Lessons from Bacon!

Photo brought to you by Floortje at iStockphoto.com

You all know I’m a big fan of Top Chef, especially when they have the Masters competing. One thing I really love about seeing the top professionals is their respect for each other. Don’t get me wrong, those chefs are there to win, they’re totally competitive, but they also have a sense of fun about what they’re doing. I like that.

Does that mean they’re always nice to each other? No.

Does that mean they always like each other? No.

Sometimes they do get snippy and will talk trash about a chef they don’t like so much, but for the most part they are respectful of each other.

So why the bacon, you ask?

Well, a few weeks ago there was a competition among two chefs – Chris and Takashi. They faced off in a challenge that would decide the winner of the night’s cooking. Their main ingredient? Bacon!

Everything was going fine until Takashi realized he didn’t cook enough bacon steaks. Yes, you read that correctly. Bacon. Steaks. How freaking good does that sound?

What does Chris do? He tells Takashi he can have one of his steaks since he always makes at least one extra of everything in case he screws up.

Guess who won the challenge that night? Nope, not Takashi. Chris not only won that challenge, he ended up winning the show.

Chris didn’t have to let Takashi have one of his steaks and I know there are people out there who thought he was stupid for giving it to Takashi, but I say BRAVO! to Chris.

Chris is a giver. We need more people who are willing to hand over the bacon even if it means they might not win. We need more givers.

There seem to be a lot of takers in this world. People who are more than willing to take our bacon, but when we need a bit of spice, they are always busy or don’t hear us ask. Yes, I’m using food metaphors today. I’m in a bacon infused state of bliss, just go with it.

I’m a giver by nature. It’s hard for me to deny anyone their bacon and if I only had one slice left, I would gladly give it to anyone who asked. That’s who I am. But I’m starting to realize that givers get taken advantage of. A lot. And it kind of sucks.

I’m tired of takers thinking they should get all the bacon just because they are super fabulous. Know what? We’re ALL super fabulous in our own way. We all deserve a little bacon.

Instead of bemoaning the fact that there are far too many people out there ready to swipe all the bacon, I want to give a huge shout out to some great folks who are amazing givers. Not only would these ladies give you some bacon, they’d stick around to help you cook it. That’s how freaking cool they are.

First up, Sheri Fink. You all know how much I love Sheri (if you didn’t catch the interview with her last year, check it out here). Sheri is just about the sweetest woman I’ve ever met. She is passionate about her books, and just as passionate about helping other writers. Since she is self-published, she knows a ton about what it takes to get a children’s book from idea to the shelf. I adore her books and have bought several copies for friends as well as my own collection for when I have grandbabies. Guess what? She has a brand-new book out TODAY! Check her out on Amazon. When you fall in love with the Little Rose, don’t say I didn’t warn you!

Gayle Carline. Not only does this woman go out of her way to help other writers, she is currently running for some fancy-schmancy board of trustees thing for her local library because she knows books are important. Gayle is crazy busy right now with the library stuff, her horses, and writing a new book, but yesterday when I sent her an S.O.S email for some advice, I heard back from her within ten minutes. Love her! By the way, I just beta read her latest book and it’s so good. I can’t wait for it to come out ~ stay tuned for more details on it.

Jillian Dodd. Like Gayle, Jillian is always helping other writers. She isn’t afraid to share her marketing ideas, writing tips, publishing woes, or make up tips with you. In fact, she’d probably help you with your hair if you asked nicely. Jillian is an incredible marketer. She went to Chicago last weekend and had cookies made to look like her book covers. Who thinks of that? Jillian! Marketing. Genius.

Diane Capri. This is a name you’ve not heard me mention often, and that’s my bad. Truly, it is. Diane is remarkable. She writes a series of ‘Don’t know Jack’ books based off Lee Child’s Jack Reacher character and they are fun reads. Not only is she a fabulous writer, Diane is also one of those writers who is working hard to make sure new writers get noticed and is more than willing to share her stories from the publishing trenches. She’s been there and knows just the right thing to say. She doesn’t know it, but I often take notes of comments she makes because I know I’ll need them later in my career.

