Genre Blending with Lisa Kessler

Happy Day After Independence Day, everyone! I hope you all had a safe and fun 4th. Now that the barbecue’s have cooled, it’s time to heat up the blog with a little paranormal romance from my friend Lisa Kessler.

Like Melissa Cutler from a few weeks back (you can read her awesome guest post here), I met Lisa at the San Diego RWA meeting. Her vivaciousness and wicked laugh caught my attention and I just knew she was a woman I needed to know.

I’m so excited to have Lisa here chatting about writing books that don’t fit in one particular genre. Want to write a vampire/werewolf/Christian/erotica? Go for it! Or don’t, but never settle for ‘no’. Why don’t I let Lisa tell you her story…

Hi Everyone –

Thanks so much to Tameri for inviting me to visit!

I’m Lisa Kessler and I write dark paranormal romances—with some historical aspects, and a dash of horror, maybe a little urban fantasy too.

So what do you do when your book doesn’t fit neatly into a genre? I’m not going to sugar coat it, finding a publisher for Night Walker was a huge struggle. I had agents and publishers alike who told me they loved the story, the plot, the characters, but sadly they still had to pass. Some weren’t sure how they would market it because Night Walker was contemporary paranormal romance, with historical flashbacks and a dark underbelly that shows my roots in Horror.

Eventually, with Night Walker and Night Demon already written, I set the Night Series aside and started working on my Moon Series.

This series is all contemporary, but sadly for me, the book didn’t pop until it was in alternating first person! LOL I remember one night in frustration staring at my poor husband and saying, “Can’t I ever write something that just fits?”

But the Moon Series buoyed my hopes. All three books were finalists in contests and it raised my spirits that maybe alternating first person point of views would be embraced in paranormal romance. But rejections kept mounting and a few agents even mentioned I could make it more marketable if I changed it to third person POV.

In the meantime, Night Walker finally found a home and a readership! YAY! And I’ve learned so much about readers. You see readers are much smarter than a genre label. They don’t seem to mind that genres might blend together. Some readers even prefer them!

Moonlight, Book 1 in the Moon Series, releases on July 15th, and I’m holding my breath that readers will embrace the urban fantasy feel of this paranormal romance series. Okay I have my fingers crossed too! LOL

And to the writers out there that might be concerned about writing a “marketable” book, I think we’ve never been in a more reader-driven marketplace. Self-published books break out because readers enjoy something that publishers never imagined they would.

So don’t box yourself into a label. In fact, blending genres might turn out to be the one thing that makes your book stand out!

For all the readers out there, what are some genres you love to see blended together?

Lisa9-200X200Lisa
Don’t be a stranger…
Twitter
Facebook
Lisa’s Blog
Lisa’s Lair website

Moonlight_finalcover-WithBlurb-DigitalMoonlight
Rancher Adam Sloan is more than meets the eye. As the heir to his Pack, the sexy werewolf’s biggest challenge is keeping his kin’s true nature under wraps. But a group of jaguar shifters threatens to reveal the pack, blasting into town killing humans in plain sight. And when he smells one at the local diner, his standing orders are to take her out.

Lana Turpin doesn’t realize she’s a moving target. Raised in the foster system, she only knows that she blacks out during the new moon and wakes up without remembering a thing. But now she’s being tracked by some strange organization that wants her back–even though she’s never stepped foot inside their compound. And the stranger across the diner is watching her like an enemy.

It should be a simple mission for Adam, but when he touches the frustratingly beautiful Lana, his inner wolf howls…mate. Now, the two must find and stop the people who hunt her…and Adam must keep his own family from killing the only woman he will ever love.

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Moonlight-Moon-Entangled-Edge-ebook/dp/B00CGFGS3A/
B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/moonlight-lisa-kessler/1115161574?ean=9781622661084

~~~oooOOooo~~~

Thanks so much for being here, Lisa!

Does Lisa’s advice resonate with you like it does me? Never give up! Damn the rejections, write the books that you love. What twisty genre bending do you do in  your writing? Readers, what’s your favorite genre to read?

11 thoughts on “Genre Blending with Lisa Kessler

    • Thanks Emma!!! 🙂 I was SOOO happy when I saw the cover for Moonlight!!! I had mentioned on the cover art sheet the author’s get to fill out that Adam has a ranch and trains horses so he’d wear mostly well-worn jeans… The book is dark and gritty but full of hope so I thought the colors and the light of the moon were perfect for the book… 🙂

      Thanks for coming by and commenting!

      Lisa 🙂

      • I think he needs to come to a RWA SD meeting, just you know, to tell us what it’s like to be a cover model. And he should probably be shirtless.

  1. I like stories that blend genres. Sounds like everything is going great for you now, Lisa. Your Moonlight series sounds like a winner to me.

    Thanks for hosting Lisa, Tameri!

    • Thanks so much for commenting Lynn!!! 🙂 I’m super excited about Moonlight coming out in just over a week… I loved writing the book and I hope readers will enjoy it!

      Lisa

      • Moonlight is going to be amazing! You should check our her Night Walker series, Lynn. It’s SO good. I’m waiting (not so) patiently for Moonlight. 😉

  2. Hi, Lisa! I just got back from a vacation and I’m catching up. I love mixed genres (is this because I’m in a mixed marriage?) and don’t much care if it’s a western-paranormal-romantic-suspense as long as it’s a good read. I’m DEFINITELY checking out Moonlight – looks ah-MAZ-ing!

    • BTW, I was a little tired when I read the title of this post and thought it said, “Gender Blending.” I really thought I was going to read an entirely different kind of blog today!

    • Awww thanks Gayle!!! I’m super excited about the entire Moon series and I’m really grateful Moonlight is getting some buzz… It’s a little out of the box, but I’m with you, it’s the story that counts, not whether or not it fits into a genre box, right? 🙂

      Thanks for commenting!

      Lisa

  3. Really digging that book cover. I didn’t used to be a fan of genre blending, but lately I find people are doing it much better than they used to. I’ll have to add this one to my TBR list. 🙂

I'd love to hear from you!

