Angela Wallace Celebrates Her New Book, Earth Tones!

I’ve known Angela for over a year now and she’s become not just a friend, but a writer I really admire. When her latest book, Earth Tones was set to come out, I happily volunteered to have her on the blog!

Last year I welcomed Angela with this post about her book, Elemental Magic. It’s the first in this series and for the next fives days it’s FREE! Click here to get it. Or, if you’d like to know why Angela writes fantasy, you could read this post where she discusses how she Found Freedom in Fantasy.

Angela is one special lady for many, many reasons.

One of which is she’s self published and darn proud of it. When I asked what she likes about self publishing, this is what she had to say:

AW: I like keeping control over my story. (Yes, I’m a control freak.) I also like working at my own pace. I can be a drill sergeant on myself, but am well aware that “life happens.” It’s easier to give myself permission to be flexible than it is to ask for it from someone else.

I couldn’t just leave it there. Of course I had to know what she didn’t like about it.

AW: The marketing, lol. Though, traditionally published authors have to do much the same. Putting together this blog tour was a big step for me! And I’m much happier doing virtual tours than I would be physical bookstores. (Crowds, travel…)

As you all know, on Tuesday I talked about how songs inspire my writing, so I wanted to know if Angela was inspired by music too, or if she craved silence.

AW: Silence most of the time, though every once in a while I’ll put on instrumental Celtic music. There are also songs that just spark a story to life in my mind, kind of like a movie trailer: jumbled scenes thrown together with a soundtrack. At the moment, I’m listening to “Skyrim” by Peter Hollens and Lindsey Stirling on repeat in my car, letting it solidify images for my current book in my head.

I am always curious to know where writers write, so I asked Angela what her dream writing place would be. If you’d like a peek at my writing space, I wrote about it back in April. Check it out here!

AW: A bigger desk! Right now, my laptop sits on top of a wooden shelf (so it’s ergonomically at eye level). Underneath is space for my notes, but I have so many they all overlap. I have just enough room on the right for my storyboard notebook to sit open to one page, not two. I would love more space to spread out.

Don’t we all, my darling! There seems to be a huge debate raging about plotting books or just pantsing your way through them, so you know I had to find out what Angela does.

AW: I seem to be going back and forth on this. I plotted Earth Tones, and recently I tried pantsing a story for the challenge, but it didn’t work out. Now I’m technically pantsing the sequel to Dreamwalker, though I do have a general idea of where it’s going.

Even though our characters are like children, it’s impossible not to have favorites. Mine are Taryn and Rhoane from the fantasy series (shh, don’t tell the others). So who is Angela’s?

AW: Hm, I think it might have to be Lexa from Dreamwalker. She’s tough like I wish I was, and I do enjoy writing her hand-to-hand fight scenes. *grin*

Lexa’s mine, too! I loved that book and cannot wait for the next one in the series. Okay, we can’t just give out love here, we also want to know what character makes your skin crawl? You know, what character did you have to write, but didn’t like it?

AW: The murderer in Dry Spell who turned people into mummified corpses was creepy. I even freaked myself out a little writing the scene where the killer tried to do that to one of the main characters. But the one character who really makes my skin crawl is an antagonist in a short story I wrote years ago, based on something that really happened. I might put it on the blog sometime.

Ew, yeah he was bad, but the character you wrote that made my skin crawl was Morech from Dreamwalker. He was eeeeeevil.

Let’s talk a little about your latest book, Earth Tones. Tell us about Nita, the main character.

AW: Nita Young is an earth elemental. She lives in Yakutat, Alaska where she works as the town’s veterinarian. Her job is to take care of the animals and land, but she also enjoys helping human patients at the health clinic. She has two Husky dogs, Puck and Lakota, and enjoys pottery in her spare time. She could use her earth wielding to make sculptures, but prefers to use the wheel and tools. As she would say, “otherwise it’s just elemental magic, not art.”

Very cool! We got to see Aileen in the first two Elemental Magic books; will Nita be returning for number four?

AW: Yes. Aileen sort of set the precedent for a protagonist to get two books. I already have some ideas churning.

Will there be books with air and fire elementals?

AW: Most definitely. I already know who the characters are, and I hope to introduce the air elemental in Nita’s next book before she gets her own story in #5.

I love how organized you are! I need to work on that business plan thing, but you seem to have it all figured out.

So, when you aren’t writing, you read. What are you reading right now?

AW: I just finished Carnival of Souls by Melissa Marr and found it very interesting. Now I’m just starting Shadowfell by Juliet Marillier.

Great, now I have more books to add to the TBR pile! Enough about books, let’s get to the fun questions…

What’s a unique hobby you have?

AW: I took up ballroom dancing this past spring and am loving it!

Ballroom dancing? Love it! I would never have guessed that one. Let’s see how I’d fare with this one. What’s the geekiest thing about you?

