Kickass Heroines ~ Alexzandra Etherton!

What would you do for a cause you believe in?

Would you ride your bike 545 miles over the course of 7 days?

This month’s Kickass Heroine would!

In case you haven’t figured it out, she’s my daughter and I am so proud of her for many, many reasons, but the one I’m sharing with you today is her upcoming ride to raise money to fight AIDS.

I know, AIDS is so 80’s. It isn’t as sexy as it used to be. I mean, we have more diseases now that are way cooler, that get the spotlight and attention.

But AIDS is still a huge problem all over the world. That’s why Alexzandra has chosen to go on this grueling 7 day adventure.

This is the route she’ll be riding and for every mile she pedals, I’ll be cheering her on.

Crazy, right? Even in my youth this ride would’ve kicked my butt!

I wanted you all to know about this ride because, well, Alexzandra needs to raise money to ride. $3,000 to be exact and I’m hoping you could help sponsor her. Even $5, the price of one venti latte helps.

There are so many more reasons why Alexzandra is a Kickass Heroine besides her kickass bike riding. I’ll have to dedicate another post to her awesomeness, like the time she saved a baby bird. Or how she is amazing with kids. Or that time she… naw, you’ll just have to wait for those.

If you’d like to help her out, here’s the link to her page. Again, any support you can give her is greatly appreciated!

Speaking of Kickass Heroines, remember my friend Patricia Sands? She was my Kickass Crush of the Month in AprilΒ because of all the good she does for various charities in Canada and worldwide.

Well, since she does so many awesome things, I thought I’d tell you all that her fabulous book,Β The Bridge Club is only $3.99 for the Kindle edition and it makes aΒ great gift for moms! Since Mother’s Day is Sunday, how about clicking on over to order a copy.

Boy, I am just all about spending your money today, aren’t I? Well, I promise I won’t make a habit out of it, but these really are to great ladies who deserve our support and recognition.

On behalf of my daughter, I thank you for any contribution you can make toward her ride. You all totally rock!

And for all you Mothers out there… Happy Mother’s Day!!

26 thoughts on “Kickass Heroines ~ Alexzandra Etherton!

  1. Happy to support Tameri! I love that photo of your daughter–I agree very kickass.
    Have a great weekend πŸ™‚

  2. Ahhhmazing daughter Tameri. I mean, she obviously comes from STELLAR genes!! Love it. She is a hero to you and to so many. I hope she takes tons of pictures and that you do a fab blog post about it after the fact. What an incredible journey for such a worthy cause. I went over and fired off my donation! Squeee!!!

    • Yes she does! πŸ˜‰ You really don’t want her taking pics while she’s riding a hundred miles. She has, um, issues with technology and bicycles. πŸ˜‰

      Thank you for the donation. You are totally cracklesauce!

  3. Love the photo of Alex … and the spelling of her name! I can see she is a star just like her mom and I’m heading over to her page right now. What a fantastic challenge and great way to bring attention to the cause of AIDS. It may not be as big a problem in North America now but when you read about the devastation it is causing in other countries, it’s heartbreaking.
    Ride on, Alex!
    Thanks for the shout out about The Bridge Club, Tameri. Kindle Nation Daily just e-mailed me to say they have chosen to put it on a promo page today at no cost to me because they believe in it! How cool is that?
    Happy Mother’s Day!

    • That’s terrific, Patricia! I’m so happy your book is doing well, it’s a great read. Now, where is that next one? πŸ™‚

      Alexzandra is a total rockstar who will be like you all her life ~ defending injustice and fighting for worthy causes. You both totally rock!

  4. It’s wonderful to have a child who goes the extra mile to help others, on top of all the other reasons to be proud! I was happy to help out and donate. Glad you posted this, Tameri!

  5. Wow Tameri, that girl of yours is amazing! You cannot be too proud of her! What a great cause!
    And that bike trip along the coast is not an easy one. There are a lot of hills and curves along the way. But an absolutely gorgeous ride indeed! Oh how she’s going to be sore. Baking soda! Oh, no. That’s right. Epsoms salt! LOL! That was a wonderful post btw. Congrats on raising such a tenderhearted daughter! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you so much, Karen! I’ve driven that route before and I was glad I had a car beneath me. I can’t imagine riding my bike over it, but she’s got spunk and determination. Baking soda! You’re a hoot. I’ll make sure I have Epsoms salt at home when she finishes. πŸ˜‰

  6. What a fantastic cause and inspiring young woman. Go Alexzandra!!! I’ll be cheering my lungs out for ya. Thanks for inviting us to support a “real life” KA herione, Tameri. No doubt she gets much of her heart from you.

  7. Your daughter is seriously awesome! That is one heck of a long ride! And what a fabulous cause to ride for. I have lost people I cared a great deal for to that ugly thing. Go Alexzandra! A donation has been made. πŸ˜€ Wish I had the stamina to ride beside her.

I'd love to hear from you!

