A Day Out In Dallas!

As you know, last weekend I attended the DFW Writer’s Conference ~ if you didn’t know, then you can catch up here ~ well, before the conference started, Debra Kristi and I had a day to play. Here’s what we did.

First, we had to get some much needed caffeine, so we followed the not-so-easy to understand directions the really nice guy at the hotel gave us and found a Starbucks. Trust me, when he says, “It’s just under the freeway to the left”, and there’s a crapton of construction going on, it’s NOT just under the freeway to the left. Or maybe it was, but we took a detour through another county to find it, but find it we did! And look who wanted to be in the picture. Sweet, right? I think he wanted my chai tea, but I wasn’t about to share.

Crow at Starbucks

After we (finally) got caffeinated, we headed off to find Gloria Richard. She told me about this great store called Sassy Flamingo. I’ll be honest, I thought it might be a shop for gay cowboys, but Gloria assured me I’d find all sorts of fabulous things there. She was so right!

I don't even know what these are, but they sure are shiny!

I don’t even know what these are, but they sure are shiny!

I didn't get a hat or boots, but I got something better.

I didn’t get a hat or boots, but I got something better.

Gloria and Debra at Sassy Flamingo

After laughing our guts out trying on outrageous things at Sassy’s, Debra and I scooted to the airport to pick up Melinda VanLoneΒ and head straight for downtown Dallas when what do my wandering eyes see, but the Fake Louvre! Yes, you read that right! From between buildings I spotted a Fake Louvre and knew we had to see it, but how? Where?

Alas, the Fake Louvre would have to wait. First we did the JFK tour where we saw the Book Repository, grassy knoll, and road where JFK was shot. I’m not going to lie, it was creepy. Especially when some guy pointed out the X’s on the road marking the exact spot where JFK was when shot. I didn’t like that. Not at all.

Being that close to history, though, was interesting. Being in the same place where something world altering happened, it was powerful.

The Book Repository

The Book Repository

The Grassy Knoll

The Grassy Knoll

Our tour of downtown (and my secret search for the Fake Louvre) led us to some interesting buildings. There was a bizarre cowgirl sculpture atop one building ~ I didn’t get a very good angle on it, but it will be on the Pinterest board when I get it up later ~ and many glass buildings. I loved the play of the clouds across the glass like with this one.

I loved the mix of old and new buildings downtown.

I loved the mix of old and new buildings downtown.

I finally asked a few nice men if they knew of the Fake Louvre and they pointed us in the right direction! Guess what? It’s a cafeteria. What a letdown! Here it is… the Fake Louvre:

The fake LouvreWe then ambled down toward the Old Red Courthouse where they used to hang people, so you know it’s got to be haunted. It’s a great building with gargoyles!

The Old Red Courthouse

Gargoyles!

Gargoyles!

After cruising downtown, we headed out to a little town called Addison where my friend Sydney Aaliyah had blogged about this super cool park that had poetry engraved in the steps. After reading her post, I knew I wanted to visit the park. There wasn’t any water when we were there, but it was just as magical as Sydney described.

Celestial Park

That's Debra in the far background.

That’s Debra in the far background.

Melinda investigating the many wonders of the park.

Melinda investigating the many wonders of the park.

We had an amazing day tour of Dallas. From touching history through one madman’s actions to reading (not quite so mad) men and women’s literary achievements etched in stone, it was a day that will stay in my memories for many years to come.

When you travel, what are you favorite places to visit? Do you stay off the beaten path, or do you like to do the touristy stuff? My next conference is in Atlanta and I’ll have a day to explore while there ~ do you have any ‘must sees’ for me? Please share! I love to explore and learn.

And finally… my favorite purchase from Sassy Flamingo:

They are ridiculously comfortable!

They are ridiculously comfortable!

34 thoughts on “A Day Out In Dallas!

    • Haha! You should’ve come on the outing with us, Tiffany! Next time. Definitely check out Sydney’s blog – for the A to Z challenge, she did it all on Dallas. It was super cool to read about the places around town that inspire her. There were so many more stops I wanted to make, but we ran out of time! I’ll have to come back for sure.

  1. Next time I have to take you both to the Arboretum! πŸ˜€ I had such a good time touring with you two.

    I can’t believe you didn’t share the photo of the street sign… πŸ˜‰

    • Oooh, the Arboretum, that’s right! We ran out of time for that one. Okay, it’s a deal. I’ll put the Speed Humps pic on Pinterest. I had so many good ones, I had to edit myself! Thanks for sharing the day with us, it was so much fun!

    • You aren’t missing anything! Melinda looked up the park and whatever sight she found, it had pictures of water where the creek bed was, but like she said, it was dry when we were there. And of course, I had to use the ladies room when we there, so Melinda thought it was funny to add sound effects. Which was hilarious (not). There aren’t any restrooms nearby, I found out in short order.

      I loved that park, though. I could sit on one of the benches for hours and just read a book or daydream. Thanks again for sharing it with us.

