What Do Wigs, Duff’s Cake Mix, and Sheri Fink Equal? Fun!

Tameri & Sheri Rockin' the Cakes!

If you’re in a slump and need a pick-me-up, I’ve got just the thing for you! Grab a friend, a couple of wigs, and go decorate a cake.

No, seriously, it will lighten your spirit and refill your creative well. Not to mention, it’s fun as hell and the cakes are super yum!

Duff's Cake Mix

The place: Duff’s Cake Mix in Hollywood, California.

The players: Sheri Fink, Cake Decorator Extraordinaire Clay, and me.

The mission: Figure out what the heck fondant actually IS. Actually, our mission was to decorate cakes while having a good time and getting messy. I’m pleased to say MISSION ACCOMPLISHED!

First, we had to pick our wigs. This is a serious decision and took much thought.

Rockin' the wigs 1 Rockin' the wigs 2 Sheri Lavender Tameri Lavender

In the end, I went with pink (although, I am loving the lavender!) and Sheri went with light blue. Which is your favorite on us? On you?

Team DuffThen, off to Duff’s Cake Mix we went. In case you aren’t aware, Duff Goldman had a show on Food Network called, Ace of Cakes. We LOVED that show. I even tried to get them to fly a cake out for my daughter’s birthday, but they said no. 😦 But then Duff came out west and opened up Duff’s Cake Mix (check out the website here). It’s this super cool place where you can go and decorate a cake just like the professionals! Or, just go and buy a cupcake because they are delicious. Next door to the decorating studio is the actual bakery where they make these amazing cakes. That’s right ~ now my daughter can get a birthday cake from Duff! Sweet.

This is a cake! For real.

This is a cake! For real.

Aren't these great? Masterpieces, seriously.

Aren’t these great? Masterpieces, seriously.

Once we picked our cake flavors, we had to choose icing and our decorative toppings. Then it was off to have the cakes covered in fondant ~ which tastes a lot like marshmallows and was quite tasty. I thought it would be gross, but it wasn’t!

Clay's Fondant Skills

Fondant Master Clay!

Duff's Frostings

Duff’s Fun Frostings!

Duff's Sparkly Sugars!

Duff’s Sparkly Sugars!

Sheri's Fondant Skills

Sheri working her mad fondant skills.

Sheri's toppings

Sheri choosing her toppings.

Tameri's Fondant Skills

Tameri working with her fondant balls. Yeah, we giggled too. πŸ™‚

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Once we had the cakes covered, it was all about finding our inner decorator and going wild. Sheri came with a game plan ~ she wanted a mermaid design ~ I just went with where the muse took me. Sort of in a shabby chic celestial direction. Whatever, it was fun!

Clay Glittering Tameri's Cake

Glitter! Even cakes need glitter. Oh, yes they do!

Clay prepping Sheri's Mermaid Cake

Clay prepping Sheri’s cake for glitter.

Clay's Mermaid Skills Our guy Clay! Our Helper Clay! Sheri & Clay Sheri's Carving Skills Tameri's Decorating Skills

It was an incredible day! We laughed, we talked, we got all fondant-y. Clay was hilarious and kept us entertained with his boyish charms. It was a perfect day.

Here are our works of art:

Sheri's Mermaid Cake Tameri & Sheri with cakes

Do something silly! Get out there and be creative in another field other than what you usually do. If you’re a writer, pick up a camera and see life through another lens. If you’re a musician, try your hand at sculpting. Or, if you’re just in the mood for something a little goofy, grab a few friends, some cake mix, and a wig. If you’d like to see more pics of our day, check out my Pinterest board here.

Life isn’t going to wait for you ~ get out there and work your magic! With icing, words, music, or whatever inspires you. Be amazing.

Coming up on Tuesday, I’ll have two fun things for you, my dear readers. First, I’ll have a sneak peak of what’s happening with the new website and I need your help with a very important detail…

Next, I’ve got a fun idea for the summer and it’s going to involve all of you. So, I hope you’ll stop by on Tuesday and find out what’s with all the secrecy! Until then, I hope you have a super fabulous weekend. Hug your loved ones, get out the fondant, and get messy!

42 thoughts on “What Do Wigs, Duff’s Cake Mix, and Sheri Fink Equal? Fun!

