What’s Everyone Reading?

We’re all looking for a good book to read, right? So I thought we could share what we’re reading and maybe get some great ideas of what to put in our to be read piles. If yours is anything like mine, it’s already too long, but what can I say? I love books and am always looking for something new. Something to thrill me, to keep me up past my bedtime turning pages.

Tell us in the comments what’s grabbed your imagination lately. Let’s keep it positive and only list the books we really liked. Give the title, the author, and maybe a quick blurb about the book.

I’ll start.

I’m reading The Dogs of Babel by Carolyn Parkhurst. It’s a bittersweet tale of a man whose wife died with only his dog as a witness. He becomes obsessed with trying to understand why she died and to do that, he needs to communicate with his dog. It’s a tissue read, meaning you’ll shed a few tears, but they are cathartic tears.

Now it’s your turn! What are you reading or just finished reading that you’d recommend?

47 thoughts on “What’s Everyone Reading?

  1. AWWWWW sounds sweet!
    I recently finished Ted Dekker’s Circle Series and LOVED it! Fantasy. http://www.amazon.com/Circle-Series-4-The-ebook/dp/B0052FTNJ2/ref=tmm_kin_title_0?ie=UTF8&qid=1344949245&sr=1-1
    I also just finished Wedlocked by BonnieTrachtenberg – kind of chick flick/women’s fiction. It was a bit stronger read than true chick lit but still a light, fun summer read! I really enjoyed it! http://www.amazon.com/Wedlocked-A-Novel-Bonnie-Trachtenberg/dp/1462022677
    I am now reading Diane Capri’s Carly’s Conspiracy. Mystery. Although I am only about 40% through, I am really enjoying it. I don’t usually read mysteries so it’s a real change for me and I like it. http://www.amazon.com/Carlys-Conspiracy-Wilhelmina-Carson-ebook/dp/B005E8YSB0/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1344949325&sr=1-1&keywords=Carly%27s+conspiracy
    Can’t wait to see what other delicious reads people suggest. Great idea Tameri!

  2. I just finished Stephen King’s DARK TOWER series. It’s a really great read (although the first book is a tiny bit tedious) – not really horror, more like a western-fantasy. It’s a long series, but worth the time investment. I also just finished WATER FOR ELEPHANTS which I loved (and am happy to say the film adaptation was lovely), and LET’S PRETEND THIS NEVER HAPPENED and laughed my ass off the whole way through. Also read ‘SALEM’S LOT for the first time this summer *shiver* as well as ABE LINCOLN, VAMPIRE HUNTER, INSURGENT, BEASTLY, and ZOMBIES vs. UNICORNS. All good stuff.

  3. I recently read two books that I really liked. The first was Poison Study by Marie Snyder. A young woman is convicted of murder and sentenced to hang, but relief comes in the way of a job as a food taster. Dangerous, but she’d be alive. She didn’t realize food wouldn’t be the only danger.

    The second was Artemis Fowl (I’m sure many have read this, but I just discovered it). A 12-year-old criminal mastermind takes on the fairy world. Entertaining and hilarious.

    Next on my list to read is Iron King.

    • I love Artemis Fowl. Very sweet story. Poison Study sounds intriguing ~ historical fiction, right? And I like the title for Iron King, I’ll definitely have to check them out. Thanks for sharing with us, Samantha!

  4. I’m reading The Golden Lily, Book Two of the Bloodlines series by Richelle Mead. It’s YA and a spinoff from her Vampire Academy series. I loved the first book, and even though I’m not that far into this one, I’ve already laughed a few times. I love the main character. She’s brilliant and capable, but doesn’t have the self-confidence yet. It’s fun to watch her grow.

