A Lazy Summer Day…

Instead of my usual fabulous Friday Fantasy post, today I’m taking a lazy day. In fact, you just might find me lounging on this beach in La Jolla ~ for research, of course! Even lazy days are filled with work sometimes.

Why a lazy day? July is gearing up to be one incredible event after another and I’m going to need all the energy I can muster.

What’s going on in July?

Le Tour de France starts tomorrow! Technically it started today with the Prologue, but racing starts tomorrow). Look for my Crush of the Month next Friday (7/6). You can be sure it will one of the riders, but which one?

July 4th! Fireworks, BBQs, friends and family or just taking a nap. Reader’s choice.

July 9th or 10th I get to hang out with Jillian Dodd! Hmmm, I wonder if she’ll see Magic Mike again…

July 12 – 15th Comic-Con! Not only will I get to hang out with Debra Kristi, there will also be incredible author panels, celebrities (Nathan Fillion, I’m waiting for my close up!), and cool toys/books/shirts to check out. If you’ve never been to the San Diego Comic-Con, it’s a wild adventure. Yes, pictures will be posted. You just won’t believe some of the costumes folks wear. Last year I saw a Steampunk Pug on a Harley Davidson. It was awesome! For a little teaser, check out Piper Bayard’s post on the Denver Comic-Con here.

July 17th I’ll be heading to the Old Globe to see ‘As You Like It’ in their outdoor theater. It’s my first time seeing this play live. So excited!

July 25 – 28th – Romance Writers of America Convention in Anaheim! I’m super nervous to be going to this huge conference. In addition to staying with Debra Kristi, I’m going to see Jenny Hansen and Kristen Lamb. WANA explosion!

As if that wasn’t enough to keep my heart racing for the rest of the year, the Olympics start on July 27th, keeping me riveted to the television clear through August 12th.

I might get a few week’s reprieve until school starts, but with two kids at home I doubt it!

What does your July look like? Are you as excited as I am for the Tour de France and Olympics? Got any great plans for the 4th of July? Will I see you at Comic-Con or RWA?

I’ll leave you with two more pictures of La Jolla. Have a great weekend everyone, may you find time to relax and enjoy the sun like these sea lions.

41 thoughts on “A Lazy Summer Day…

  1. I totally thought of you today as I had a discussion with someone about Comic Con and how if only the little guy were older (and the budget friendlier) I would be there. It crossed my mind that would mean we could hang out!

    Sigh. Someday.

    Sounds like you have a jam packed, awesome July ahead of you! Send Nathan my love. πŸ™‚

    • Aww, thanks Amber! It’s nice to be thought of. I hope some year you can come out and we can hang together. Not only will I send Nathan your love, but I’ll give him a big old sloppy kiss just for you! The things I do for my friends, right? πŸ™‚

  2. My July is foggy. I’m manically applying for any job I think I can possibly do, so maybe there’ll be interviews. The optimist in me says there will, while the pessimist just rolls her eyes and says ‘yeah, right, just like the last 50 jobs you applied for.’

    Meanwhile, there’ll be lots of writing, getting to know my new local area, hopefully some days out with the other half when he’s not at work, and generally chilling out and enjoying the summer months.

    I envy you all those neat conventions! I would so love to do a convention, but there aren’t any near enough for me, or at least ones I’d like to attend. Oh well, maybe we’ll get to Comic Con and say hi to you another year!

    • I hope you get plenty of interviews so you can pick and choose your perfect job. Until then, at least you get to write! That’s a huge plus. No conferences near you? Yikes. Someday, some year, we’ll get to meet and it will be way too much fun.

  3. Beautiful photos!

    Our July is not nearly as busy as May was (that was a crazy month!), but Hub’s birthday is on the 9th, so we’re taking a couple days off work to cook out and hang at the beach (not nearly as nice a beach as in your photos!). And then the re-write will be in full swing! It should be fun πŸ™‚

    Enjoy Comic Con and RWA πŸ™‚ It’s a little far for me to travel, but I love hearing about everyone’s adventures.

    • Thanks Rebecca! They were taken with my iPhone, which always amazes me that they came out that good. Happy (early) birthday to your husband! That will be nice to hang out with him for a few days before you slip away into your fantasy world. Get rewriting, the faster you do, the sooner we can read it!

  4. Woah, does that mean I get to meet you, Debra and Jenny?!?! I’ve heard rumors of an L.A. gathering… πŸ˜‰ If that’s the case, my July just got happier.

    I’m sensing some extra-strong positive vibes from you lately, Tameriβ€”even happier than usual. I hope that’s the case and that you get every ounce of joy from this summer you can. *raises fruity ice tea glass* CHEERS!

    • YES! I know, Jenny has been trying to get me up there for a lunch date with you for ever. You’ll be at RWA? I can’t wait to meet you… it’ll be like meeting a rockstar.

      Thanks for the sweet compliment. I think I am happier lately, don’t know why and I’m not going to over think it. I love fruity iced tea. Cheers!

      • I am crazy giddy to meet you! I’m not going to RWA, but I’ll definitely find some way to connect with you all. Happy you’re happy and not over-thinking it. πŸ™‚ Have the best weekend.