AW: I know how to write a form of Tolkien’s elvish runes. I used to exchange letters with a friend in high school written in them. It also makes a very handy code to keep passwords in.

Yep! I knew that. And I’m STILL jealous. Who would you want on your team to survive the zombie apocalypse?

AW: I’ve seen a couple posters for this on FB. I’ll go with Hawkeye because the dude never misses. And the Hulk because smashing zombies would probably be a fun game for him. I’d also want someone with supernatural fire powers, but since most pyro characters I know of are arrogant men, I’m going to pick a female fire starter from a book I haven’t written yet. 😉

Cowboy hat, baseball cap, or tiara?

AW: I’m tempted by the tiara, but I bet it would give me a headache. How about a crochet beanie since I’m cold all the time?

A crochet beanie? That’s awesome. I might have to add that to the choices. Okay, a crochet beanie it is. Like maybe one that looks like Yoda ears. I so want those.

What do you think readers would be most surprised to learn about you?

AW: That I’m really quite anti-social, lol. It’s easier not to appear that way online, but if you met me in person with a large group of people, I’d likely slip out at first chance without saying goodbye. One-on-one is okay though.

And the final question is… What’s your opinion of garden gnomes?

AW: I’ve never met one, but I hear they’re great travel agents.

Now do you see why I love this lady so much? Earth Tones is out now on Amazon.

Here’s a quick blurb about the book:

Earth Tones, Elemental Magic Book Three

Nita Young doesn’t know if she has a future with college sweetheart Keenan Donovan—two star-crossed lovers of opposing elements—but she invites him up to Alaska to see if Earth and Water can rekindle their old flame.

When a series of wild animal attacks strike the inhabitants of Yakutat, Nita has to put her romantic plans on hold. Mangled bodies are turning up, and a mysterious black panther has been spotted in the woods. Fur, scales, and a venomous bite suggest the cat is supernatural in origin—and evidence indicates that someone not only summoned it, but is using it to target those Nita cares about. It’s the perfect murder weapon: no fingerprints, no evidence. And in a town this small, the killer is someone she knows.

Nita’s strength will be put to the test as she faces losing her friends, her town, and the man she loves.

***oooOOOooo***

Angela Wallace loves gun-toting good boys and could have been a cop in another life except for the unfortunate condition of real blood making her queasy. Good thing writing gun and sword fights isn’t a problem. In her books you’ll find the power of love, magic, and redemption.
You can check out Angela’s Blog here. Or find her on Facebook here. You can follow her on Twitter here, OR you can check out her Amazon Author Page here!

Angela’s awesomeness isn’t quite over. She made a trailer for her book! It’s pretty darn awesome, so check it out.

Thank you to everyone who took the time to get to know Angela a little better. There are people we meet who instantly become a part of our lives, like Angela has for mine.

Is there someone in your life that makes you smile? Maybe they make you want to be a better person or they just give you encouragement to carry on when you really feel like quitting. Share with us who makes your world a more special place! And then go check out Angela’s books on Amazon. 🙂

35 thoughts on “Angela Wallace Celebrates Her New Book, Earth Tones!

  1. Great interview Tameri. I enjoyed how you wove different topic threads into your post. Taking notes for whenever I return to blogging. 🙂

    I’m with Angela about Lexa in Dreamwalker. It’s been months since I read that story, but I still think about that character and her story — especially when I’m kickboxing in my workout class. (Which, in reality, my efforts at kickboxing are a full stop comedy routine, but in my *mind* I’m super tough like Lexa.)

    • Tameri is definitely one to take notes from!

      Lol. Bridgette, I don’t do kickboxing, but I sure wish I did every time I write Lexa’s fight scenes! I love that I learned something new about you too! 🙂

      • Kickboxing? Dang, that sounds like fun, but tough. Lexa’s my favorite, too because she’s such a kickass heroine. I think we all want to be a little like her in our own lives, even if we’re just doing laundry.

  2. Angela, it’s so nice to meet you on Tameri’s blog! Your books sound fascinating. I may be a mystery author, but I’m an eclectic reader, so I’ll definitely check them out.

    BTW, tiaras do not have to give headaches (it’s probably the responsibility of wearing the crown that does that). Mine is quite comfortable and I wear it as often as possible. It does seem to be designed to fit my head perfectly. My son tried it on and it didn’t match the circumference of his noggin.

    • Oooh, thanks for the link, Emma. You know we’re all about meeting new people here on the blog! Definitely download Elemental Magic (it’s free right now!), I think you’ll like it. It’s not all dark and spooky like your books, but it’s fun with some cool twists. I’m with you on the cover of Earth Tones, isn’t it gorgeous?!

      Hope you have a great weekend, my friend.

  3. Pingback: New urban fantasy release from Angela Wallace! | Patricia Sands' Blog

I'd love to hear from you!