  5. I’ve read so much this summer. But a few of my favorites are…The Slammed Books from Colleen Hoover. http://www.amazon.com/Slammed-ebook/dp/B008TRUDAS/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1344957953&sr=1-1&keywords=slammed+colleen+hoover She’s an indie that recently signed…

    And I Really liked Mourning Becomes Cassandra by Christina Dudley. http://www.amazon.com/Mourning-Becomes-Cassandra-ebook/dp/B0029F2HJQ/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8qid=1344957998&sr=1-1&keywords=mourning+becomes+cassandra

    I’m looking forward to reading the sequel too!

  6. I’m between books right now…although the pile of books we got at RWA12 is calling to me! But, I recently read DeAnna Cameron’s, The Belly Dancer. Absolutely loved the book. It’s the story of Belly Dancer’s at the Chicago World’s Fair turn of the last century. Beautifully written, and since I already read DeAnna’s 2nd book, Dancing at the Chance….I’m waiting very impatiently for her to write another!

    by the way, I think I’m saying your name right in my head!

    • Look at you and your classical literature self! We have a copy of Ender’s Game around here somewhere. Card was at Comic-Con, but I didn’t get to see his panel. I should find the book and read it (it came with my husband when we got married). I’m looking forward to the movie in December for the Great Gatsby. The preview looked awesome. I think I’ve read the book about a dozen times already. Love it.

  7. I haven’t read a tearjerker in awhile so The Dogs of Babel sounds like a good fit for me right now.
    I’m re-reading Anne Rice’s Interview with the Vampire. The current humidity we’re experiencing here in Cork reminded me of New Orleans and I plucked this book from the shelf and am happily getting reacquainted with Louis and Lestat.

    • Aww, I love Louis and Lestat. I used to read those books about once a year ~ I haven’t read them in at least a decade. I think it’s time to revisit New Orleans. That’s one place I’ve never actually been, but really want to go. So spooky. I read online they are making a movie out of Dogs of Babel, starring Steve Carrell. I can totally see him in the part. Hope you enjoy it, but don’t rush through my two favorite sexy vampires for it. 🙂

  8. I just started Let’s Pretend This Never Happened by Jenny Lawson (The Bloggess). I have to admit I’ve never really read her blog, but I’m finding her book crazy funny. I have to keep stopping to read passages to my husband. 🙂

  9. I just finished reading Big Stone Gap by Adriana Trigiani because I read an interview with her in Writer’s Digest that resonated with me… she’s who I want to be when I grow up. LOL. Big Stone Gap was excellent— about a Italian girl growing up in Virginia— hilarious and touching and I just heard it’s soon to be a movie. The book I’m reading now is Deborah Harkness’s A Discovery of Witches and I’m reading it because her new book, a time travel( Shadow of Night) is climbing up the bestseller list. I write time travels so I want to see how the remarkable writers do it. LOL Great post Tameri. I have a whole new list to read now!

  10. Mr. August only reads Ted Dekker….currently reading “SKIN”….get yo mind out da gutta Tameri!

  11. Oh, I have Jenny Lawson’s book on my TBR list. As you know from one of my recent posts, I just finished Abandon by Meg Cabot. I’m currently skipping between books as I study their writing style and technique. In so doing I have read large portions of “Divergent” by Veronica Roth and “The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer” by Michelle Hodkin. I’ll have to give in and read them through to the end. But I’ll tell you, that pretty cover on “Embrace” that we got at RWA has been calling to me as well. :O

    • I picked up Embrace to read while waiting for my son at the dentist, but they didn’t take very long and the hygienist kept talking to me, so I only got a few sentences in. Still, that cover is gorgeous and I keep meaning to pick it back up, but I need to finish this dog book! Argh. I still have Drake’s book I want to read as well. Too. Many. Books.

  12. I love my kindle – I have a number of books on the go. Blood orchids by toby Neal and Time’s Fugitive by Jennette Marie Powell. both are excellent but my reading time determines which I can read. And of course I’m reading a linguistics text book, and several papers about medical interpretation.

