The Next Big Thing: 10 Questions Answered

Once again this week’s blog has been hijacked by a fun game making its way around the blogosphere. I am such a sucker for these games. I don’t know if it’s because I love reading everyone else’s answers or I enjoy the challenge of revealing bits of myself. Either way, the delightful Kristy K. James tagged me in what is called ~ The Next Big Thing.

The rules are simple:

***Answer the ten questions about your current WIP (Work In Progress)

***Tag five other writers/bloggers and add their links so we can hop over and meet them.

Easy peasy, so let’s get started.

Ten Interview Questions for The Next Big Thing:

What is the working title of your book?

The Temple of Ardyn. 

Where did the idea come from for the book?

I love reading fantasy, but it was hard to find books with kickass heroines. One day I just started thinking, ‘What if?’. What if there was a girl born on another world, but raised on Earth, how would that affect her on both worlds? What if she had parents who wanted to control her for their own desires? What if her sister raped her boyfriend? What if she discovers along her journey that having the power to destroy is a seductive quality she’s not sure she can fight against?

What genre does your book fall under?

Epic fantasy. Definitely.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

This is a tough one. Rhoane has always been a combination of Orlando Bloom and Ben Barnes. Taryn, on the other hand I can’t find an actress that I like well enough for her. A younger, sportier Michelle Pfeiffer maybe. Taryn’s tall, athletic, blonde hair, deep blue eyes, strong. Can you think of anyone who fits this description?

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Belle meets Xena, Warrior Princess by way of Middle Earth.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

Right now I’m hoping for publication through one of the major fantasy houses, Del Rey, Tor,  Daw, etc. If that doesn’t happen, then I’ll absolutely self publish. There are so many awesome books out there from people who did it themselves and I’m fortunate enough to be able to learn from them.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

Um, can we skip this question? Okay, fine I’ll answer it, but it’s a tad embarrassing. This book took me F.O.R.E.V.E.R. I rewrote the first chapter twenty-nine times. At least. In total, I’ve been working on the book for seven years. Once I made myself think like an author and set office hours, it took me a year to finish up the manuscript. Since then, I’ve had extensive editing/revisions because I wrote WAY too many words.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Brent Weeks’ Night Angel series, David Eddings’ Belgariad, Kristen Britain’s Green Rider series.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

Every book I’ve ever read inspired me to write. What inspired me to write this book? Taryn. She demanded her story be told.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

You mean besides great adventure, hot sex, betrayal, and love?

oooOOO**OOOooo

That’s it for the questions! Now I get to tag five people to answer The Next Big Thing questions on their blogs. Since I’m a bit of a rule breaker, I chose six.

Since I didn’t tag Paul De Lancey last week, he’s first up on the list. Paul writes humor when he isn’t working on a cookbook, so I’m super excited to see what he comes up with.

The others, in no particular order are:

If you want to check out my Pinterest Storyboard for this book, you can find it here. Did I miss anyone you’d like to know more about? Do you want to answer the questions? It’s all good! Answer them on your blog and leave a link in the comments. We’re all about sharing the love here at A Cup of Tea and Sorcery!

 
38 thoughts on “The Next Big Thing: 10 Questions Answered

  1. Belle meets Xena, Warrior Princess by way of Middle Earth – I’m so in! It sounds really cool, Tameri. Are you sending it out to publishing houses/agents soon? Best of luck.

  2. Okay, so we need to work out some sort of deadline for you. Say one of the fantasy publishing houses hasn’t signed you, and offers the book by September 1, 2012, you have to self-publish it so I can read it by September 15th. Sound good to you? Because that works out well for me. 🙂

    Can’t wait to read it, Tameri! Sounds like a great story that will also hold my interest. And I love your ‘what if’ process. That’s one of my favorite parts of writing…though you seem to come up with a lot more fun questions than I do. 🙂

  3. I LOVE this, Tameri. Your book sounds fantastic, and there’s no shame in taking your time with your first draft—the beginning especially. (I’ve heard that Hemingway did that. ;)) One reader perk you forgot to mention: YOU wrote it. So honored to be in the tagged crew!

    • Thank you, August. I am looking forward to reading your answers to the 10 questions. I love, love, love getting to know other’s writing habits and how they come up with ideas. You are such a wonderful support for me, thank you.

  4. I love hearing how you got your idea. To me that is such a fun part, when an idea not only comes but sticks and starts to stew–and yours sounds super cool! And hey what a coincidence, my wip took forever too. 🙂 Thanks for the tag, I like a good nudge!

    • Thank you so much! I’ll keep you posted on how/when it’s coming out, which I hope will be soon. We just need to explain that to Tor, don’t we? Darn that part of the business, but we’ll see what happens. Thanks again!

  5. I love your one sentence synopsis. That totally rocks! I’m soo in! Why do our books sound soo similar and then not? Haha. Hey! You tagged my girls!;) Loved the week 8 Q & A. Better finish mine so it’s ready to go on Thursday. Eeek.

    • I think they sound similar because we’re kind of like-minded, but not. 😉 I loved your answers and who you tagged, so it looks like you recovered from my theft! I’ll be super excited when we both have books out there – we can go on tours together. Oh. My. Heck. The fun/trouble we’ll have!

  6. I’ve loved your personality and getting to know you as a person, but I LOVE getting to know you as a writer! Your story sounds awesome and I’m so there to read it however it becomes available.

    • Thank you so much, Jillian! I’ve learned so much from you, Elena, and Steena as far as self publishing that I have no fear I can do it. Thanks for all your awesome advice over the past year.

    • Thank you so much, Sheri! I like a little something different every now and then, too. This makes it fun. By the way, I always love to see your profile pic up there ~ you look so happy and gorgeous, it brings a smile to my day.

  7. This is the second time in so many days that Michelle Pfeiffer’s name has come up. My friend is taking a painting class with her in San Francisco. 🙂
    Love the premise for your book! What happened to the crazy sex book you were working on?

    • Ooooh, that’s so cool your friend is taking a painting class with her!

      The crazy sex book, otherwise known as the romantic suspense, (but I like your category better!) is in the ‘simmering’ stage. That’s when I’ve finished the first round of edits and then put it away to work on something else before the next round of edits.

  8. Wow, Tameri, I love your answers. Your book sounds soooooooo good. Your one-sentence synopsis rocks! Well done, girl! Hope it gets published quick.

    Don’t feel bad about it taking seven years. The children’s chapter book I’m launching October 10th has taken me ten years to write. It spent a few years in a drawer here and there, but now it’s done – almost! I’m hoping to meet my October 10th launch date! Keep us posted on The Temple of Ardyn!

  9. Pingback: Tall Tale Tuesday: Kick the Can « Ellie Ann

  10. Pingback: Giving A Little Love to the Romantic Suspense | Tameri Etherton

  11. Pingback: Behind the Story: 10 Questions About My Novel « August McLaughlin's Blog

I'd love to hear from you!