Lastly, we have Patricia Sands. Lovely woman, writer, speaker, humanitarian extraordinaire. Patricia often blogs about wonderful organizations that help women, or she will spotlight a new writer that she discovered on her many travels. Patricia is a perfect example of what it means to pay-it-forward. This month, she’s looking out for the girls. Yep, THOSE girls. It’s October and everyone should be thinking pink and boobies.

There are so many more I could add to this list and I will in future posts. For today, I just want to sayย Thank Youย to these women for sharing their bacon.

Who do you know that is a giver? Are you a good role model for bacon sharing? Are you totally sick of the bacon analogy? ๐Ÿ™‚ Do you even like bacon? I know it’s sad, but true. There are those out there who don’t like bacon. That’s okay. We still love them.

47 thoughts on “Lessons from Bacon!

  1. Who’d have thunk I’d reap such warmth from a bacon-loving post? ๐Ÿ™‚ I love it, Tameri, this quote in particular: “We need more people who are willing to hand over the bacon even if it means they might not win.” Amen to that. The ladies you listed are PRIME examples, and so are you.

    By the way, I don’t dislike bacon. I’ve always dug the crunchy bits and turkey baconโ€”even before I knew they were healthier. My favorite part of bacon is now your take on it, and this post.

    • I like the crunchy bits of bacon, too. If it’s soggy it’s just kind of gross to me. This post went a little sideways from what I had originally thought it would be, but I love the bacon bits of it. ๐Ÿ™‚ See what I did there? I’m such a dork.

  2. OOoohhh, I couldn’t tell you the last time I had bacon, and my mouth is watering! I LOVE bacon – my system just doesn’t like it right now. But I have to agree with August, who commented above: “My favorite part of bacon is now your take on it, and this post.” Absolutely awesome women you’ve introduced us to, Tameri; and I think you should be included in that group as well. Here’s to fabulous women who would hand over their bacon in a second! Props to them! ๐Ÿ™‚ xox

    • The good thing about this post is the bacon was wonderful, but won’t make you feel bad. Thank you so much for your kind words! I have been truly blessed on this journey with the men and women I’ve met ~ you included. They’ve inspired me to be a better person and it’s my pleasure to share that. Props to them, indeed!

  3. Oh my goodness! I know the queen of bacon! Prudy Taylor Board a/k/a Prudence Foster (prudy-taylor-board.blogspot.com). I met her at one of HER book signings about two years ago now. An accomplished author (23 books – history, mystery and horror genres) she’s a force of nature. Now President of the Writers’ Network of South Florida, as well as a full-time editor, she still finds time to lead TWO critique groups and mentor little ol’ me. Her outlook on the whole thing is that it gives her a thrill to know that she’s helped someone reach their goals. She has a shelf in her living room filled with books containing dedications. All of them simply because she made time to help, encourage, smack around and push ๐Ÿ™‚ Bacon is meant to share!

    Great post, Tameri!

    • The queen of bacon! Love that. Prudy sounds like an amazing woman, how lucky for you to have such a cool mentor. I definitely want to check out her books and blog since you write so highly of her. 23 books, wow. That’s a terrific accomplishment. Thanks for telling us about her, Ruth!

  4. Just so you know – I’m NOT giving up my bacon.

    I am a giver though and you are right, sometimes we get taken advantage of because of it. We do too much and people come to expect too much of us. It’s time we held on to the bacon. At least once in a while.

    Here’s to the givers! May they never stop giving but always have bacon aplenty.

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

    • Good for you for hanging onto your bacon! You are so right that it’s easy to be taken advantage of. I’m learning how to say, ‘No, thank you’ with grace and charm. It’s so hard. But well worth the bacon. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Sheri, you would love, love, love Diane and Patricia. In fact, I can see the three of you sitting around laughing your butts off about stuff life has thrown at you. I’m glad you’re getting a chance to make some new friends. Trust me, they’re better than bacon.

    • Bacon on the way, here it comes! Thanks, Susie. You are one of those marvelous givers I’m talking about. You’ve got this amazing excitement for life that I love reading about on your blog. I mean, you and Roxy make ghetto mittens absolutely fabulous!

      • Thanks Tameri! By the way, your blog isn’t showing up in my reader so I think I may have missed a couple. I will refollow. It may have happened during the comment auto-follow debacle. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Yikes! I hope you were able to get my blog delivered to you again. That’s no good that you had the comment auto-follow debacle. I guess no program is perfect, even though I think they all should be.

