Crush of the Month ~ Tour de France

Ah, Le Tour de France.

The world’s toughest bike race that travels over the gorgeous country of France for three weeks every July. But for us here at A Cup of Tea and Sorcery, it’s not all about the cycling. It’s the scenery, the castles, the quaint little towns the riders zip through, and oh yes, the riders themselves.

For the past few years I’ve had one favorite rider in the Tour ~ my sweet Andy Schleck. Today’s post was going to be all about Andy, but he went and fractured his pelvis in June, which meant he couldn’t ride in the Tour this year. We wish Andy an excellent recovery and hope to see him up on his bike soon.

Fortunately for us, the Tour provides a wide selection of crushes to fill my sweet Andy’s cycling shoes.

Like Frank Schleck, Andy’s brother

Or Fabulous Fabian Cancellara

What about the Manx Missile, Mark Cavendish?

Tejay Van Garderen isn’t too shabby, either.

For you sideburn loving ladies (and gents if that is your persuasion!), we’ve got the dashing Bradley Wiggins.

Peter Sagan at 22 is one of the youngest riders on the Tour and is currently wearing the green jersey of the fastest sprinter. He’s also my daughter’s favorite.

Last, but certainly not least, Tyler Farrar. He’s had some wicked crashes this Tour, but he’s proving he’s a damn fine racer regardless.

Of course, part of the fun of watching the Tour is the commercials. This one cracks me up every time. It speaks to the 13 year-old boy living inside me. Farts are funny. So is Bob Roll (he’s the cycling dude in the commercial).

For those of you paying attention, the driver in the commercial is Jens Voigt, another cyclist in the Tour. There are so many more guys I could’ve put in this post. Did I show yours? Who did I miss that you think is crush worthy?

16 thoughts on “Crush of the Month ~ Tour de France

  1. And the bike shorts! Hahaha! Sorry I had to say the obvious….I remember going to a race around the square in Madison and I was embarrassed by the revealing shorts! I looked up at the sky, at the trees, the buildings….

    • Yes! Those shorts are hilarious. One little crash and half their buns are hanging out. I feel kind of bad for them about that, but not too bad.

      The race in Colorado goes near you, right? It’s in August and one year I’m going to have to travel up there to see it. France first, though.

  2. Not into the cycling at all – well not until now anyway. And I guess technically, I’m still not into cycling – just cyclists.

    Thank for pointing out what I’ve been missing out on.

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

I'd love to hear from you!