  5. Tameri – Busy month. I just completed my writing to do list for July and it is daunting. And, I still have a life and job to deal with. It is going to be a interesting month for all of us. I lived with a cyclist in college and he got be hooked on the Tour de France. I am looking forward to readying updates everyday. I can’t find the broadcast here. Oh yeah, apparently I am moving to Shanghai in August. More on that later.

    • Shanghai! You have such a cool life. I’m looking forward to hearing more about this move. I’m always so impressed with how much you post on your blog, so I can only imagine your busy writing month. Well done for you! Is there a particular cyclist you are watching?

      • George Hincapie still has a place in my heart and I have a weird crush on Alexandre Vinokourov. I started watching back when Lance Armstrong abandon the race a couple of months before his cancer diagnosis. How did you get into it?

      • Well, my favorite is Andy Schleck, but he’s out this year. Boo hoo! That’s okay though because I have several that are my favorites. You’ll find out on Friday who they are. πŸ˜‰

        We were in London in 2007 and saw the start of the Tour there, which got me more interested, but with Lance being in it since 2004, I was a lurking observer. It’s only been the past three years that I’ve been a devoted watcher. I’ll record the entire thing live, then watch it at my leisure throughout the day. I love all the manor houses they show, or the mountain landscapes.

        Now that my daughter is into cycling, it’s fun to watch it with her.

  6. What a great July you have planned, my friend. I’m with you on the Olympics, for sure. Will catch a wee bit of the Tour as well. I wish I was going to CC. Would love to see that sometime. Maybe next year.

    You were at La Jolla and I was at Oceanside. I was “researching” in the waves.

    • Research is so much fun, isn’t it? I bet you got some great ideas out there.

      Comic-Con’s a blast. I hope you can make it one of these years. When the summer calms down (read: August) I’ll have that writing salon at my house that I promised you before you moved. Until then, we should meet at the beach soon!

  7. I’m so jealous, Tameri! I’ve always wanted to go to Comic Con. And though I’m going to a great writing retreat in Taos at the end of July, it’s at the same time as the RWA, so I’ll be out of L.A. when everyone else is coming in! Oh well. Have a great time!

    • What? You’re leaving just when we’re all descending on Orange County? That’s pretty funny. We’ll miss you, it would’ve been great to meet you there. Another time, I’m sure. Comic-Con is great fun. You’ll get there someday, but make it sooner rather than later since there are always whispers of it moving to another city. Have fun at your retreat! Taos is gorgeous, now I’m the one who is jealous.

  8. La Jolla looks amazing. I’m so jealous you’re off to Comic Con. If you run into Sheldon and the rest of the gang, tell them I said hi, not that Sheldon will have any interest πŸ™‚
    I’m on a 2 week holiday now from work so my July is looking good and I’m flying to Barcelona next Friday for a week to escape the rainy, miserable weather we have here.

    • I will, Emma! I love Sheldon and the rest of the gang. My husband jokes that I’m totally Penny, which I kind of am. πŸ˜‰

      Barcelona! That will be heaven. Enjoy yourself and I’m super jealous you get to go there. Don’t forget the sunscreen, though. Your delicate ivory skin will need it.

    • Darling, I’m not going to Barcelona! I wish.

      And don’t you fret ~ When I’m gone from the house, we always have someone stay here to take care of the pets and keep an eye on everything. I love that you worry about me, though.

      • Whoops – it’s Emma who’s going to Barcelona. My brain must have been disengaged.Anyway, my prediction for the Olympics? Australia will win medals in the swimming and running. It says so in the constitution. Or if not, it should πŸ™‚

    • We get to hang out again? I’m so excited to see you! Nora Roberts? Egads, I might have to tell my mom. She’s a huge fan. Oooh, I should get a signed copy of her book for mom’s birthday. That would be cool, thanks for the head’s up.

  9. Those are gorgeous pics. Hard to believe that beautiful blue water is along California! Ah, July. I am going to sleep. And write. And maybe some other stuff, but those two things are all that matter. πŸ˜‰

  10. Wow! I thought I was busy starting…NOW. I don’t feel so busy anymore. LOL. You, my lady, are one busy person! I am soo looking forward to all the great stuff we are going to see and experience at Comic Con and RWA. Woot woot! Now I am off to pack. Leave in the morning for our camping trip. Part one of my July. Lets see how fast draft mixes with camping. I’m thinking – not so well.

    • You’re too funny. I think with two younger kids at home you are busier than me, but yeah July is going to be crazy for both of us. Enjoy your camping trip! I’m curious how the fast draft went … πŸ˜‰

      See you soon, my friend.

  11. I love the pictures of La Jolla, gorgeous, gorgeous place. Hubby and I have bucket list of trips we want to do and California in on that list.

    What a fun-filled month you have planned I wish I was going to RWA so I could hang out with you and your peeps:) Have a blast! Enjoy every single moment of your summer. Give Nathan a smooch for me too. *big sigh*

  12. Pingback: Tall Tale Tuesday: That’s Not Random Hippopotamus « Ellie Ann

  13. What an incredible and full July ahead. Enjoy and I can’t wait to hear all about it!! And LOVE the pics of La Jolla….wish we were there!!!
    Our July will be filled with work, a few family events, and working on MADD Canada Chapter stuff…should be FUN!

I'd love to hear from you!