  5. Ohh…Bacon. What a great analogy. Tameri…YOU are always giving up your bacon. I love it. You are such a giver.
    Another fabulous giver is the awesome Steena Holmes. She’s been awesome and SO so helpful.
    I hope that when it comes to writing and selling books, I can be just as much as a giver too. And hey…I’d scramble up some eggs to go with it. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Ohmigosh, Steena is such a giver. I think in the past two weeks I’ve read or heard about how much help she’s given someone for their website or book cover. She’s very stealthy in her help, too, which I love. She’s not out there shouting how fabulous she is, but she IS fabulous! You’re not so shabby yourself, miss Elena. You’ve always got a kind word and bit of wisdom to share. See? I said there are just way too many awesome people out there for one post. I might need to make this a regular thing. With you and Steena as my next superstars.

  6. Couldn’t agree with your list of givers more. They are excellent examples of giving women. And you ARE a wonderful giver. I understand about being burned by takers; they make you want to wash your hands of everybody. My guess is that your hubby helps point out the takers who come and go in your life? That’s what mine does. He points out when someone is taking advantage of me, because I don’t always see it until I’m good and angry. lol. Excellent post Tameri.

    • Thank you, Bridgette! Yep, my hubby is really good at pointing out the people who only have their interests in mind. Sometimes I don’t want to believe him and I always get burned. I’m learning. Sounds like you are, too. Our husbands are good guys!

  7. OMG I’m blushing! The thing is, I grew up very shy and didn’t want to make any mistakes, so I was afraid to reach out and help someone and be wrong and laughed at or yelled at and pushed away. I can’t really say when I stopped looking inward at what people thought of me and started to look outward to see what I could do for the world. Now I find myself at other people’s parties, helping to make the dip or making sure everyone’s got a drink. Maybe I could rein myself in a little…

    The only time I hate to help people is when they are so insanely needy that I recognize they are a black hole I will never be able to fill. We’ve got a few kids at our group lessons that remind me of baby birds, sitting in the nest with their mouths open, waiting to be fed. They’re young, but they’ve already figured out if they screw around and do it wrong, an adult will come and do it for them. Uh-huh, Cowgirl. If I’m going to get your horse ready, I’m getting in the saddle. You can go home.

    And, golly, you’re such a sweet and wonderful friend, of course you’re a priority with me if you need a hand. Love you!

    • I’m pretty sure you need a t-shirt that says this, ‘ Uh-huh, Cowgirl. If Iโ€™m going to get your horse ready, Iโ€™m getting in the saddle. You can go home.’ That is awesome!

      I know a lot of people who say they grew up shy but are now very outgoing, social people. I wonder if there is an age or cut-off point where something inside just clicks and it’s easier to be around people. Huh. Well, I like that you’re helping out at people’s parties making the dip. I bet it’s really good dip, too.

  8. Tameri dear, in the world of bacon you are the Queen, the Empress and the Divine Goddess. Nobody gives like you! Thank you so much for including me in the same company as Sheri, Gayle, Jillian and Diane. I love them all! I know we are just the beginning of a very long list you have because you attract givers into your sphere and then encourage and challenge us to do more. We do love you … and I’ll have my bacon in a BLT please!

    • Hmmm, I like that line about encouraging and challenging you to do more. That’s exactly what I feel you ladies do for me! Love you too, my friend. BLTs, yum. I haven’t had one of those in too long. Wish we lived closer so we could have lunch together and chat for hours over drinks and BLTs.

  9. Tameri, you are the most giving in every way! All the ladies you mentioned are amazing as well at helping their fellow writers. Another giver in my world is my best friend. She goes above and beyond for everyone. Consequently she has more people in her corner than I can count. You give; you get…simple as that. Love this post and you!

    • Thank you, Marcia! Love you too, doll. You give, you get. That is totally simple and very true. I love where my life is right now and the people in my sphere, as Patricia says. You’ve all made such a difference in my life and had such a positive influence on me. Your best friend sounds like an amazing woman. Does she know you gush about her online? I hope so. Someday I would love to meet her, and you. Sooner rather than later!

  10. fabulous post Tameri. I had no idea from the title how good it would make me feel. You are a giver, dear friend – of the highest order. this post is just another example of how you care about others. it’s a pleasure to hang around here.

