From the Ridiculous to the Sublime, A Year of Gratitude

Happy Thanksgiving my beautiful friends! 

Back in November of last year there were loads of posts from my blogging friends about what they were thankful for, and a handful of them suggested we should be thankful all year, not just on one day.

Well, yeah, that totally makes sense. There is so much in our lives to be grateful for that it should spread out to a whole year.

At the time, my sister Karla was posting a pic a day on Facebook and something in my squirmy brain went, ‘Aha!’. A picture AND gratitude everyday.

And that’s when the Attitude of Gratitude 366 began. Since starting my AoG366 on January 1st of this year, I’ve only missed a few days of pics, not because I wasn’t grateful, but due to simple reasons like ~ I work at home and sometimes I don’t change out of my jammies to see what the world is doing. Or, I was sick and you really don’t want a picture of  what I was staring at most of the day. Sometimes I took a picture and forgot to put it up because I’m easily distracted by sparkly things.

Like the title of this blog post suggests, some of the pictures were quite ridiculous, like this one of a random goat that lives in the front yard of this house. I live in a city, people. Not the country where this might be more common.

Others were more sublime, like this pic of the sky I snapped on the way home from the market. The clouds were almost close enough to touch.

Many of the pictures were of family or friends. As I scroll through looking at my year in review, I realize what an awesome life I have.

Just looking at this picture of Michael and a friend jumping on the trampoline gives me chills of happiness. Seeing kids being kids is one of life’s greatest joys.

So is enjoying a cup of tea with my daughter on one of her visits home.

And the friends?

Oh my! This year was filled with good times from hanging out at Disneyland or a horse show with Gayle Carline, to meeting tons of new friends at various conferences.

These women rocked my world this year, not just in writing, but in life. They are giving of their time, their wisdom, and when needed, a shoulder to cry upon. I just wish I had pictures of ALL the fabulous ladies I have the honor of calling my friends. That’s my new goal for next year.

Here are just a few…

Melinda VanLone, Kate Wood, and Debra Kristi

Angela Wallace, Ali Dent, and Kate Wood

Jessica Therrien, Sheri Fink, Debra Kristi, and Bethany Lopez

Gayle and Snoopy

Jenny Hansen

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tomorrow when I’m sitting at the table with friends and family, I’ll know exactly what I’m thankful for. The large moments, as well as the small, the beauty of a rose, to the quiet magnificence of a setting sun’s last rays.

I’m thankful for this life I have and all the wonderful, crazy, quirky, kind, mysterious, gorgeous people who make every day worth living.

To you, I say thank you.

Have a wonderful holiday tomorrow and if you’re not in the States, Happy Thursday! 🙂

May your year be filled with gratitude.

Much love and hugs to you all.

~Tameri

There is far too much goodness in my year to put into this one blog, so if you’d like to see the rest of my pictures, check out the Attitude of Gratitude 366 Pinterest board I made.

 

27 thoughts on “From the Ridiculous to the Sublime, A Year of Gratitude

  1. I’m so thankful that we’ve been able to spend time together this year, from the San Diego conference to seeing Kathy Griffin to going to Disneyland… We should totes try to get together before Christmas. Think your foot and my eye can manage it somehow?

    Hugs, and Happy Thanksgiving!

    • Me too, Gayle! I definitely think your eye and my foot could manage. I know! We’ll rent me a scooter thing and you should wear your eye patch. We’ll go around yelling, ‘Get off my walkway or you’ll walk the plank ye scurvy bilge rat!’. It’ll be epic.

      Hope your Thanksgiving was super fun and you were able to relax. Looking forward to Princess Diana and tea.

    • Thanks Emma. Yeah, it was nice to see the simple things I’m grateful for. I’m kind of glad we didn’t go on a big vacation this year ~ it really made me think about what I have in my life on a daily basis that brings me joy. Which, it was fun to realize, are silly things I definitely took for granted before.

      Have a great weekend, my friend!

  2. YAY! I was finally able to “like” one of your posts.

    I am SO SO SO thankful for you, Tameri. You’ve been a light at the end of a dark tunnel. I truly appreciate you as a person, a writer and my very good friend. I hope you and yours have a fabulous holiday =)

    *MUAH*

    • Oh, you have no idea how thankful I am for you, Kate! Everything you said about me ~ yeah, that goes right back to you. I appreciate your love and support very, very much. Muah back to you a thousand fold!

    • Yep, I find it’s better to be positive than pissy. I’ve tried both and people don’t throw things at me when I’m smiling. 😉

      Hope things are well for you in Australia, my friend. I’ll be at the conference in February, any chance I’ll see you then?

  3. How lovely! It’s always the simplest things that people take for granted, and yet they bring so much joy. I love your pictures, even the goat. How silly is that? A goat in the city?

    Thanks for sharing and have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

    • Hello Patricia!

      I know, a goat in the city. Apparently, we have a tiny section that is still considered rural and you can have horses (no more than 2), and goats. Technically, I could have one goat and six chickens in my backyard should I so desire. I actually went to our city website to look all this up and I think I might have to get some chicks next year and have me some chickens. Not a goat, though, that would just be frivolous. 😉

      I hope your holiday was festive and you had a nice time with your family and friends.

  4. Tameri, you are such a thoughtful woman and always so quick to help, support and share.Your quick wit always guarantees plenty of laugh out loud moments. I’ve really enjoyed your Attitude of Gratitude photos and I’m going to hop right on over to Pinterest to see what you’ve done. Sending you and yours warm wishes for a very happy day. I hope that 2013 brings us the opportunity to finally meet in person … Atlanta …?

    • Awww, thanks Patricia! You always say the kindest things, really.

      Atalanta, definitely! I can’t wait for that conference and finally getting to meet you. It’s going to be a week-long riot, I’m sure.

    • And we miss spending Thanksgiving with you and your family! Michael is taller than Deborah now, I bet your boys are almost as tall as Monte, or even taller. I hope some year you can come out and visit ~ or maybe we’ll head back east. That sounds like a great plan! Miss you all.

    • You’re so welcome, my darling friend. I’m grateful for you in my life. You will probably never know how much your wisdom has helped me. I hope someday we’ll get to meet in person so I can properly thank you with a great big hug. Or sloppy kiss, which ever you prefer.

    • And you as well, August! I’m so happy that we live close enough that we can spend time together. You are absolutely one of the most gorgeous women I know, but your beauty isn’t just on the outside. You have the kindest, most caring soul as well. I’m honored to call you my friend.

      I hope your Thanksgiving was fun!

    • I missed a few of the days… it was hard to do it every single day, but that didn’t mean I wasn’t grateful. Funny you mention the soup… when I was putting all the pics on Pinterest, there were TWO pictures of chicken noodle soup. Duh! I guess I’m really, really thankful for that soup. 😉 I’m such a goober.

      Have a terrific weekend, my friend. Will you be going to any conferences next year? I’d love to meet you in person!

      • Hey…if loving chicken noodle soup makes you a goober, I’ll gladly stand up and admit that I fit right in with all the rest of the goobers. 🙂

        As for a conference…at this point I’m not sure. I’ve thought about the one in Atlanta, but I’ve heard such horror stories about driving in that town that I’m not sure. If they would have one in Chicago…now I could totally do that one. (you might have figured out that it has to be in reasonable driving distance…because even if I go on a plane, it would have to be cleared to travel on the freeway…because that’s the only way I’d ever set foot on one If it left the ground, I’d be standing there waving goodbye to it.). 🙂

I'd love to hear from you!