  2. So fun! I knew y’all would have the best time. πŸ™‚ I like to mix it up–a bit of tourist-y stuff, and lots of off-the-path exploring. With fab company, though, it’s all great.

    • Totally! A good mix is the best and having fab travel buddies makes extra special. I hope you and I get to do some exploring sometime soon! Even if it’s just hiking around LA. I miss you!

  3. Sounds like you had a wonderful time – and those are seriously awesome sandals, love them! πŸ™‚ β™₯

  4. Love the sandals!! Have to get me a pair.

    I love to see creepy, cool, tourist, off-the-beaten-path, hip new age, rustic historic stuff. I think I covered it all.I just love to travel and see things. I visited crazy places like the Liberace museum in Vegas and Graceland in Memphis. I also go see natural wonders and other weird stuff.

    Thanks for sharing your journey. Looks like you all had a blast.

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

    • I’ve been wearing the sandals every day and might have to give them a break! They are just so comfy. Oh, you and I could totally travel together. I would LOVE to see the Liberace museum in Vegas! I bet it’s crazy blinged out. Someday I’ll make it to Graceland, too. Plus, I really do want to see the worlds largest ball of yarn. Yeah, I like quirky as well as the fantastic or nature’s wonders. It’s all a big mish-mash of wonderful learning.

      Glad you enjoyed the journey with us!

    • You got it! I’ve already started researching different ideas of what we can do. I like to keep it flexible, but if there is anything you would really like to do or see, just let me know. I absolutely love planning for trips.

      Only two more months and I get to see you!

  5. Tameri – What a wonderful descriptive blog. It made me feel as though I were there beside you, giggles and all (even with the sassy new purchase for your feet). Staying off the beating path is far better in my opinion and for not being a native of Dallas, you did a great job of packing many sights and events into one memorable day. In Atlanta, don’t forget Underground Atlanta. It has been years since I’ve been there, but we had lots of fun exploring.

    • Yay! I wish you had been there, Sheri. What fun we could have had. Some day, my friend. I’m so glad you enjoyed our day out.

      Thanks for the tip on the Atlanta Underground! I added that to my list. I’ve also heard the CNN Center is a pretty cool place to see.

  6. OHMYGODCUTESHOOOOOOOOEEEEESSSSS!
    Yes, I also like to find historic crap, odd buildings, and the like to take pix of. I also take photos of weird looking people, flowers, birds and squirrels. Dale won’t let me have the camera anymore.
    Your trip sounds too fun!

    • I know, right! As soon as I saw them, it was love. Love, love, love.

      Weird looking people? Only you, Gayle! I can’t believe Dale took the camera away from you. That’s not right. Well maybe if you’re taking pics of too many weird looking people. πŸ™‚

      I actually took some pictures of a crazy squirrel! I didn’t put it up here, but it will be on the Pinterest board. The trip was a blast. This was my first time flying to a conference and it was strange. I have to remember that I have a weight limit on my luggage. Oops.

      RWA is going to kill me. I might need to adopt a kid and borrow his luggage allowance for the flight home.

      • KA-SNORT on adopt-a-kid program!

        Let me know if you want more colors in Sassy bling-flips. Shirley and I are tight.

        Which has made remarkable and painful impact on my budget.

        mustsellhousemustsellhousemustsellhouse…

  7. *many* years ago, I worked for a major chain of eateries and we were a bunch of trainee managers on a night out filled with adult beverages… who happened to find the grassy knoll et al… The rest is another story that I shall tell you at SCWC πŸ™‚

  8. Tameri! Those pics bring back such fun memories. Too bad I couldn’t go with you guys on the tour of Dallas. Next time, be SURE to also check out Ft. Worth. I promise I won’t make you ride the fake bull for our Billy Bob’s photo op.

    Why didn’t you get a pic of the motor-jock who was so stern about your car being double-parked while you waited for me to find you? I think my triple-park so I could hug you guys may have made his palms itch to write a citation.

    HOTlanta! Can. Not. Wait!

  9. Those are some shiny flip flops/sandals πŸ™‚ Wonderful pics.
    When I hear the word Dallas, I immediately picture guys like J.R. striding around in cowboy hats.

  10. Is it wrong that I’ve lived half my life in the area and haven’t seen most of what you guys (y’all) did in one day? I wish I could have joined you, too! I’m glad you had a great time. Love those flipflops!

  11. That trip was soo much fun, and I will forever associate now with Jess’ little laugh. Heehee! πŸ˜€ Love it! I’m bummed that your fake Louvre ended up being a cafeteria, but I’m glad we found it. I simply adore those shoes. I almost wish I had tried a pair on. But after seeing Scott’s face last night when he looked at the cc bill it’s probably best that I didn’t. πŸ˜‰

  12. Too bad we didn’t meet until after that, Tameri, because friends don’t let friends go to Dallas when they could go to Fort Worth instead. In Atlanta, be sure to go to the aquarium – but allow at least a couple of hours. There’s much to see there.

  13. What a fun, fun play day you had. And those bling, bling sandals are so cute. Glad to hear they’re comfy, too!

I'd love to hear from you!

