Movie Review: Oblivion

image via Wikipedia

EARTH IS A MEMORY WORTH FIGHTING FOR

I adore Tom Cruise.

I think you need to know that before we go any further in this review. I don’t care that he jumped on Oprah’s couch and proclaimed his love, and while I was bitterly disappointed with him for that divorce debacle with Nicole, there are always two people in a marriage and the last time I looked, I wasn’t one of them in his.

His personal life, like ours, is his own and really you don’t want to go snooping in my closets nor would I want to take a gander in yours, so whatever religion he wants to follow, I don’t give a flying flap jack about.

I like him and his movies.

And I LOVED this movie.

It held all the promise and richness that the trailer promised. It was much more of a love story than I think many would like it to be, but I’m okay with that. In fact, I would argue that at its core ~ this is a romance. A romance with action elements, if you will.

The year is 2077, sixty years after Earth was attacked by aliens and our moon destroyed. Humans no longer live on Earth, but on Titan. Jack Harper and Victoria are two of the last remaining humans on Earth, and their job is to maintain the droids and water things ~ I don’t know really what they are, they did stuff for some big black triangle in the sky. Really what I wanted to know was, why the hell did Victoria get all dressed up everyday~including heels and makeup~when there weren’t any other people around? Seriously, I’d be in yoga pants 24/7.

But I digress.

So, Jack. He’s this awesome bad ass tech guy. Tech 49 to be exact. He and Victoria live in this gorgeous glass house about a thousand feet above the ground, but Jack gets to go to the surface every day and see what Victoria refuses to see: the beauty that remains of Earth. Even through the destruction, there is beauty.

That, in part, is what makes this film wonderful. The lush photography. When you realize you’re looking at a dystopian version of ourΒ world, but it’s gorgeous somehow, that makes it not so chilling.

Every five years or so Jack and Victoria get their memories wiped just in case they get captured by ‘Scavs’ ~ alien scavengers that roam Earth wreaking havoc on the drones that patrol the planet. It’s Jacks job to keep the drones running and the Scavs’ job to try to kill Jack on a daily basis. Fun, right?

It’s been five years since Jack’s last wipe, and he keeps having memories of a certain woman, of a certain time and place. The Empire State Building pre-Earth’s destruction to be exact. But that should be impossible with the memory wipes. Which is very distressing to our poor Jack.

When a spacecraft crashes on Earth who do you think is inside? Yep, his mystery woman. Oh, be still my romantic loving heart!

I loved how they worked this part of the story and there were just enough twists and turns that kept me intrigued. I’m not going to give anything away here because I hope you are all going to go out and see this movie. I’ll probably see it again in the theater and I’ll definitely buy it when it comes out on Blu-Ray. I loved it that much. Not just for my Sweet Tom, for the story, the visuals, the ‘wait! what just happened?’ moments, all of it.

And of course, for the ending. Ah, yes. The ending. I feel a happy sob choking me right now. Yeah, I’ll definitely see this again.

Have you seenΒ Oblivion yet? Did you love it as much as I did? What other movies have you seen lately? What movies are looking forward to this weekend?

50 thoughts on “Movie Review: Oblivion

  1. Squeeee!!! Hubby and I were just talking about this movie. We lost power last weekend and I suggested he go see it alone and of course, he opted to wait for me and I am sooo glad he did! I am thinking perhaps a little DATE NIGHT tonight!!! It sounds soooo good and LOVE your reviews darlin’!! Had me in stitches (yoga pants 24/7 – amen to that – LOL!!)

    MUAH!!!

    • Oh, I’m so glad Hubby waited. You’ll love it. Okay, seriously, wouldn’t you be in yoga pants? She’s in a freaking house with NO ONE else. The only person she talks to is her boss and that’s by skype or something so who cares what she’s wearing. Be comfortable, woman!

      Enjoy your date night!

    • Yes, there were a few flaws, but I thought the beauty of the movie made up for it. Plus, it had Morgan Freeman. I didn’t even mention him in the review. He’s pretty darn bad ass himself. And thanks for liking the review!

  2. Love your review of the movie. I really enjoyed it as well. I don’t love or hate Tom Cruise. I have a little problem not seeing him in the roles he plays and except for War of the World(I kept asking myself, why is Tom Cruise trying to save the world), it doesn’t annoy me to much. His movies are always compelling and interesting and surprising and you have to give it to him, he knows how to pick his movie roles.

