My Birthday Gift to You: A Spacey Adventure With Ren Garcia

The devilishly handsome Ren Garcia

The devilishly handsome Ren Garcia

It’s my birthday, of that I’m certain. Of everything else, well, who’s to say? All I know is that Ren Garcia said he wanted to take me out for an adventure I’d never forget. He says we’re aboard the Seeker. A “Straylight-class warbird hailing from the old glory days of the League/Xaphan conflict, when fighting the Xaphans was honorable and romantic.” Sands of the Solar Empire.

Oh my.

I just hope those glory days are long gone and we’re in a peaceful time now, but with Ren and his League of Elder novels, you just never know!

Banner_Medium-notvampireYou see, Ren writes episodic science fiction, with gorgeous worlds, intriguing class systems, and beguiling characters. Not one to shy away from danger, Ren takes the reader to dizzying heights and tormenting lows. I’ve fallen in love with more than one character and have been known to yell at a few others. I won’t mention any names, but his initials are Captain Davage. 🙂

Captain D, as Ren refers to him, is piloting the Seeker as we flit from planet to planet on our whirlwind birthday adventure. In his dashing Gothic attire and tri-cornered hat, I dare anyone not to fall in love with him. When pressed, Ren confides in me that if he could be any of his characters, he’d be Captain Davage. Well, duh! Who wouldn’t. I wonder if that means Ren is in love with the sinister Black Hat named Sygillis? Probably. I know I am. You’d never guess where Syg got her origins…

According to Ren, “The League of Elder originally was … get ready for this … a Star Trek teleplay. I found myself quite obsessed with Captain Janeway — I really don’t know why. I wanted to create a character I thought she would like, so I came up with Captain Davage. I make him gothic and old-fashioned and I constructed the world around him in a similar way. As I wrote, I developed a love affair between Captain D and Janeway and how she felt as she left his side to continue home. Eventually she made use of an arcane Machine to return to his side. That was the original incarnation of the “Machine” that would show up later in Book Four. I realized I didn’t need any of the Star Trek stuff when I came up with the Black Hats and the foul Sygillis of Metatron. Originally Syg was a Black Hat who got killed in a duel with a Sister.  I wrote her back in and deleted all the Star Trek stuff.”

Star Trek? Seriously? That’s 100% pure awesome! I love how writer’s minds work. Ren’s books take myths from  Zoroastrian stories and odd bits from Arabian Nights, mixed with arcane magic systems and mind powers, to create HP Lovecraft type mythos. Fascinating stuff, really. I know I called it episodic sci-fi, but it’s so much more than that! You’ll just have to read them for yourself.

CatGodPub_final_largeBefore our journey with Ren comes to an end, we need to play some party games. Specifically, my speed round of questions. Here goes:

What’s your opinion of garden gnomes? Pesky Buggers.

Beer, wine, or whiskey? Soda Pop.

What’s your favorite thing to do when you’re not writing? I love playing Ice Hockey.

What’s your favorite word? “Cesspool”

Least favorite word? “Look” I use it way too often sometimes.

Favorite curse word? I really don’t cuss all that often.

What made you want to write sci-fi? I am a world builder and I don’t like having to confine myself to a pre-defined structure. I like building from nothing, and sci-fi/fantasy is perfect for that.

What’s your favorite part of this writing journey? Exploring new places.

Do you like writing heroes or villains more? Villains are so much more interesting than heroes.

What’s something your readers might find surprising about you? My friends once signed me up to participate in the “Houston 500”. What’s the Houston 500?? It’s not PG-Rated, let’s put it like that. **um, for those of you curious about this, I googled it and YIKES! Be warned, it’s NOT safe for work. ~T

If you could have a super power, what would it be? Flight. I’d love to be able to fly.

What’s the geekiest thing about you? I still know all my State Capitals.

Ren, thanks for taking me on a fascinating adventure for my birthday! Champagne and soda pop for everyone!

Ren Garcia is a strange old hermit who lives in the Mountains of the Whispering Winds. His hobbies include sharpening his teeth to a shark-like point and waylaying passersby with his assortment of home-grown Tree-Monsters (Willie Willow and Peter Pine being his favorites). Ren has an accute weakness for toy Choo-Choo trains.

carhilmabslight-finaklargeAbout the Artist: Carol Phillips was born in Hawaii but spent most of her formative years nestled near a rich riverside forest in picturesque Oregon. Carol has a love for the figure, portaiture, and landscapes. Her work is both figurative and fantasy-oriented.

You can Contact Ren with your questions & comments at : LoE.com

Be sure to check out his website by clicking here to read more about his books and see the gorgeous artwork by Carol Phillips, including some incredible prints of Davage and Sygilis.

13 thoughts on “My Birthday Gift to You: A Spacey Adventure With Ren Garcia

  1. HAPPY BIRTHDAY TAMERI!!!!!!!! I hope you have fun plans today and this evening. What a major score having your birthday on a Friday! Woohoo!
    He sounds like a good Midwesterner with his soda pop! Coming from Wisconsin, I heard that a lot growing up in Madison. The book looks like a great one! Thanks for the introduction!

    • Thank you, thank you, thank you! I had a great day. It was filled with love and exactly the things I wanted to do.

      Ren is awesome. I totally want to meet him in person some day. Although, I’ll have to watch my swearing tendencies. 🙂

    • Aw, thanks Christine! I love all your love and hugs! Ren’s worlds are amazing. He’s truly got a gift for world building! I’m not too shy to admit that I’ve referenced his books on occasion for some of my own fantasy worlds.

      I had an amazing day, thanks!

  2. Happy Birthday, Tameri!! One of these days, I’m going to have to sneak into California and knock on your door.

  3. Good to meet you, Ren. One of the many (MANY) fun things about Tameri’s blog is that she introduces me to lots of new people in genres that I tell people I don’t read, except that I do read them. I know it sounds like you were mightily influenced by Star Trek Voyager (who doesn’t love Janeway?), but what books and authors have left a lasting impression on you?

    • Aw, thank you my darling friend! That’s a great question, Gayle! Ren did mention that he was currently reading “Transcendence” by Chantal Boudreau and an MS of the “Trials of Ephira” by Justine Marie Hedman. That might give you a bit of an idea what he’s influenced by. Not much, but still… I’ve got to remember to add that to my list. Darn it!

  4. Happy Birthday, Tameri! Love your post, and thanks so much for the introduction to Ren. His book and the worlds he create sound fascinating – also, the artwork is divine! Wishing you the best day ever! ~ Love and hugs, Julie 😀 xox

    • Thank you, Julie! I had an amazing day! I adore the artwork in Ren’s books. He often will post Carol’s work on Facebook and I’m in awe every time. Her work is exquisite. They are such a great team. His writing and her art ~ perfection.

  5. Pingback: A Special Thanks and a Bit of a TEASE… | Tameri Etherton

I'd love to hear from you!

