‘Wigtimate’ moments with Sheri Fink and her latest book, The Little Firefly

Sheri FinkIt’s no secret that I adore Sheri Fink. Like, I’m super duper smitten with her and would probably climb to the top of Mt. Kilimanjaro if she asked me to. That’s not to say I would survive the trek, but there isn’t much I wouldn’t do for this amazing woman who is truly one of the nicest, most giving, supportive people I know. To read an interview I did with her a few years ago, click here.

Sheri is an independently published entrepreneur who is living her dream: writing books that inspire kids to believe in themselves. Which, makes her all the more awesome in my book.

I’m so excited for my friend. Her fourth inspirational children’s book, The Little Firefly, comes out today and is already a #1 best-seller on Amazon! Following in the footsteps of her previous #1 best-sellers, The Little Rose and The Little Gnome, The Little Firefly is about a young firefly who can’t wait to be all grown up. As time goes on, she watches her friends start to glow and longingly wonders when her time to shine will come. This enchanting story helps young kids learn the value of patience and true friendship. Hmm, sounds familiar! I’m pretty sure Sheri and I have had a few ‘Little Firefly’ conversations about our adult lives. The learning never ends…

Not only is Sheri a fabulous children’s book author, she’s one of the coolest friends I have. When she sent me an invite to join her on Let’s Make a Deal, I was like, sure! Then I set my DVR to watch the show because I had NO idea what it was about. In fact, I thought it was The Price is Right. I was so wrong. Um, costumes? Really?

Yep.

LMAD_Sheri_Tameri_Feb0613104So I threw something together (knowing Sheri would look fabulous), and came up with a ‘Queen of Hearts’ thing to go with Sheri’s super cute ‘Candyland’ costume. Don’t we look adorable? Can you believe they didn’t pick us? We’re still in shock over that as well. Maybe next time.

I had so much fun shopping for the pink wig that I turned around and invited Sheri to go with me to a cute little wig shop in San Diego where we found some fun creations.

Sheri Hot Pink WigSheri Blonde WigSheri Red WigSheri Light Pink WigSheri Black WigTameri Super Heavy Blonde Wig

If Sheri hadn’t asked me to go with her to LMAD, I never would have bought that pink wig, which means there wouldn’t have been a Sisterhood of the Traveling Wig and you all KNOW you would’ve been sad if that never happened!

Sheri inspires me to be a better person. To stretch beyond my comfort zone not only in wig purchases (of which I now own three and am thinking of getting more ~ it’s addicting!), but in my writing as well. Sheri is living her dream. For real. She built this incredible business based on an idea she had for a little children’s book. She now speaks all over the country on self-publishing and being an entrepreneur. She makes me feel like anything is possible if I just put a little hard work into my dream. Hence, the reference above to having ‘Little Firefly’ conversations…

If you have kids in your life ~ yours, grandchildren, nieces, nephews, the neighbor’s kids, or even the local library, I hope you’ll consider getting Sheri’s books for them. They inspire, delight, challenge, and encourage kids to be their amazing, beautiful selves.

There’s a special little girl that I get Sheri’s books for, her name is Delaney Rose and she has Down’s Syndrome. When I first gave Miss D The Little Rose, I cried. The message in the story was so close to what Delaney will have to face in life, and I hoped Sheri’s book would make it a little easier to accept her differences and even embrace them. Like the Little Rose does in the book.

I hope you’ll love the stories as much as I do. Click on the pics below to be taken to Amazon. I’ve been getting a copy of each book as they come out for my future grandchildren. At least, that’s my story and I’m sticking to it. πŸ˜‰

What’s your favorite children’s book? Is there a special one you recall from your childhood? Which wig do you like best on Sheri? I’m partial to the blonde… or maybe the light pink…

The_Little_Rose_by_Sheri_Fink_Front_Cover

The_Little_Gnome_Front_CoverExploring_the_Garden_with_the_Little_Rose_Book_CoverThe Little Firefly

You can catch up with Sheri at her website by clicking here,Β or on Facebook.

16 thoughts on “‘Wigtimate’ moments with Sheri Fink and her latest book, The Little Firefly

  1. Awww, Sheri sounds like a fabulous person with a terrific empathy for kids – what a treasure her friendship must be for you! Love that blonde wig, too … or perhaps that awesome tawny colored messy ‘do’! Thanks for introducing us – and all the best to Sheri on her new book! ~ Julie πŸ˜€

    • Sheri IS fabulous, Julie! The love and compassion she has for children is inspiring. Thanks for commenting ~ I keep going back to the light pink wig, I don’t know why, but I love it on her.

  2. Wow! I’m in happy tears after reading this beautiful article, Tameri. I treasure our friendship and am inspired by you. Thank you for this wonderful article. You are amazing! I can’t wait for our next adventure!

  3. I like the pink! And there are so many books I loved as a kid. First to come to mind are the Ramona books by Beverly Cleary. πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing a bit of Sheri’s story, Tameri. I love inspirational, motivational bits like this. πŸ™‚

      • Red. Definitely red.

        Wait – no – purple. Definitely purple.

        Either red or purple.

        I hope we get this chance, because now I want to know what color wig I’m going to be wearing.

        Patricia

  4. Love, LOve, LOVE! You guys are so much fun. We love Sheri’s books at our house and I will need to get The Little Firefly signed. I think that blonde wig you are sporting is AMAZING! You both know how to rock the wigs. I still can’t believe you didn’t get picked for The Price is Right. They didn’t know what they were missing.

    • Thanks Debra! They were totally missing out. Just think ~ one of these days you’ll have your book right up there next to Sheri’s! That will be super cool. I love that Monkey loves Sheri’s books, too.

  5. You two are just so darn cute! I think I like the reddish Raquel Welch wig and if you’re too young to remember Raquel well… What a wonderful story about your friend and her books. I’ll definitely head over to Amazon to take a look. Wish I had some grandbabies!

    • Thanks Kate! I love that red wig, too. And yes, I know who Raquel is… I think I’m older than you! You can always get the books for those future grandkids. That’s what I’m doing. Of course, I have to read them every so often, just you know, for practice. πŸ™‚

  6. What an amazing woman and awesome friend. The Little Firefly sounds adorable. Sheri looks good in all those wigs. I’m so glad you bought that pink wig. Man, that was such a hoot!

I'd love to hear from you!

