Our Summer Adventure ~ Week Three: The Unseen

Image credit: outsiderzone / 123RF Stock Photo

Image credit: outsiderzone / 123RF Stock Photo

Last week Hannah kicked some assassin booty and left us wondering who the unseen passenger was. If you missed any of the previous weeks, you can catch up by clicking here. All of Our Summer Adventure excerpts will be on their own page from now on! Keep the ideas coming, I’m loving they way you all think!

Our Summer Adventure ~ Week Three: The Unseen

Ethan leaned his head against the soft leather while Hannah drove in silence, waiting for his answer. He thought of a dozen lies he could tell, but he suspected she would see through them all. Telling her the truth was dangerous. Trust was not something he gave freely and there was the motorcyclist to consider.

A slight scent of cloves mingled with Hannah’s honeysuckle essence. What the hell was Rori doing there? She was supposed to be in Ireland dealing with that mess. His sister sat slumped in the passenger seat, her red hair brushing against the window. The last time he saw her, she’d had black hair and was dressed as a teenage boy. Being able to alter her appearance and fit into any social group was what made her invaluable to the Queen.

The bundle beside him shifted and the garment bag slid to the floor. Lilliana slipped from the seatbelt and stood behind Hannah, her slight frame barely rising above Hannah’s shoulder. She was a mass of shifting glamour, unseen to the human eye.

A ghosting of irritation crossed Hannah’s face, leaving in its wake tight lips and pinched brows. “Aren’t you going to answer me?” She flicked a glance to the broken mirror. Ethan studied her features, noted the rise of her heartbeat, the catch of her breath when she saw Lilliana. “What in the world? Are you an alien or something? What is that?”

Rori moaned and shifted in her seat. She pulled at her bindings and swung around to glare at him. “You let her restrain me? I was trying to warn you. Freaking idiot.” It was then she caught sight of Lilliana. “Your Highness. Forgive me, but I have an urgent message for you from your mother.”

“Your Highness?” Hannah’s eyes widened, her mouth opened as if to say more, then snapped shut. Several emotions played across her face. The one Ethan sensed the most was apprehension.

Rori turned on Hannah. “Don’t play innocent, James. You knew exactly who you were transporting. What you don’t know is that The Company is using you.”

Hannah glared at Rori. “No one uses me. Least of all The Company. I thought I was picking up one passenger. Him. I didn’t know he was smuggling someone or something into the country.”

Ethan listened in silence as the women argued. If Hannah knew about Lilliana, she was a good actress. He sensed no deception from her.

Lilliana let her glamour fade, revealing herself. Dark brown curls cascaded down her back. A simple dress covered her ivory skin. To humans she looked like a child, but she was close to a century old. She placed a hand on each of their shoulders. “No one knew of my arrival here, Rori. We must keep my presence secret until the meeting with the governor. If The Company knows I’m here, everything will be put into jeopardy.” Her lilting voice filled the car. “Hannah James, I can’t command you to obey my wishes, but I will ask you as a Princess of the Seelie Court to please do me this favor and not speak of me to anyone.”

Ethan sat up, his curiosity piqued. Hannah thrummed the steering wheel with her fingertips, her bottom lip caught between her teeth. Finally she said, “Look, I’m just a human who works for The Company. I don’t get involved in your affairs or particularly care who’s in power this week or the next. I do what I’m told and keep my mouth shut. I’ll keep your secret for now, but if you do anything to harm those I care about, I’ll kill you. Unless you want the world to know you’re here, I suggest you make yourself invisible. We’re pulling into The Company’s parking structure.”

Lilliana’s smile lit up her small face. “Hannah James, you are anything but human.”

As Lilliana faded to nothingness, Hannah met Ethan’s look in the mirror. “What the hell does that mean?”

Rori glanced back at Ethan and laughed. “A Changeling? What are the odds?”

What were the odds indeed. The Company had to know of Hannah’s fae lineage, but had never told her. They pulled into the underground parking lot and his stomach tightened. If Hannah was lying and knew of his mission she could endanger everything.

Hannah pulled into a space in the corner, far from other cars. Before the engine stopped, he was out of the car, motioning to Rori and Lilliana to stay where they were. He reached Hannah’s door just as she was opening it to exit. Without warning he grabbed her wrist and heaved her out of the car, slamming her door with his foot.

She pushed against his chest, her free hand fisted for a punch. Before she could attack, Ethan crushed his mouth to hers.

Now we know who the mysterious passenger and assassin are! What’s going on with The Company? What’s the message Rori needs to tell Lilliana? Do you think Hannah knows she’s faerie, but is lying? Would she really kill Lilliana if need be? What happens next week? Share your thoughts!

6 thoughts on “Our Summer Adventure ~ Week Three: The Unseen

  1. Ahha – the plot thickens! Hmmm . . . maybe we need to introduce a unicorn?

    Last week I had ideas – today, not so much. I’m looking forward to seeing what happens though.

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

  2. This is really good, Tameri. I bet you’re having a lot of fun with this. I do think Hannah knows she’s faerie, and I think she really would kill Lilliana if she needed to. Let the saga continue!

    • Thanks Lynn! I am having a blast with this story. I love the reader interaction of it. Makes it super hard to plan ahead, which is new and scary for me. But thrilling at the same time.

      Thanks for the ideas!

I'd love to hear from you!