  1. Cake decorating is a blast, isn’t it? Hubby talked me into signing up for Wilton’s cake decorating classes a few years ago. He’s uber talented with a steady hand. I got to be his “sous chef”. πŸ˜‰ Of course he was a bit miffed that there’s one thing it turns out I’m better at than he is. I make better buttercream roses. πŸ˜‰

    • Buttercream roses? That’s so cool. I’ve thought about taking one of those classes, but then I’d want to make cakes all the time and really, my ass is big enough! If friends were involved, then it would be too much fun, though and I’d have to do it. Too bad you don’t live closer. πŸ™‚

      • It IS too bad. The classes are a ton of fun. The trick is to fatten up neighbors or co-workers. Since the first few classes hubby and I both made cakes, he’d take his to his bank & I’d take mine to my store. They were only 9″ layered rounds to begin with… Of course, with proficiency came larger sizes and different shapes. That was the point where I put on the assistant hat.

      • Aha! I love that ~ share the wealth. Now that I know the trick, maybe I’ll look into it. I have this dream that someday I’ll make super yummy and cute cupcakes for something. Weird dream, I know, but I have half a dozen cupcake cookbooks so obviously I should do something about it.

    • It really was fantabulous! The cakes were gooooood. We had some last night for dessert and again today before lunch. I ended up getting chocolate with chocolate filling, but Sheri and I had a strawberry shortcake cupcake at Duff’s and it was amazing. I was kind of sad I didn’t get that flavor. My guys like chocolate. I went with their fave. πŸ™‚

  2. OMG! Tameri! What fun! I love the pink wig on you but I love the lavender more because it makes your blue eyes pop! Sheri looks amazing in the blue wig!
    Your philosophy on doing something fun and creative to experience a different view on life is spot on! And, you’re right, life isn’t going to wait for you. There is nothing in my little town that’s quite that much un, but I’ll find something in my hometown. Don’t care if I have to drive a couple hours to do it. I have been painting my old chairs and turning them into much prettier and more fun versions.
    Love your adventures!

    • I am so excited about your chairs! I bet they look great ~ post pics when they are all done. Whip up some cake batter and have some friends over. It doesn’t have to be anything formal, just getting together and having fun! I sure wish you weren’t on the other side of the country. We’d have so much fun, it would be illegal.

  3. This is totally amazing. Totally fun. And so very, totally, YOU my dear friend! What a wonderful play time! Now I just need to figure out when the hubs and I can go play…cheers and happy Memorial Day Weekend!

  4. OMG…I wanna go! I wonder if they do such a thing around DC. That looks like a ton of fun. I did something similar at Hershey Park…they let us make chocolates. Pretty sure I got more chocolate on ME than I did in the mold, but whatever :-). Fun times.

    • I know they have one in Baltimore, MD, but I don’t think they do the cake decorating thing there that we did. Check out the website, though because they have classes for decorating and that would be just as fun!

      http://www.charmcitycakes.com

      I’m pretty sure I’d love to make chocolates at Hershey Park. And I’m also pretty sure I’d be wearing more than the mold, too. πŸ˜‰

  5. You two are so freaking stunning! I love your wigs, and more so, the way you ROCK them. There is seriously happy, love-filled fairy dust spurting from you two. I have a touch of #WigEnvy now, and miss ya extra. Hope your weekend’s off to a brilliant start. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, August! I was telling Sheri that the two of you should get together, you’d absolutely adore one another. I need to make that happen ~ with wigs, of course! Any time I can spurt fairy dust, I’m so in.

  6. Thank you for the wonderful recap of our amazing day! I had sooooo much fun with you! It truly was one of the best days of my life so far. I’m so grateful for our beautiful friendship and our fun and adventurous spirits. Love you!!!

    • Aww, and I’m so grateful you’re in my life, too! It was way too much fun and must be repeated soon. Well, a new adventure, although I’m now thinking of different designs for cakes, like a dragon! It was a magical day, I’m so glad we shared it.

  7. Oh, that looks like so much fun! I haven’t yet had fondant I liked. (Whatever was on my birthday cake last year did NOT taste like marshmallows – I would know. I’m a marshmallow connoisseur.)

    I can’t wait to see what you’ve got up your sleeve this week! Sounds exciting!

    Now I can’t wait for Tuesday, and it’s not just because of Pitch Madness…

    • Oh, that’s a shame about the fondant! I was leery of using it, but then she gave me a sample and… yum. I do love me some buttercream, too. Next time I think I’ll go buttercream just for giggles. My son is a marshmallow connoisseur, too. He loves homemade marshmallows that have been covered in chocolate. Actually, so do I. πŸ™‚

      Pitch Madness? That sounds like fun! I’m excited for tomorrow, now more so because I know you’re going to rock the pitches.