    • Hey, if you’re into linguistics (and really, who isn’t?), Dogs of Babel is about a dude who is a linguist. He tries to get his dog to talk to him to help him understand his wife’s death. I was actually being serious with my little aside up there ~ I love, love, love linguistics. I almost minored in it, but was pulled more toward history. Now, those papers on medical interpretation? Maybe not so fun for me. But you enjoy!

      Blood Orchid and Time’s Fugitive sound fun. I’ll check them out.

      • I have a business degree and 2 psych degrees…linguistics didn’t enter my psyche. but because of the work I do, its now an important part of my day.

  13. Oh, I hear you, Tameri. My TBR list is insanely long But although it would last me for years, I keep adding more books to it every week.

    Right now I’m reading Darkfever by KM Moning and Tomorrow’s Promise by Sandra Brown.

    • Hey, we got a book by Moning from RWA. Into the Dreaming. Good to know you like her. I haven’t heard of her or Sandra Brown, so thanks for the recommendations. My husband once said he wants to die with hundreds of books surrounding him. I think that’s one of the reasons I married him. Onward with the TBR pile!

      • Hehehe, I like what your husband said. I dream about having a whole room dedicated to books. Like my own little library, with plush seating, built-in bookcases, sliding ladder… Although I love my Kindle too!

  14. How beautiful is that doggy cover! Adding that to my to-read list. 🙂 You can’t beat book chatter. Love this post!

    I’m reading Doing Time–a compilation of award-winning stories written by prisoners. It’s powerful and heart-wrenching, and well worth the read.

    • Thanks August! I am finding it fascinating what everyone is reading. I can’t believe I haven’t done this before. I would love Doing Time. Getting into the prisoner’s minds would be fascinating.

  15. Ever since Kait Nolan turned me on to her, I’ve been reading Jill Shalvis’ Lucky Harbor series. It’s light and fun. Plus I’ll read anything by Barbara (Samuel) O’Neal. 🙂

  16. Highly recommend The Unfinished Work of Elizabeth D by Nichole Bernier. It’s the story of best friends and one is killed in a plane crash the summer after 9/ll. The friend that’s killed, leaves her journals to her best friend, although she’s married. I’ll be reviewing the book in a future blog – but it will be awhile. Another book I haven’t blogged about, but will because it’s too good to pass up is Elizabeth Berg’s collection of short stories titled, The Day I Ate Whatever I Wanted. I’ve never been a fan of short stories but pulled this book out of my TBR pile one day and couldn’t put it down. I enjoyed it so much, I’m now considering other collections.

    • Wow, that sounds like a chilling book, Sheri. I definitely want to check out The Unfinished Work. Interesting that a book of short stories caught your attention, I’m like you in that I don’t usually read shorts, but if it grabbed you that much, it’s worth a look! Can’t wait to read your future blog posts with the reviews.

  17. I’m reading the Night Angel trilogy by Brent Weeks. Clay has been after me to read it ever since he picked it up last fall I think? It’s an assassin story, great fantasy, very gritty, astounding characters… I’m loving it so far. I read over 60 pages last night and didn’t even notice time was passing! I don’t think I’ll have any trouble finishing this series. =)

  18. I just finished La Seduction: How The French Play The Game Of Life by Elaine Sciolino. I was reading partly as research for my MS but truly enjoyed the book. I’m also partway through Hilary Mantel’s Bring Up The Bodies which requires a bit more focus but I love it. For comedic relief I pick up Jenny Lawson’s hilarious Let’s Pretend This Never Happened for non-stop laugh-out-loud moments. She’s The Bloggess, so you get my drift. My Kindle TBR list is in danger of toppling with a stack of WANA author books and I’m diving into them next. Ah … the joy of reading!

  19. So my reading is all over the place right now! LOL! I just finished Live From New York, a history of Saturday Night Live and In Need of Therapy, great chick lit from my friend Tracie Banister. I haven’t even opened up my box of books from RWA. *shakes head sadly*

I'd love to hear from you!