  11. The first thing I thought of when I saw your post title was the comedian Jim Gaffigan and his bit about bacon. The gist is that bacon is awesome and makes everything better.
    Just like you Tameri! ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Awwww love the post Tameri. It’s pretty clear that you are a huge giver and we all love and adore that about you. I am not sure I’d hand over the last piece of bacon…hmmm?!?!?! But I definitely like to think of myself as a giver. It feels good to give, reach out, help someone and do good in your community. It’s important. We are all so blessed…gotta share the wealth! If every single person did, imagine what the world would look like?!!?
    Mwauh!

    • Love you, Natalie! You’re totally a giver, too. All the work you do for MADD is just one example of your awesomeness. I absolutely agree that we’ve got to share the wealth! I’d love to see a more caring, giving world with less selfish bastards taking all the bacon. Mwuah back atcha!

  13. OMG!! Tameri, I canโ€™t believe I missed this! *embarrassed blushing big time* I blame my snowbird migration. Moving from Michigan to Florida in the fall takes more out of me than it once did. (Hey โ€“ gotta blame something, otherwise I look like an ungrateful lout!) Anywayโ€ฆ.(and sorry, August, I know it’s not healthy but hey ) โ€” I LOVE BACON!! How did you know??? The only way I can share it is if I make A LOT to start with!! ๐Ÿ˜€ My basic philosophy in life is โ€œRaise the level of the water and all boats float.โ€ The better we all do, well, the better we all do! ๐Ÿ˜€ And I so appreciate being included in this amazing company but most of all, I must echo the comments everyone else has already made about what a great giver YOU are!! Itโ€™s amazing to me that weโ€™ve all met online and we live so far apart and yet, we have become great friends. Thank you, Tameri, for thinking of me!!!

    • No worries, Diane! I love your philosophy and will quote it often. Thank YOU for always being such a giving woman. I’ve learned so much from you ~ even when I had no idea what you were talking about I took notes and now some of those things make sense because of you.

  14. Where do I find these bacon steaks? I’m drooling now, Tameri. I LOVE bacon. I think it’s a gift from God. Just like Texas sheet cake. Which is why I don’t make either one of them often. I don’t really want to buy my clothes from Goodyear.

    Who do I know that are givers? Many, many people I’ve known most of my life. Most of the authors I’ve met since I got started on this indie journey last year (and no, none of you know the ones who aren’t).

    Am I a giver? It depends. I tend to be very trusting, and have had more than one person steal from me over the years. I’ve also discovered that some have lied to get me to help them. It gets discouraging, but I still help when I can.

    • I don’t know Kristy, but I want one! Yum. The way you described yourself is so familiar to me. I’ve put up some walls over the years and am still learning who I can trust, but it’s getting easier. I have no good or bad radar, at all. I see people and I want to believe everyone is good. It’s tough when you realize they aren’t. I question my judgement sometimes because I just don’t know how I got so blindsided. At least my husband helps me now. Before him it was way worse.

      Guarded givers, that’s what we need to be. Let’s make a club. We can have a treehouse and everything. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  15. Love this post! I think this is an especially good reminder for writers. We get farther when we help each other instead of feeling like we need to compete with each other. I’d honestly rather be beaten by someone I helped than to win because I was a jerk. At the end of the day, I have to be able to sleep at night.

    Unfortunately, you’re right. Givers do get walked over and taken advantage of. The worst part of that is that when we try to stand up for ourselves in an appropriate situation (because sometimes there is a time for it), it’s easy for others to take offense or misunderstand. They’ve gotten so used to using us or getting their way that when we don’t do what they expect, they really take it hard.

    • Exactly on all points! Funny you mention standing up for ourselves… takers get so baffled when givers finally say no. It’s an interesting phenomenon I’ve seen a few times and now it makes me laugh. In the moment, I was caught off-guard that they were mad at ME for standing up for myself. Lesson learned.

      Thanks for stopping by and sharing.

  16. “Weโ€™re ALL super fabulous in our own way. We all deserve a little bacon.”

    Right on, sister! You are so supportive and giving and deserve a bacon steak yourself.

    And EVERYTHING is better with bacon.

I'd love to hear from you!

