to get a sitter and take the hubs to the theater to see this movie. He’s a scream in it. Had me laughing out loud more than once.

  9. I fell in love with Chris Evans when he starred in Cellular (a movie most people have never heard of). As for The Avengers? I saw it at 8:00 last night, then again at 2:00 this afternoon (YES…I LOVE it!). All of the guys are sexier than anyone has a right to be but I’d have to say Robert Downey Jr. hits number one, followed closely by Chris Hemsworth, Chris Evans, Samuel L. Jackson, Jeremy Renner, Mark Ruffalo, and Tom Hiddleston. Yes, I want them all. 🙂

  10. Wahoo, I finally saw it! Fantastic writing (classic Joss Whedon, with all those snarky zingers and comebacks), and oh boy, the eyecandy. I echo Kristy — I definitely want to get my hands on all of them, though I think RDJ and Chris Hemsworth collectively have my heart.

  11. Wow, thanks for all the eye candy, Tameri! I’m looking forward to hearing how you liked the movie.

  12. Pingback: Tall Tale Tuesday: Plant Some Ideas « Ellie Ann

I'd love to hear from you!