    • Thanks Sydney! Um, why wouldn’t Tom Cruise try to save the world is what you should’ve been asking! πŸ™‚ He was on the Graham Norton show a few weeks back and he just seems like a nice guy. He called some girl’s mom and was talking to her about pizza. It was random and funny. Which I guess is how I picture him on a regular basis, plus a little bad ass.

  3. My issues with Tom have more to do with how he handled his divorces. I will probably see it and like most movies will be so swept up in the drama, I will forget all about his private life.
    It sounds like a good one!

    • Yeah, like I said, none of us are perfect so I try not to judge. God forbid any of you talk to any of my exes… yes, well, moving on!

      The movie’s good so I hope you can forgive him long enough to enjoy the richness of the scenery and storyline. Plus, Morgan Freeman plays a pretty cool guy.

  4. Well my 15 year old daughter and her friends didn’t like it so much. They said they got bored with it and that the movie dragged a bit. I guess not enough action for teenagers. I found the Blu Ray on Amazon for 20.00. You have to pre order it. So I did, I’ll watch it at Christmas time. It’s going to be a gift.

    • Well, bummer! Maybe they wanted more action, explosions, and shoot ’em ups. I was a little surprised the movie wasn’t more like Mission Impossible that way, but I liked it without all the fluffy features. My husband just pre-ordered the movie yesterday. I suppose you and I will be watching the movie for Christmas. πŸ™‚

  5. Sold! I wasn’t sure if I’d see “Oblivion” or not, but your enthusiasm and write up lured me. I also dig what you said about Cruise’s life being his ownβ€”though I have to say, I might jump all lovey on Oprah’s sofa, too, given the opportunity. πŸ˜‰ Fab review, Tameri. Thanks!

    • Yay! Let me know what you think of the movie. And I’m with you ~ if I ever got invited to be on Oprah (assuming it was still on the air), I’d be jumping on her couch just for the sheer joy of being there!

  6. The Hubby was determined to see this in the theater; after seeing your FB post, I decided we should see it this weekend. I really didn’t know much about the movie (strange, considering how much they push a damn movie for two months before it premieres and then drop ANY advertising after the first weekend!) so I had no preconceived notions about it. I liked it; the Hubby liked it; we’ll probably put it in our rotation of favorite movies to watch on pay cable when it comes out. I am not a fan of Tom’s personal life, but like you said – who am I to judge? The man knows how to make a movie and that’s what I pay for! I liked the ending but I too am a romantic at heart.

    • Hey Faith! Ah, the ending. Gets me every time. I’m telling you, I could’ve gone either way, but when that little boy come running through the bush and then… oh! Yeah, I just got chills again. Loved it.

  7. If I stopped watching all movies, and listening to all music, because of the private lives of the celebrities, I’d never watch or listen to anything. That said, I would probably watch this this…if it comes to our little theater. So far my favorite Tom Cruise movie is Far and Away. I’ve never seen any of the Mission Impossible movies (hey, I don’t like James Bond either), but did enjoy War of the Worlds and Jerry Maguire. Probably more. I’m bad with titles.

    I can’t remember what movie I last saw at the theater. Probably Breaking Dawn pt. 2. I WAS looking forward to Iron Man 3 on Thursday, but they changed the release date – buttheads! For as much as you love Tom Cruise, I love RDJ. πŸ™‚ There’s another one I want to see, too, but there’s that title thing…I can’t remember what it was. The next installment of Red is on my list, too.

    Maybe it’s World War Z (I will NEVER forgive Brad Pitt for dumping Jennifer Aniston for Angelina Jolie). Or A Good Day to Die Hard (I love Bruce Willis even more than Robert…well, it’s almost a tie). πŸ™‚

    • Ohmygawd, you crack me up, Kristy! You and my husband should go see Iron Man 3 together and just camp out at the theater. I’m serious. I want to see the movie, but am so glad it’s coming out the weekend I’m gone. He’s going to be all geeky excited about it and yammering on about the cool stuff they do and did you know Pepper gets her own suit and did you know… Ugh! πŸ˜‰ I love the man, but ugh! Like, I never, ever, ever do that about any movie ever.

      Are you looking forward to Star Trek? There are so many good movies coming out this summer! Elysium is another one. Enjoy your RDJ, my friend.

      • LOL…send your hubby here next week and I’ll take him to see Iron Man 3. He just can’t talk during the movie. That’s the rule. Talk while I’m listening, and it’s sudden, unexpected nap time. πŸ˜‰

        Of course I’m looking forward to Star Trek. My life is all about drooling over sexy guys. πŸ™‚

        Maybe you and some of the girls can go see Iron Man3 while you’re at the convention.

