Sisterhood of the Traveling Wig ~ What Lights Your Creative Spirit?

WS The Whole Gang

Yesterday on her blog Jenny Hansen asked, “What Lights Your Creative Spirit On Fire?” It’s a fascinating post delving into the need for writers and creative types to nurture our mind, body, and spirits. When you’re finished here, I’d love it if you popped on over to show Jenny some bloggy love.

My response to Jenny’s question came instantly ~ being around other writers lights my creative spirit on fire.

Nearly two years ago I took a blogging class from Kristen Lamb, the WANA Mama who created a community for writers where we can come together to encourage and support each other. What’s WANA? It stands for We Are Not Alone. Because this writing gig is often lonely, it’s important to have people around who ‘get you’.

In Kristen’s online class, I learned loads about blogging, but what I ultimately gained from the experience was a family. A group of writers as excited about me and my writing as I am about them and theirs. As Kristen added more classes, the family grew.

On Monday I got to hang out with some of those family members and we had a blast. We talked about our real life families, schooling, our books, merkins (Google it, but please don’t drink anything when you do), and we talked about flashy pink wigs and tiaras.

Why pink wigs and tiaras?

Because that’s what I wore to dinner.

Sure, it was a little strange to be the only one at the table wearing them, but I didn’t care. I was surrounded by women who accepted me and all my zaniness. Encouraged it, even.

I was surrounded by love.

By the end of the night that wig and tiara made their way to almost every head. Like the jeans in Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, that wig looked great on everyone! Just take a look at these beauties.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’m fortunate that I live in an area where I can see my writing friends on a regular basis and I can’t recommend this enough. No matter where you live, or what you do, you need to find those folks who ‘get you’. Through my WANA sistas, I joined the Romance Writers of America (RWA). In less than a year with RWA, I’ve pushed my writing further than I did in nearly seven years of attending conferences. Why? Because I see my chapter mates once a month and it’s that continual support that encourages me to be the best writer I can be and to get my work out there.

All of these writers, whether they are friends from conferences, online, WANA, or RWA, have enriched my life in so many ways, but mostly what they do is light my creative spirit’s fire. They challenge me to be a better writer, and dare I say, a better person.

So today, I challenge you to get out of your comfort zone. Don a pink wig and tiara and find your family. Whether it be artists, writers, grave diggers, or whatever lights your creative spirt’s fire, find people who will push you to be amazing. Because we can all use a little nudge every now and again.

In the coming months you’re going to see some changes around the blog. I’ll be making the Β leap to a self hosted website and I hope you’ll all come along for the adventure. The amazing and gorgeous Laird Sapir is hard at work on the new site. It’s going to be fun and groovy, filled with lots of writerly and readerly goodness.

I also hope to have some ultra super fabulous news about my books in the next month. Great things have been happening behind the scenes, but I’m not ready to unveil them yet. Β If you’ve been wondering why the blog has been hit or miss lately, it’s because I’ve been feverishly finishing edits. How’s that for a sweet hint? πŸ˜‰

So tell us, what lights your creative spirit? Do you have a group of writers or creative types that make you want to be better? What color wig do you own? Want to own?

In case you didn’t get enough of our zaniness, here are a few more pics from the night. Enjoy!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

40 thoughts on “Sisterhood of the Traveling Wig ~ What Lights Your Creative Spirit?

  1. I got together with my best writing buddy, Adriana Ryan, last night for “Adult Milkshakes” and writerly chat. It was awesome and definitely has my creative spirit burning bright!

    Love the wig πŸ™‚

      • Mine was the “Key Lime Pie” – it tasted like a key lime pie with coconut rum! So yummy. Adriana had an oreo and vodka one πŸ™‚ So yum! If you ever make it to Charleston we’ll take you out for one!

      • Oh. My. You girls know how to do it! I wish Charleston was close enough to Atlanta that I could pop over for a milkshake this summer when I’m out for RWA Nationals. Those sound super yum. I’ll have to make it to Charleston soon.

  2. Love the pics! So happy you were able to get together with that great group of sistas! Writer friends are definitely who light a fire under me, too! Looking forward to the day I can visit with some in person.

    • I so wish you were here, too. One of these days… It was a blast to hang out with with the WANAs. You’d absolutely adore Diana. I can just picture the two of you getting into trouble. In a good way!

  3. I’m still totally jealous. πŸ™‚

    Looks like all of you had fun. And add me to the list of people who were clueless about merkins…all I can say to fake hair and glue on sensitive parts of the body is, “oh HELL no!” Even if Cuba Gooding Jr. couldn’t act, I’d love him for that phrase alone. It just right for so many situations…and merkins would be one of them. Of course, I suppose if I earned as much as Jake, Kate, and the rest, I could suffer the humiliation, chafing and pain. Yeah, probably not.

