Blik ~ Animating Emotion Without Expression or Words

Guess what? I’m guest posting over on Myndi Shafer’s blog today! If you aren’t familiar with Mydni’s hilarious blog posts, you really need to check her out. Today I’m following in her Happy Hausfrau tradition and giving Baking Soda Some Love! Did you know baking soda and vinegar can tackle most of your cleaning needs? Yep. Hop on over there to check it out!

While you’re here though, I hope you’ll enjoy this charming little film that tells the story of a young boy and his first love ~ without words or facial expression. The filmmakers wanted to capture every emotion through subtle body language. It’s long, over eight minutes, but it will capture your heart.

As writers we try to show emotion through facial expression, body language, or the words our characters say. This little film has got me thinking of other ways to convey meaning. The tiniest gesture, the exaggerated shrug, what’s your favorite way of showing rather than telling?

Enjoy.

27 thoughts on “Blik ~ Animating Emotion Without Expression or Words

    • Hey Susie! I found you hanging out in my Spam folder. You were trying to organize a blog party, I think. I’ve brought you over here to the comments, hope you don’t mind!

      Those little nuances are terribly important and making me rethink so much of how my characters act/react to things. I loved this video, too.

  1. Loved your post over at Myndi’s – OMG hilarious and super informative.
    This video is really quite amazing. I couldn’t believe how much I could pick up from body language alone with no facial expressions. Incredible.

    • You’re welcome, Debra! Body language is huge ~ I know I’m guilty of thinking about facial expression way more than body language, but now I’m looking at my characters in a whole new way.

  2. Just finished snorting at Myndi’s. You are hilarious! Showing is such an important part of what we learn as writers and there is SO much to learn. This video is awesome. Thanks to you and hubby!

    • So glad I could make you snort! That’s usually our Miss Natalie’s forte. I’ll tell Hubs he scored a thank you for the video. He and The Kid love to find me great nuggets of fun.

  3. Sweet video! I like to ‘show’ through action and dialogue, illustrating what I feel throughental movies. And I can take all the cleaning tips you’ve got, so… Baking soda, here I come!

    • I know, me too. I was wondering where it was going ~ my husband and I thought the kid and the boyfriend would become friends, but I like how they ended it much better. Glad you liked it!

  4. Wonderful. You know, it would be a great challenge to write scenes of just body language to convey our story. What a challenging exercise that would be. I’m going to try it!

I'd love to hear from you!

