Best Book Club Ever ~ Fifty Shades of Fabulous!

FSOG BookClub Laters BabyI’m not going to lie, I have a pretty darn cool book club on the best of days, but this past Sunday, we knocked it out of the park.

It might’ve been the spiced eggnog we had at our December book club, but when Susie said she wanted to read Fifty Shades of Grey for January AND have a passion party to go with it, we were all a bit giggly. And excited.Β IYKWIM.Β πŸ˜‰

We knew it would be fun, but we had no idea how fahhhhbulous Susie would make it. Not only did she decorate her entire house, including a special Red Room of Pain, but she even themed the food.

FSOG BookClub Forbidden Fruit FSOG BookClub Nipple Clamp Cookies FSOG BookClub Subs

It was out of this world incredible!

And the Passion Party? So fun!

Let’s just say I left Susie’s with my sides hurting from laughing too much and a few dollars poorer from my, um, toy purchases. Yes, friends, it was that kind of party.

FSOG BookClub Vagina PillowBut what I really came away with that night was a better sense of who I am and a confidence I didn’t know I had. There I was, sitting in a room full of friends, some close, and others on their way to being close, and we were talking about masturbation, sex toys, and the grandmother of them all, our G-spots.

Yes, we giggled like naughty school girls caught oggling the hot teacher. Especially when Azule brought out the vagina pillow with a special diamond for the, um, clitoris. Seriously! Of course I took a picture of it to share with you because I love you and I care.

It was one helluva sexy night. If you’ve never been to a passion party, I say go! Get some girlfriends together, have a little wine beforehand, and let your imagination take flight. It was fun, informative, and insightful.

As for the book? We didn’t really discuss it much. We were too busy giggling over the nipple clamp cookies.

Want to get in touch with your inner goddess? August McLaughlin has a great series on her blog she calls #GirlBoner, you can read all about fantasies in this post. Or if you want some ideas for boosting your body image for satisfying sex, click here. As you can tell, August is all about empowering women to be their most beautiful and sexy selves!

That’s really what the fun party was all about. Passion. For ourselves, our partners, our lives.

For all of Susie’s fabulous party ideas, check out my Pinterest board here. She really did an amazing job!

Now it’s your turn to share ~ have you ever been to a Passion Party? Would you giggle like a little girl (like we did), or would you be smooth and casual about it all?

26 thoughts on “Best Book Club Ever ~ Fifty Shades of Fabulous!

  1. Oh, Tameri, it sounds as though you had so much fun and an activity that makes you feel good about yourself has to be good! I must pass this idea along to my step-daughter as she’s heavily into themed book club meetings. And, isn’t it funny how we can all turn into a group of giggling girls when talking about sexual pleasures. It doesn’t matter the age. I remember being so shocked when an aunt of mine told me she was going to a ‘Pleasure Party’ (at age 72) — something to do with needing entertainment down on the range. (Rural Kansas). I’ve had a lot of laughs and still can’t sit across from her at holiday gatherings.

    • Oh, please do share with your step-daughter! It was a riot. I’ve been giggling about your aunt all day. What a hoot ~ at 72! I don’t blame you for not being able to sit across from her, I’d break out laughing every time I made eye contact. OR, who knows what stories she might share over the cranberry salad. πŸ™‚

  2. How was I not booked in “the price is right” fashion…as a product model…..a quick trip to CA would have been a welcomed site this past week

  3. Aw. What an awesome party! So glad you had a giggle-filled, empowering fabulous time.
    Can you believe I’ve never been to such a party?!? Guess I’ll have to organize one…

    Thanks for the super sweet shout out! Turned my Girl Boner pinker. πŸ˜‰

    • Yep, and your #GirlBoner posts helped! I kept thinking, ‘August would so approve of this moment, breathe and have fun’. Isn’t it nice to know you’re in my thoughts when I’m looking at vibrators? πŸ™‚ Love you, girlfriend!

    • Haha! Every Susie I know is awesome, I think I even commented that on one of your posts a long time ago… anyway, I only know two Susies, but you both rock!

      Oh, the guys thought it was a scream. Some of us were even texting them during the party to get ideas of what they’d like and others put in their order beforehand. They are a hoot, those husbands!

    • Isn’t that the cutest idea? The nipples were jelly beans, poor things.

      We have a great book club. Come to Cali and join us! Aren’t I always inviting you out here? One of these days you really must come for a visit. πŸ™‚

    • It was WAY too much fun, Dana! I loved that we were all into it. I got an email that my parcel is on its way… ooooh, sexy time!

      Poor Jackie has to follow that up with J.K. Rowling? What, she’s going to have a dead body in the living room? Yikes.

  4. Sorry I’m commenting so late after the fact. Two things to say: I wish there were a better sexy book that was getting all the ladies so excited to talk about sex toys and other stuff so freely; and second, I’m getting jealous that the ladies get to talk about this. Can men talk about this without sounding like perverts?

    • Hey Scott! Thanks for stopping in, it’s never too late to join the party.

      I totally agree about there being a better book, but the beauty of Fifty Shades is, it got us talking about these things publicly. That’s a win I’d say. I think better books are being written, they just aren’t getting the recognition Fifty did. Bummer, but that’s they way it is sometimes. I have a friend who has bought tons of erotica after reading FSOG, something she wouldn’t have done a year ago, so kudos to her!

      As for men being able to talk about these things ~ absolutely. I think it all depends on the level of respect brought to the table. I spent an evening with two gentlemen who were trying to out Alpha each other. It was ridiculous and their comments toward the women were rude. The next night, I sat at a table with three gentlemen and we discussed all manner of things from our first time to how we like it in bed. All with respect and absolutely no perversion.

      I should mention, this was at a writer’s conference and we are all married. So it wasn’t like we were trying to pick anyone up. Even the guys the first night were married, but they seemed to think all the women in the bar wanted them nonetheless. It was a little sad and pathetic.

      If you treat women with respect and not belittle, objectify, or demean then, they’ll talk about just about anything you want to talk about. At least, that’s been my experience.

      If you’re ever in SoCal, let me know. We’ll hang out!

I'd love to hear from you!