    I think I’m going to have to make a better effort to find some writing groups in this area. Especially other stray WANAs. I can’t be the only one in mid-Michigan. And when I find them, pink wigs and tiaras are going to be mandatory. πŸ˜‰

    • I know, who the heck would ever go through all that for some fake fur? Not me!

      You definitely need to find some groups in the area. I’ll bet they are there, you just need to sniff them out. I so wish you lived closer. We’d get into so much fun.

  4. I LOVE this Tameri. Writer friends really do make ALL the difference. I hope one day I will get to meet and hang out with you, Tameri. πŸ™‚ Oh and can’t wait to hear your good news…

    • WHAT?!?! You’re only an hour away and you don’t get together? That’s just crazysauce. You should meet halfway once a month or something. And if you’re ever out on the West Coast, we have got to hang out!

  5. Love the pictures. Wish I could have donned the pink wig too, but alas I am way too far away to have indulged in that pleasure.

    I too am energized whenever I get together with other writer-types. It’s so nice to share experiences and not feel like a crazy person when we hear voices in our heads.

    Looks like a good time was had by all!

    Can’t wait for the good news!!

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

    • I wish you were here to don the wig, too! One of these days, I’m sure.

      That’s funny ~ it’s so true, being around other writers actually legitimizes the voices in our heads. πŸ˜‰

    • We missed you, Tracey! I sure wish you lived closer. Do you have a good group of writers you can hang out with?

      I hope to see you at Nationals this year. I’ll bring the wig ~ you’d look absolutely stunning in hot pink. πŸ™‚

      • I do have some cool women to hang out with, but the more, the merrier! Can’t wait to see you guys at Nationals and I’ll TOTALLY rock the pink wig- Gwen Stefani-style!! πŸ™‚

  6. Oh, hell.

    I was all geared to go double-entendre-naughty on what lights my creative writing fires, Tameri, and you had to one-up that notion with an awesomesauce group of writer peeps. I knew I should have extended my stay in California for another week.

    At least I’ll see most of you at DFWCon. Can. Not. Wait!

    Lovely pics. You all looked so writerly like a party that found its happening place. My writing community is scattered from Toronto to Southern California. Hence, the desire to meander around in a Mini-Winnebago pulling a VW bug convertible. Coming soon to a treed campsite near you.

    • YAY! I’ll see you at DFW Con. So excited. August and I were talking about your Mini-Winnie and are psyched for you to travel around in it, especially since you’ll be coming out here.

      I suppose until then, I’ll be content with hanging out in Dallas. I can’t wait either!

  7. Pingback: Writers Write, but Do They Conference? | Smart Women

  8. Pingback: Writers Write, But Do They Conference | Small Town World

  9. What fun! The pink wig and tiara idea could only have originated with you, Tameri! It’s so cool that so many of you can meet like that and you are absolutely right about a group of writing ‘besties’ lighting our creative fires. Nothing better! See you in Atlanta!

  10. You and your wig lit up our night! So fun reliving it all just now. πŸ™‚ I adore you all, and have been jonseing for a pink wig, a blue one, maybe a silver and, hmm… Well, I guess I need a rainbow collection! And seriously, that wig was comfortable. I think it’s as magical as you are.

    • Oooh, a silver wig. That would be fun. They had a cool tinsel-like silver wig at the wig shop that I wanted to get, but chickened out. I should go back and get it for you. You’d totally rock it.

      Aww, magical? Thank you! I love that.

  11. Oh my God. You didn’t link to me to alert me to this amazing-ness!!! It took me three days to catch up in my email enough to find it. Geesh, girl!!

    That wig was amazing: Every gal who put it on lit right up. I love that you have all these photos. I’m going to add this link to my next mashup and bookmark it so I can see my pals whenever I need to. πŸ™‚

    • I did link you! Up there, the title of your blog post is a link. Huh. Weird WP didn’t alert you.

      That was such a fun night and seriously, we all looked fabulous in the wig. I love your smile, it’s so full of joy and a love of life.

  12. OMG, loved the pink wig! I actually was driving down the highway the other day and saw the airport exit, thought to myself “Wouldn’t it be cool to just keep driving, hop on a plane to CA and visit the gals in my tribe!” Just a fleeting thought, but very powerful. I’m so jealous you all live close! Going to pout now. πŸ™‚

    • Oh man! You should’ve driven to the airport! Well, maybe next time. Whenever you need an escape, you can come out here. I love how the Internet brings us all closer, but sometimes it’s not close enough. I wish you lived closer!

  13. I finally got to read your post, Tameri! So much fun! I’m so glad you posted this. The Pink Wig was a smash. It was a wonderful get-together. Being around my writer friends are the best of times, fer sure!

  14. Pingback: ‘Wigtimate’ moments with Sheri Fink and her latest book, The Little Firefly | Tameri Etherton

  15. Pingback: W is for Wig Mania (Happening Next Week at #DFWCon) | Jenny Hansen's Blog

I'd love to hear from you!