  8. Pingback: U is for Undies (of course): A Special Undie Chronicle for the Workout Peeps and Wig-Wearers | Jenny Hansen's Blog

  9. I really liked the movie…but (yes, there is a but) I totally saw the end coming. That’s how I operate. I often see the ending before we arrive at the final destination. My husband gets irritated by it as I usually whisper it to him. Hehe. I also saw a flaw in another area of the film and Scott talked me into letting it slide. I have such an eye for detail. It’s a blessing and a curse. I’m the one always catching the film inconsistencies like the way an actors hair is in a shot. πŸ˜€

    You know what bugs me about the movie? The scene from the poster isn’t actually in the movie. Or did I blink then?

    • I don’t think that scene was there either. It probably got cut…but just like book covers, the poster is all about selling the movie rather than giving you a visual of an exact scene in the story. They probably thought the bridge was more iconic, since the place he spends the most time, the Empire State Building, didn’t look like it at all. There was also a tiny, brief glimpse of the Statue of Liberty but all you could see was the top of her head….that’s always a creepy site.

      • Yeah, I like to catch continuity errors, too. Or Easter eggs. Those are fun. This movie pulled in a lot of Easter eggs from other movies. Still, I want to be immersed in the film, so I have to shut off the inner editor and just enjoy. Which I fully did for this movie.

  10. Pingback: Movie Review: Oblivion | Melinda VanLone

  11. Tom is a master at his craft – DO I think he might be a little weird? Yes, but I’m not watching Tom Cruise. I’m watching whatever character he has become – Plus he has the most kiss worthy jaw I have ever seen. I liked the move – put aside a few plot holes – I really enjoyed the story. I want to know what happened to red head 52?

    • Exactly, Jolene! Jack Harper is hot. Tom Cruise is hot, but I was watching Jack Harper and his hot, kissable jaw. πŸ™‚ I was totally thinking that, too. How did #52 go back and say, ‘the weirdest thing just happened to me’ to redhead #52… my husband had an answer for it, but I forget what his logic was. It made perfect sense at the time. I’ll have to ask him again tonight and put it here.

  12. I went and saw it last night (with my husband, even) and loved it! Yeah, it had its draggy moments (what movie doesn’t), but it was still goooood (and I’m not really a Tom Cruise fan!).

    Anyway, just wanted you to know, since you kind of convinced me to see it!

    • That makes my heart smile! Especially since movies are expensive and if you’d hated it, I’d feel like a right prat. I still need to see it again in the theater, but The Kid got sick this weekend, so it looks like after DFWCon, but then I’m in competition with Iron Man 3. Dang it!

      Anyway, glad you liked it.

    • Well, yay! I hope you enjoy it. Let me know if you do or don’t. I’m always nervous about posting reviews because they are, after all, just my opinion and I know not everyone thinks like I do. πŸ™‚

  13. I saw it earlier this week. I have to agree with you about the story, the photography and cinematography, most of the acting. I love Olga Kurelenko. But the last sequence was just a little to Hollywood for me. I won’t give a spoiler, but … well, without that last minute, it would have been a better movie.

    • Olga is hot. I really liked her, too. The ending ~ well, the romantic in me had to have that ending. It tugs at my heart every time I think of it. Thanks for stopping by to let us know what you thought of it. Have you seen any other movies we should check out?

  14. Hi Tameri! Writing from Toronto, Canada. Came across your post because I was searching for anyone who enjoyed this movie as much as I did….and all I could find were negative comments about the film. (warning to the uninitiated: possible spoilers ahead!) I loved this movie as well. As with you, I could care less about Tom Cruise’s personal life. His movies rock and this was one of my favourites. The movie, the utopian visuals, the music and the themes (Horatius, the one who stood against many….”we all die…the thing is to die well”…..”dream of us”, sacrificing oneself for the good of another) all moved me to the core of my soul. Too bad so many couldn’t see how inspirational it was. That’s all I had to say. Good blessings! See you in the next life! :). P.S. Yes, I did buy the soundtrack on iTunes afterwards! πŸ˜‰

    • Hey Chinthaka!

      I’m so glad you liked the movie, too. I bought it on BluRay and just watched it the other night. It’s still awesome. I think I need to get the soundtrack too!

      I still think Tom Cruise rocks. If you watch the special features on the BluRay, he’s kind of a badass! He does tons of the stunt work and loads of physical stuff that would knock me on my butte for sure.

      Thanks for stopping in. It’s always great to find a fellow movie fan.

      ~Tameri

      Website ~ Facebook ~ Twitter

I'd love to hear from you!