  8. Beautiful cakes ladies! They look tasty and gorgeous. My dad is actually a baker and has had his own cake shop for as long as I’ve been alive. We once made a glacier sculpture out of cake for an assignment I had in 4th grade. The class ate it for like 2 weeks straight – it was huge. Two glaciers of frosted and powered sugar, a blue gel waterfall and stream, a field that had little tootsie roll logs, crumbled granola pebbles, and slivered almond rocks. And my dad made a couple trees for me too out of waxed paper and green frosting.

    I’ll tweet you a picture of the cake he made for my niece’s birthday one year. She was having a princess party, and he modeled the cakes after different Disney princesses. It’s crazy.

    I on the other hand, have no skill at frosting decor. I did help my dad set up wedding cakes and could assist with the real flowers that were used on the cake, but I’ve never mastered making frosting ones. They look like the Slimer got em. LOL

    • Wow! That 4th grade class cake sounds amazing. I am in awe of what decorators can do with cakes! The princess cakes your dad made are amazing. I love all the little details he put into each dress. I’m with you on the frosting thing. Even with piping bags, it still looks like a toddler scribbles. But hey, if it’s fun it doesn’t matter, right? And it tastes good, so I guess it’s not all bad. Except, of course, if Slimer actually did get it. Then it would be gross.

  9. Tameri! I must make a trip to Southern California (now that I’ve confirmed SD doesn’t stand for South Dakota). I would so love to play with fondant and balls [whaaaaat?] for a day.

    You obviously spent more on your rocking hot wigs than I spent on my blue one. Had I known you had that quality stashed in your bags for DFWCon, I would have begged for that lavender wig. Seriously.

    It’s my new fave. Blink, Blink, BLINK! <==== bright idea warning light

    Jenny has her Cowbell passing from place-to-place. I think you should have The Tale of the Traveling Wig. Think about it. The only requirement you need place on possession is that it be worn in public for no less than four hours, and be passed on to the next person in line with pictures sent back to you.

    Kind of like a Flat Stanley project. Only different.

    • I know! You have to come out here. When is Winnie going to be up and mobile? If you want me to get you one of the lavender wigs, let me know. I’ll send it out to you. There is this style and the shorter one on Jenny’s blog. I liked the shorter one for Jenny, don’t know why, I just did. So that’s the one I got her. I’m loving them all, now though and want one in every color! I’ve got a serious wig addiction, I think.

      I’ll have to think about your idea of the traveling wig. That could be fun or scary. Or scary fun. πŸ˜‰

  10. *laughs* Well that explains much. I saw your picture on Facebook during the week and wondered just what in the world you had done to your hair! *breathes sigh of relief*
    That looked like such fun. Thanks for sharing. Hmm? I wonder what color I would have chosen. With what little hair I have left I definitely would have gone with whatever was the longest!! πŸ˜‰

    -Jimmy

    • Haha! I can see how that might be confusing. So glad it all makes sense now, Jimmy. The cobalt blue is the longest, but I don’t have a picture of it here. I also think you’d look great in the green wig. It would really bring out your eyes. πŸ™‚

  11. Love, love, love the lavender wig! I think you look even better in that one than the pink. Sorry…but it does. It goes better with your eyes, too. πŸ™‚

    Looks like you had a super fun day. I love decorating cakes and squeezing…um…never mind. Is Clay for sale? Cause I would TOTALLY take him. πŸ˜‰

    Wow about the fondant. The only time I’ve ever used that was to make roses for a wedding cake I did (I’ve never mastered flowers…but I do a nice shell around the edges). I can’t even tell you how bad that stuff smelled. Kind of like petroleum. I wouldn’t even put them on the cake for fear it would ruin my frosting. Obviously I bought the wrong fondant.

    If they ever put a Duff’s in Michigan (not holding my breath), I’ll have to check it out.

    • Thank you! I like the lavender too. Isn’t Clay adorable? I tried to get him to come out with us afterward, but he declined. Petroleum fondant? Eww! Yeah, you got the icky stuff. If you ever go to Maryland, then you could check out his shop there. But it would be better if you came to California, then I could take you. They even make gluten free cakes… tempting, right?

    • Thanks Diana! I’m kind of thinking the lavender one, too. The pink is fun and wild, but maybe too, um pink. I can’t believe I even said that. You know how I love my pink!

I'd love to hear from you!

