Make it Last by Bethany Lopez ~ Big Love in a Small Package!

You know how they say great things come in small packages? Well, Bethany Lopez proves it’s true with her novella, Make It Last ~ the first in her Friends and Lovers Trilogy chronicling the relationships of several friends in a small town in Texas. It’s available in paperback or Kindle, which you know we love. Click here to check it out on Amazon.

Not only is Bethany super nice and fun, she’s one heck of a supermom. She has a full-time job with the military and she’s also chief wrangler of five, yes five, kids. Somehow she finds time to write sweet romances and a YA series that she self published earlier this year.

Let’s get to know Bethany a bit more with a little Q&A. We’ll keep it fast and fun today.

ME:  What made you want to write this series?

BETHANY: I was listening to a lot of country music and I loved the idea of a small town romance with an HEA.

ME: You like to write sweet romances, have you ever thought about writing in another genre like paranormal or mystery?

BETHANY: When I was younger, I wrote horror. I loved to read Stephen King and Dean Koontz, and enjoyed writing things that scared people.

ME: Make It Last is set in a small town, have you ever lived in a small town? If so, what was your favorite thing about living in a small town?

BETHANY: My mom was in the Air Force and when I was a kid she was stationed in San Antonio. For three years we lived in a small town 20 miles outside of San Antonio called LaCoste. It was while I was in Junior High. I absolutely loved living there. I loved the freedom that I had as a child. I played outside from sun up until the street lights came on.

ME: Your MC Briana wants to become a chef, is this autobiographical at all? Are you a fabulous chef like Bree?

BETHANY: Haha… It’s not autobiographical, but in every book that I’ve written, you’ll find a piece of me. Before I was a recruiter, I was a cook in the Air Force. A few years ago I was accepted to Le Cordon Bleu in Las Vegas, but it didn’t work out. I don’t know if I would say I’m a fabulous chef, but I do love to cook.

ME: This book has a bit of a shocker in it, as well as a controversial subject. Was it hard for you to write that, or was it something that felt necessary to tell the story?

BETHANY: I had been told that this was a subject that writers should never write about, that it is something that publishers shy away from. Since I self published, I wanted to keep it in. The storyline came about organically, so I just went with my gut.

ME: You tend to write shorter, novella length books. Any chance you’ll ever write a full-fledged novel any time soon?

BETHANY: I don’t know. I honestly don’t set out to write them so short, but I find myself wrapping things up at around the same work count in every book.

ME: What are you working on now?

BETHANY: I have two completed ms’s that I am editing: Book 2 to Make it Last, I Choose You, and Nissa: a contemporary fairy tale. I have also started writing book 4 in the Stories About Melissa series, TTYL, and book 3 in the Friends & Lovers Trilogy, Trust in Me.

ME: What’s something about you that might surprise your readers?

BETHANY: I have the sense of humor of a 13 year old boy.

***ooOOoo***

And THAT would be why I love her so much! Did you read up there how many stories she’s working on? We’re going to be seeing much, much more from this lady!

Make it Last ~

41BWKii96QL._SL160_In a small town, it’s hard to recover from being dumped by your high school sweetheart. That’s just what Briana has to do after Colin leaves her to follow his dreams. She focuses her energy into her friendships and the pursuit of her own goal of becoming a chef. Just when she finally feels like she’s on the right path, he comes back to town.

Colin knew breaking up with Briana before leaving for college was the right thing to do. He was determined to leave small-town life behind forever, and that included his high school girlfriend. But when a sports injury puts him on the sidelines, he’s forced to return home. Seeing Briana again brings back a lot of memories, and Colin wonders if he made the right decision. It doesn’t take long for him to realize he wants her back, and this time, he wants to make it last.

photo Bethany Lopez was born in Detroit, Michigan, and grew up in Michigan and San Antonio, Texas. She went to High School at Dearborn High, in Dearborn, Michigan, which is where she has set her Young Adult novel. She is married and has a blended family with five children. She is currently serving in the United States Air Force as a Recruiter in Los Angeles, California. She has always loved to read and write and has seen her dream realized by independently publishing her contemporary Young Adult series, Stories About Melissa. Ta Ta for Now! and xoxoxo are available now. She is currently working on the third book in the series, Ciao

Novellas are fun, fast reads. What are some novellas you’ve read recently that you’d recommend? If you could live in any small town, what state would it be in? I think Colorado would be fun. Or Washington State.

5 thoughts on “Make it Last by Bethany Lopez ~ Big Love in a Small Package!

  1. This book sounds like my type of read–I just put it on my list., I’ve never been to Washington but I’ve read some great stories set in Washington towns near the water. I pick there!

  2. Sounds like a fabulous series! And I have a special place in my heart for midwestern writers. 🙂 Thanks for supporting authors so beautifully, Tameri, and for introducing us to the fabulous Lopez! Wishing her oodles of continual success.

  3. Yay, another writer from Michigan. Well, sort of from Michigan. That’s where 99% of my stories are set….cause I’ll probably be living here forever (maybe Montana if we don’t start getting more snow again though 🙂 ).

    I will have to check out your stories. I’m getting to the place where I really like the shorter novellas. It just seems like I’m so busy anymore, and I put off reading because when I start a good book, I want to finish it…before I put it down, the only exception being my treadmill. Nothing quite like limiting longer stories to one of my least favorite activities. If I want to know what happens next, I have to suck it up and get my walking in.

I'd love to hear from you!

